July 28, 2014 | 2006 users online

Lip Treatments - Burt's Bees - Tinted Lip Balm - Hibiscus



image 0image 1

rated 4.1(78 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/1/2012 12:06:00 PM More reviews by aidan83

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

wow, works better than Revlon lip butter due to little shininess.

great product gives you baby lips

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/22/2012 12:16:00 PM More reviews by frckls

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

To start off, I'm about medium-yellow in shade and have crappy pigmented lips. They tend to look pinkish fresh out of the shower, juicy red if I just finish eating, and very unflattering-dead looking mauve when I'm tired. Bah.

This baby gives me a pair of juicy pinkish-peach lips. Being so pigmented, ANY lippies that claim themselves being peach, looks very unflatteringly ugly pink on me. Burt's Bees claims this to be pink, but it looks like the perfect peach on my lips. And although, it's "only" a tinted lip balm, it is pretty pigmented on me.

Very, VERY few lip products can do that. And funnily enough, they mostly fall under the drugstore/indie/cheapie categories. Silk Naturals, Sleek, Yves-Rocher and Guerlain are a few that succeed. Boy, did I have explored all the top department store brands, looking for the perfect peach lippie, TO NO AVAIL.

This tinted lip balm stayed on my lips for a good 2 hours or 3. A good meal would erase it all. But, however faded the sheen is, it leaves a faint tint on my lips. It is sheer alright, but with an ample pigmentation, making my lips look naturally peachy and juicy.

However, I gotta attest to it tends to cling on dry chaps and doesn't fix that really well. For some reason, the other shades, Pink Blossom and Rose doesn't have this problem at all and moisturizes my lips beautifully.

I thought I got a bad batch, so I got another one. My sister also got one and I tried hers as well. They all felt the same as the first tube I owned.

The packaging is a brown boring plastic tube. But to be honest, I like it that I can just slip it into my pocket. I prefer this more than a fancy looking Chanel Rouge Coco Shine or Nars Sheer Lipstick that is not pocket friendly, costs about 3x (or more) as much, and lasts about the same on the lips.
Plus, this is much more natural (ingredients-wise) and cruelty-free.

Definitely repurchase. I'm curious of Tiger Lily and Rose. :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/20/2012 1:10:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Let me start off by saying I do enjoy Burt's Bees products. I love their lip balms, cleansers, glosses. So when I heard about this tinted lip balm I was pretty excited. I saw photos everywhere and was so excited to pick one up for myself. I picked the color Hibiscus. It comes in a big cardboard tube. I opened it up happily only to realize the lip balm was not the size of the tube, but of a normal Burt's Bees lipbalm. I feel like the packaging was really deceiving. It made the product seem a lot bigger than what it actually was. Now I find the packaging clunky and unnecessary. Its an okay product but I enjoy the Revlon lip butters more.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/19/2012 10:50:00 PM More reviews by seharden135

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is the best lip balm I've ever tried. It doesn't dry out my lips. And the color isn't sheer, but it does give a little color while still looking like my lips. Plus it smells great!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/23/2012 10:00:00 PM More reviews by maria526

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm not a fan of lipstick, but I do use glosses and balms so I don't look like a dead thing. I love the way this feels on my lips, and how well it moisturizes. The color is pretty and seems to last for a few hours. I also like that it doesn't taste "mediciney." Will buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/16/2012 12:47:00 AM More reviews by juicyyycouture

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

SUPER expensive for it's size. Packaging is decieving!
For $7, I thought my lip balm was going to be the size of that cardboard container...but it wasn't. None the less, this product still worked good. Moisturizes/conditions well, doesn't have a bad taste, and the color looks really nice! It's not "overly pigmented" which is what I like about it..it makes it seem as if that were my natural lip color.

I probably won't buy this product again as it is wayy too expensive and I can always get something that'll do just about the same but cheaper like softlips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/10/2012 12:09:00 PM More reviews by toastedlembas

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I've used natural lip balms for a while, but haven't gone after natural lip products with color mostly because of convenience and price. After reading a few articles about why it is nasty to put petroleum and parabens on your lips, I've decided to try to go more natural for my color products too. Bye bye, covergirl lipslicks! You will be missed.

I've tried Burt's Bees lip shimmers before, and didn't really like them, although that may have been because I bought a color that was too dark for my tastes at the time. In any case, I decided to try the new tinted balms first. I picked up Hibiscus because it looked like the perfect MLBB shade for me; just a bit darker than my natural lip color.

Someone mentioned below that this smells like Twizzlers, and after sniffing the product, I have to agree. I don't think it is particularly noticeable, though, unless you actually put your nose next to the stick. It is not super-pigmented, but I did get a color that was meant to be mostly natural on me. Red Dahlia or Rose eventually would probably be better if you want more than a bit of tint, and I think the lip shimmers might be more fully pigmented.

I don't think this is as moisturizing as a normal lip balm, and I have been alternating a swipe of this with my eos and burt's bees mango lip balms. It feels better on my lips than other tinted balms I have tried (Palladio), and doesn't dry them out or flake off oddly as you wear it.

I do have to say that, like many others, I am confused by the packaging; when I bought this at Target the other day, not only did it have the cardboard tube around the case, but also an additional cardboard holder around the cardboard tube. This is a ridiculous waste of materials. I'm hoping the new cardboard holder was just for the Target display, and won't be used everywhere, because it made the already ridiculous packaging for this product even worse.
The balm is the size of any other BB balm, so don't be misled!

I like this product and will definitely investigate other colors and repurchase when I run out. Yes, you can get lip color products for cheaper, but they will probably have nasty, cancer-causing ingredients in them. If you don't mind that, don't buy this. For a natural product, this is pretty cheap. The cardboard packaging is dumb, but the product inside is good!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/15/2012 4:29:00 PM More reviews by cerulfox

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Black

This is a decent lip balm, but overpriced considering it's over twice the amount of a regular Burt's Bees lip balm and is different only in having a tint. A tint that doesn't even show up on my lips, and being that I have a ton of BB lip balms already I feel I wasted my money on this. I may pick up Rose next but will wait until I use up (or lose) this one. I also don't see the point in the extra cardboard casing; it may be "cute" but for a supposedly green company it's just added waste.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2012 6:01:00 PM More reviews by jessicagee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

My go-to lip balm! This shade is my favorite--it looks natural yet the hint of color makes my face look vibrant and bright! Paired with a bit of blush on my cheeks, it completes my natural look.
It's a little expensive for a balm (I think the cardboard packaging is a little unnecessary and adds to the price) but totally worth it. Moisturizes so well (of course, it's Burt's Bees!) and I don't have to apply that often at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/2/2012 1:14:00 AM More reviews by LynOlivia

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Perfect, easy-to-wear, everyday, pick-me-up type of colour. On my lips, it looks like a pinky rose colour and seems to make me look more awake. It's also very moisturizing, like all burt's bees lip balms are!

Is this review helpful? Yes No