September 1, 2014 | 1883 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Smashbox - Photo Matte Anti-Shine [DISCONTINUED]



image 0

rated 3.9(134 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 5/27/2011 5:22:00 AM More reviews by decoydream

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Black

    I bought this in hopes that it would be the miraculous solution to my uber greasy skin (not just in my t zone.. and it usually greases up within the hour or less depending on weather and exercising etc) but unfortuntely its not. It decreases the shine and slows it down a bit but thats about it. I've tried it under my foundation and over it (when used over, i found that my foundation looks uneven and a little seperated) but neither application methods seemed to have worked... If anything changes, i'll edit this review!

    EDIT: It's still no miracle product for me but i've tried to use it on my entire face underneath foundation because i had a job interview and i didn't want to look oily. It worked fine BUT it had this tackiness to it which felt uncomfortable and unnatural on my face. For that reason, i wouldn't use it everyday - it's easier for me to just blot occasionally instead!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 4/28/2011 6:03:00 PM More reviews by holidays

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    All girls with oily or combination skin should try this product! Its the best thing I have tried.Get it and forget all T zone problems!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/4/2011 7:36:00 PM More reviews by athena_xxx

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    AMAZING!!! I have really oily skin that starts to shine after a couple hours. This is the best product I've found for oil control. I use this as the first thing I put on my skin after cleansing, then I put primer over it. I only use it on the really oily spots and it works amazing! It's pretty pricey but considering you don't need that much it's worth the price. It usually lasts me 4-6 months and I use it a couple times a week. It would probably only last someone 2 or 3 months if they used it everyday. Couldn't live without it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/22/2011 11:27:00 AM More reviews by soraya69

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

    So far this seems to be the best primer for my oily skin, I only use it on weekends when I go out, otherwise I stick with others.
    I find it a bit difficult to spread all over my face, but once it's spread, my face feels smooth and squicky matte. I kind of like the watery but at the same time sticky feel while spreading it all over, and then bam!...dry skin.
    It goes on clear and I cannot detect any scent.
    My foundation (ELDW) is a bit more difficult to apply on top of this, it does not glide as easily, but it really sticks to this base and looks flawless.
    And the best thing, the oil doesn't show for a few hours, and when it does, it shows up more like a glow than shine.I blot and I'm ready to go for yet another few hours.
    It has never broken me out, and the tube will last for a very long time as one only has to use very little to cover the whole face.
    IME this primer is way better than Murad Mattifying Lotion, probably because my face doesn't like SPF and will always produce oil in the presence of spf ingredients.
    I didn't give this a five only because it still doesn't manage to keep me matte the whole day (although I wonder if anything can do that).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/6/2011 9:55:00 PM More reviews by kelaine423

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

    This is amazing. I had oily skin when I was a teenager and never knew what to use. Then it went away and I felt blessed! But I started using Retin A recently and for some reason it has made my skin as oily and shiny as ever! I would put on my foundation and by the time I was done with my eye makeup I would be shiny! So I bought this with some trepidation due to cost, but it is a miracle product! I put it on and am completely shine free for at least 5 hours!!! And even then I am only a little shiny-not enough to repowder-just blot a little! I love this and wish I knew about it when I was younger!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 12/9/2010 10:26:00 AM More reviews by tubularr

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This is my first review and I think this product deserves it! :) I was at Sephora and the lady gave me a sample of this. She told me it would keep me shine-free for a long time & I was skeptical because I've tried numerous oil controlling products and they don't work. Its $27 for one ounce and I think that's a really good price considering how much you need, which is very, very little! I read reviews on this and someone said to pat this on, so that's how I use this product and at school, I was amazed! I use to use Urban Decay's De-Slick in a Tube (they have a pretty similiar texture, kind of like a paste) and I would get very oily by second period. Using the Anti-Shine, I would get KIND OF oily by fifth! This is my HG product to get rid of shine! I don't use this as an overall primer, just in the areas where I get oily. I will re-purchase this product!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/23/2010 10:53:00 AM More reviews by karencarla

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

    i absolutely love this product! i was hesitant to buy this at first coz in our country they don't usually give product samples. anyway, i tried the tester on the back of my hand and after rubbing it my skin felt smooth and matte and i knew i had to buy this!

    i do not regret buying this product because it really does work and it lasts a long time because a little goes a long way. i have very oily skin and i tend to put the product where my skin produces more oil like my T-zone and around my nose area (part of the cheeks where pores are usually larger) and it works. i live in a very humid country and i find that if i use this i'm shine free whole day..well i have to blot a little (once a day) if i put this in the morning and i'm still out at night, but still its great! and its better compared to checking every hour to see if your skin is too oily and you have to blot and powder several times a day..so, yeah. it works. i will definitely buy this again :)

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 9/29/2010 5:33:00 PM More reviews by grldollies

    Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

    Smashbox Anti-Shine 1oz 30ml Tube
    Anti Shine comes in a clear tube and is a semi-clear cream color – go’s on clear. I’ve been using this for about 6 months. It helps some, but not perfect - I usually get a very slick forehead by afternoon. It works best if I apply a thin amount on the middle area of my forehead, whole nose & clef area of my chin. If I put it on the side of my forehead eye area I have problems blending – I get particles pilling. So I avoid putting it in that area. I am dryer there anyway. I live in hot drippy Florida and if I am not in 90+ heat for very long It helps me not shine up as quickly. If I have to be out in the sun & heat for a length of time – all bets are off. Nothing helps that.
    I have not had any adverse reactions to smashbox’s anti-shine, its been great in that respect. It seems to not make me clog up or break out, so kudo’s yea! I also have found I haven’t had a problem applying foundation (dif. kinds) over it too- if I do not apply too much anti-shine of course.
    Alone it is not enough - I unfortunately will still get shine – but since I started to use Too Faced Primed & Poreless "skin smoothing priming powder & finishing veil" as a finishing powder I have cut my afternoon shine down by half at least. I still have to blot my forehead but it is not as bad. The powder does not clog, crease, break me out and it sets my foundation perfectly. It helps it be a little more matte and does not contribute to my face oiling up. Primed & Poreless does not show like regular finishing powders that usually age you. I also can apply a light bronzer over top if I am in the mood – its way easier because of the powder I do not have a problem with splotching, I can blend it effortlessly.
    I used to use Cover Tox Ten 50 in Translucent Med by Physicians Formula which was ok, better then most powders. Now it has moved to my back up beauty bag - makeup that I can use in a pinch if my reg product gets lost/damaged.

    The two together Smashbox Anti-Shine & Too Faced Primed & Poreless powder work well together and help me look less oily and no break outs too! Best of all they do not make my fine wrinkles magnify which is a big deal to me. I will happily continue to purchase both products.

    From Smashbox Web Site:
    Discription: Smashbox innovation, ANTI-SHINE has revolutionized the way people with oily skin wear makeup. Designed to keep skin matte under hot studio lights, this gel-to-powder formula is the ultimate in oil control with its light formulation and oil-absorbing properties. Dab on oily areas, over or under makeup.
    Tips: You can wear ANTI-SHINE under or over makeup. To banish shine, apply after moisturizer and before PHOTO FINISH FOUNDATION PRIMER. Blend into skin using circular motions until completely absorbed. Wait 30 seconds before applying foundation. If you need to touch up throughout the day, dab over makeup.
    Ingredients: water, magnesium aluminum silicate, propylene glycol, phenoxyethanol, allantoin, methylparaben, propylparaben, ethylparaben, isobutylparaben, fragrance. may contain: titanium dioxide, iron oxides ($27)

    From Too Faced Web Site:
    Primed & Poreless Powder turns any foundation into high definition makeup. Our silky, translucent finishing powder adjusts to any skin tone while minimizing the appearance of pores and fine lines. Our weightless powder can be worn alone, or under and over foundation to prep skin, lockdown makeup and control shine for a complexion smoothing, flawless finish.
    Tips: Wear It Bare: Can be worn on bare skin to banish pores and give any skin a light and smooth, perfect finish
    Benefits: Airbrushed Beauty: High-resolution, reflective powder technology transforms skin by visually minimizing pores, fine lines and imperfections for an airbrushed looking finish.
    Adaptable Formula: This universal transforming and finishing shade conveniently adapts to multiple skin tones.
    Ingredients: Silica, Populus Tremuloides Bark Extract, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Water/Aqua/Eau, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499(, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163). ($28)
    Update - 10/20/10 I have stopped using the Smashbox anti-shine primer because I don’t need it now like I did . I did not remove a lippee because it does work & it is a help. But I found a treatment that is better for me. I've been using L'Oreal - Skin Genesis Pore Minimizing Skin Re-Smoother Serum! It has a med thick creamy constancy, not runny. I started using it mostly to minimize my pores but what I found out it does for me is keep in check my oil production. I have been very pleasantly surprised that I barely have any oil buildup on my forehead now, a little around the base of my nose. I probably could dab a bit of Smashbox’s anti-shine there! Not a big deal because I am so much better! My face is tighter and smoother feeling. It helps a little with lines – but just minimum/fine – so don’t count on it as a big line eraser. If you have dry skin you defiantly will need to moisturize. I do moisturize at night as I don’t care if I get oily then. During the day I only use a face sunscreen – sometimes the too faced liquid primer, my base – right now I am experimenting - using a thin application of Clinique Redness Solutions in Ivory (Medium Coverage – almost enough yellow in it) & over that Maybelline Dream Smooth Mouse foundation Nude Beige both lines run on the dark side. The Dream Smooth Mousse Foundation gives me a little more coverage & smoothing. Then I dust with Too Faced Primed & Poreless Skin Smoothing Priming Powder & Finishing veil (more oil control & smoothing) and I am look’n good – all day!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 7/21/2010 2:28:00 PM More reviews by eviebr99

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

    When I tried this in-store, I loved it. It had a runny consistency that then dried to a matte finish, which made it really easy to apply. So I purchased a tube and got home to find that the texture is actually quite thick--more like a gel-paste--and when I applied it would pill up. I tried to use less and pat it in, which helped a bit, but I still had a little bit of pilling at the edges. So I decided to experiment and mix a pea-sized amount with a bit of water to thin it out--and it's perfect now! I suggest this to anyone who's having similar issues, though it seems like I might be one of only a few.

    Pros: leaves my oily skin matte, and even if I sweat (which happens in south Louisiana in summer), I don't get OILY like I used to; feels light on my skin; doesn't break me out

    Cons: just the mixing with water thing...but now that I have that down, I'm good to go.

    Bottom line: I'll definitely repurchase. I've tried several other mattifiers and none compare to this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 7/18/2010 3:47:00 PM More reviews by meow131

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

    this product ain't bad at all, it does a good job keeping my T zone matte. It also doesn't clump my foundation, I would say this makes a good primer/base for oilier spots but i wouldnt recommend using it all over your face.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No