April 19, 2014 | 1714 users online

Eye Shadow - Cover Girl - Eye Enhancers



image 0image 1

rated 3.0(153 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 55% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 12/24/2008 2:55:00 PM More reviews by prncss

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised that Cover Girl has not improved their eye shadow formula in the last ten years. The colors look great in the packaging and they are very cheap. However, when you apply it the color is not as rich. The applicator that it comes with is very scratchy and irritates the skin. It is like using fine grit sand paper to apply eye shadow. Also, the powder disintegrates easily and goes on splotchy. The consistency is very bad. I'll be sticking to my L'oreal Eyeshadow.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/14/2008 12:55:00 AM More reviews by Knuckleheadred

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought all of the new colors when Rite Aid had a b1g1free sale on them...which made them around $1.66 each I think.
I thought for the price you couldn't go wrong.

The color inside the packaging is gorgeous! However, it takes packing this product on your eye to get any type of color pay off at all.

I used a primer before applying them, and they looked pretty darn good for about 2 hours. After that they faded and left me with gross greyish blue mess on my lids.

I will say however that I didn't have any problems with :Lime Alive" staying in place with a good payoff all day. It was the only one however.

I gave these to my 5 year old to play dress up with.....for her they work great...for me...not so much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/25/2008 6:10:00 PM More reviews by _Vivica

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Why can't I give this a 0. 1 lippie is too much for this. I recently lost my job and I'm working at finding cheaper alternatives. The tropical fusion quad was on sale for 2.99 so I gave it a try.


First ugh that smell. It's that odd powder smell that all drug store powders used to have. Reminds me of my Cinderella play make up I had when I was 6. I didn't even want to put it on my face to begin with.


I started with some swatches on my arm. Little to no color pay off there. I figured it would be different on my eyes with some UDPP. Nope, same deal. Little to no color pay off. I had to cake the stuff on to even make it visible.


About 3 hours later I checked in a mirror to see if it had any lasting power. It was completely gone, except for a really obvious clump in my crease.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/18/2008 10:16:00 PM More reviews by CatVeronica

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Cool Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have a 3-shade Eye Enhancer in Fields. The khaki, army green, and forest green colors of the set are nice, neutral colors. But what I like more than the colors is the quality. These are GREAT eye shadows. Without any primer, I used this eyeshadow early one morning and it was set just as I applied it by the end of the day, with absolutely no creasing. I was amazed. Having oily eyelids, my eye shadows is usually completely creased by the end of the day. That was not the case with these eye shadows. I highly recommend them!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/30/2008 8:05:00 PM More reviews by tangerinetomato

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

These eye shadows are horrible. They aren't pigmented at all. The color you see is not the color you get. Also they aren't long lasting.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/23/2008 6:49:00 PM More reviews by just_a_small_town_girl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I got this (730 Swiss Chocolate) shade in a pack along with Cover Girl lash blash mascara (805 Black) and a perfect point plus eyeliner (210 Espresso) for about $10. I really love this brown colour! I have hazel eyes.. so I love to use it with a bit of pink. I don't have a problem with it wearing off really and it goes on smooth! I also got this in Lavender Twist a while back, but I have other favourite purple shades, so I don't use it often, though it's not bad!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/21/2008 8:37:00 PM More reviews by EriBaby1920

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Well I wanted to give Cover Girl products a try because of they're affordability. So I gave their Eye Enhancers a try ( which I have in a Quad in Fard Accent). But I was not pleased, the colors are not really pigmented and they tend to fade after a few hours (even with primer) On the other hand, some have pretty shimmers which even if the color fades is still there. But, overall, if you like a pretty highly pigmented look, then these are not for you.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/8/2008 12:50:00 AM More reviews by kkscottdale

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to try this because it would be my first time trying eyeshadows and it was cheap compared to other brands.

I didnt like the packaging which every time I opened it,it spat out the useless aplicator out onto the floor. The applicator is complete bulls***.But I wasnt planning on using that anyway. The colors are VERY sparkling,not my style really. And the colors fade quickly too. I bought 3 of the CG eyeshadows unfortunately which was a Gold Sizzle, Golden Sunrise,and a another brown shade( I forgot its name.)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/29/2008 12:50:00 PM More reviews by mikodoll

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I only use this eyeshadow in "Shimmery Onyx" when creating a smoky eye look. I haven't been able to find another black shade with so much sparkle. Either when I'm applying it with an angled brush or by the end of the day, little black flecks gather near the corners of my eyes. In addition to putting a base on my eyelids I have to wet the brush before putting it on the powder and just hope that it still won't fall all over the side of my face. I haven't felt compelled to try this in any other shade. When I find another eyeshadow powder in a black with as much sparkle, I won't be using this anymore... I hardly even use it now.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/26/2008 5:45:00 AM More reviews by BelleandSebby

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Some of the worst shadows I've ever used. I'm by no means the kind of girl that won't touch drugstore makeup- I love L'Oreal Colour Riche- but I find that Cover Girl eyeshadows are just some of the worst quality stuff you can find. The texture is chalky, and the color doesn't even adhere to your skin. It flakes off very easily. For my senior picture, I wore one of the purple quads, and to tell the truth, looking at the photo today, it doesn't even look like I'm wearing eyeshadow. I tell people I was wearing purple eyeshadow and they just laugh. I'm sure there are some Cover Girl Eye Enhancers that last longer than others, but I have yet to have a good experience with one.
The truth is, if you want to buy drugstore eye makeup, anything will probably do but Cover Girl. If you'd like to buy eyeshadow that is good quality without the ridiculous prices that cost a pretty petty as this nation goes through its recession and we are forced to look for more wallet-friendly cosmetic brands (nooo!! LOL), then I'd really recommend Ulta eyeshadows, which are usually BOGOF for anywhere from three-six dollars. Or Flirt Cosmetics, which you can buy an eyeshadow pan for ten dollars and find comparable MAC quality with.
I'd recommend buying Cover Girl eyeshadow maybe for the young girl who is just starting to like makeup, and wants an eyeshadow for a stocking stuffer or whatever.

Is this review helpful? Yes No