October 25, 2014 | 1444 users online

Lip Gloss - Philosophy - Red Kiss Me Lip Balm



image 0

rated 3.3(219 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 50% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/1/2008 5:22:00 PM More reviews by journeyisthejoy1

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This has some great emollient ingredients. That being said, there is a terrible chemical scent/taste from the lanolin in this.

This IS highly emollient, but I have found products that moisturize just as well without the scent/taste, and they are even cheaper.

For just as strong moisturizing qualities without any of the negatives of this, try MyLipStuff balms (all vegan balms with great ingredients and 400 flavors). Also, balms with castor oil tend to last all night on my lips.

Sorry Philosophy, but the only thing good about this product is the name.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/14/2008 7:50:00 PM More reviews by alexis77

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Another Philosophy product I am never without. I used this when it used to come in a pot, and was so happy when they started putting it in a tube. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this balm.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/14/2008 6:07:00 AM More reviews by lemfloyd

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is a lovely moisturising lip balm with the added advantage of giving a little rosy glow to the lips. I find the taste OK. Obviously I wouldn't deliberately eat this stuff! It's a good handbag staple which I would buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/11/2008 11:28:00 AM More reviews by SaraLee2

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I agree with everyone about the smell and taste. WTH is that??? Its like rancid oil. The color is a clear, natural, deep rosey red on my medium to light pigmented lips. Really nice color. Super glossy. Doesn't last more than 30 minutes...thankfully because who could take the taste and scent longer than that? :P Such a shame...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2008 4:07:00 PM More reviews by bebe031403

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i am a big lipgloss fan but i cannot use the tacky stuff which is what every lip gloss is... i hate how my hair would stick to those tacky glosses and then stick to my sungalsses... YUCK... i love how this product is not sticky but really shiny.. i look like i just had a lot of fried chicken after i put it on LOL... it does have a distinct taste that some people commented on but it isnt bad... the sheer color is just right if you are into the more natural look. i have full lips so this is just right for me... if you want more coverage, this isnt the product to buy...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/20/2008 9:14:00 PM More reviews by LucySnow

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I like this gloss because it isn't sticky, it seems to deepen my natural lip color, and it also seems to moisturize my lips. I also like the tingly peppermint effect. Not as good as Rosebud Salve or Yu-Be cream for keeping chapped lips at bay, but it's a good product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/11/2008 11:12:00 PM More reviews by divareese15

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my HG for lip gloss/balm. It is a smooth lip gloss with no stickiness whatsoever. It cures my chapped lips and it also gives a nice tint to my lips. There is no gross flavor or weird smell, it is very neutral. It feels like silk on your lips. I use it every day and have tried many others thinking there is something better, but there isn't. It is simply the best overall daily lip product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/7/2007 7:59:00 PM More reviews by tw

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This might be the worst lip gloss ever made by any company, at any price, ever. First, it's made of lanolin and petroleum. For anyone wondering why it stinks, that would be it. It also separates if it gets warm, resulting in a lumpy, waxy, hard part surrounded by liquidy goo. Many people are allergic to lanolin. I'm not, technically, but it dries my lips out completely and makes them crack and bleed. (This is the product that taught me about lanolin.) I'm super pale with pale lips, and the red in this gloss disappears as soon as it leaves the tube and touches my lips. And it's not shiny. Define what you DON'T want in a lip gloss, and this is it.

The only good thing about it is the tube. It's a very soft and sturdy plastic that holds up to a lot of abuse without leaking or splitting. I would do anything to get Urban Decay to use these tubes for their XXX glosses.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/14/2007 10:17:00 AM More reviews by Zanita27

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is a very sheer tinted red balm. It showed up on my very pale lips but it was more of a wash of color. The balm leaves a nice slightly thick coating on your lips which I like since I have very dry lips. I normally wear it when I go outside cause I need a thick barrier against the wind and cold. The smell and taste is yeah a little funny, but that's because the balm is mainly made of Lanolin. It doesnt bother me so much since it's keeping my lips moist from the winter.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 11/5/2007 5:12:00 AM More reviews by mcr29

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I agree with previous reviewers. The color is pretty if not a little too sheer, but I can't get past the awful smell and taste to use this product. I've grapped it in a pinche when my lips are chapped, as it's supposed to be a lip balm, however, it does very little if nothing in th way of moisturizing lips.

Is this review helpful? Yes No