September 17, 2014 | 1964 users online

Liquid - Giorgio Armani - Lasting Silk UV Foundation SPF20



image 0image 1

rated 4.0(160 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 5/28/2012 1:04:00 PM More reviews by Sileny

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I'm actually really upset that this didn't work for me. Shade match was perfect, the semi-matte finish looks great on me (initially), light-weight coverage was medium but easily buildable (still needed concealer for acne spots), and it lasted pretty well.


However, it made me horribly oily. I normally blot about 3-4 times a day, but this was overkill at 6. The makeup disappeared from my t-zone so my nose, cheeks and chin looked pink against the rest of my face. I'm assuming that it's the high alcohol causing this (it's the third ingredient and I believe it's what gives the foundation the matte finish). It made me break out in cysts at first, but it looks like my skin got used to it and hasn't broke out since day 1 (it's been a week of wear).


It cost about $60 so I am definitely returning it; I don't believe it's worth holding onto a mediocre foundation at that price range. It's a shame because Armani's concealers and color correcters are among the best I've ever tried.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/7/2012 9:00:00 AM More reviews by SoxxxTiffanyxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

First of, the shade range is off, i dnt quite get how come the lumions silk got a much bigger color range, but the lasting silk is so limited! I was "forced" to choose no.7 which i believe is the darkest shade of this foundation which is a bit too light, however....!! i was so shocked by how how how increditable skin like this foundation makes!! Its so unbelievable, the best to apply this foundation i think is to use fingers, last up to 10hrs, does need to touch up if u have oily skin, i couldnt complain about anythin really about this foundation, this med coverage skin like foundation should win our hearts, couldnt really do better than this, but then again, the color range is jus too mean.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/7/2012 2:32:00 AM More reviews by ElizabethT

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Other Eyes: Brown

What a beautiful product. I have only ever commented on this site once before but had to write a review.

I am absolutely delighted with Lasting Silk. I have tried hundreds of foundations over the "decades", my most recent favourite being Dior's Nude (#21 Linen). Great product but slightly drier than Lasting Silk. Used to like Lancome's Adaptive replaced by Silky Mat.

The sample of Luminous Silk in 4.5 was too ashy and pink based for me and I found the product too oily even though I have a "mature" relatively normal/dry skin with a bit of an oily T-zone. Two weeks later I got samples of both 5.5 in the Luminous and Lasting Silks. The Luminous was too orange and dark, however the Lasting Silk is perfect...absolutely perfect. The colour is an amazing match - a long-standing problem I've had with foundations. Lasting Silk is long-lasting, the colour stays the same, packaging, texture and smell can't be faulted.

Don't discontinue this please GA!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/2/2012 8:27:00 PM More reviews by risababy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My mother gave this to me because she has oily skin and this just does not work for her.
The good things about this foundation is that there's a good amount for what you pay for, the packaging it top-notch and the colour matches my skin wonderfully.
The biggest problem I have, however, is that it makes me SO OILY! I am not an oily person, more like a drier-combination skin. But (I think it's the alcohol) this product makes me such a grease-slick that everything starts rubbing off and sliding around . Kinda gross, to be honest. The first few hours are great though! The finish is nice and coverage is buildable but natural. I just won't repurchase and probably never will - it's too expensive and it just doesn't last long enough.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/11/2012 2:42:00 AM More reviews by filobabe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this foundation looks so natural on my skin on any lights anytime of the day.i do have good skin the only problem is just uneven skin tone and a few blemishes on my cheek nd chin but not that noticeable..perfect coverage and not too heavy on the skin..would definitely buy it again i ran out my 1st bottle!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/2/2012 10:10:00 PM More reviews by redlipsdiva

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Incredible makeup! I love, love, love this foundation! I use it with the GA loose powder for all-day staying power!

PROS:
1. Flawless coverage
2. Semi-matte finish
3. Perfect color match

CONS:
1. Pricey

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/29/2012 12:38:00 AM More reviews by Ix3Chewie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I first tried out the giorgio armani Luminous Silk Foundation. I really liked that foundation but I felt like I was producing a lot of oils on my face which is why the foundation is called Luminous. it's suppose to bring out the natural oils and make you glow but I prefer a semi matte look. I went back to the Make Counter and asked for something that doesn't make me oil up too much and so the MA directed me to this foundation. It's pretty light and the consistancy is very watery and not like the Luminous Silk. The Luminous Silk has a thicker constancy and I believe it has more coverage than the Lasting Silk. Another difference is this foundation has SPF and the Luminous Silk does not. I do like this foundation but it is pricey for a foundation. My boyfriend is a geek and does not care for makeup but when he saw my face he actually complimented on my face and really it's 'cause of this foundation. It gives a nice natural look and it feels very light even after you put 2 coats on your face. The Lasting Silk colors are a lot lighter than the Luminous Silk. I was a 5.5 in the Luminous silk but for the Lasting silk I'm a 6 or a 6.5. I do recommend this foundation but I prefer you get a sample and see for yourself! Everyone's skin is different but this foundation suits me pretty well! (:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/28/2012 12:06:00 AM More reviews by JennifeRx

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Amazing HG foundation for me! I've been using Armani Lasting Silk in shade #2 for about 2 years or so now and I don't know what I would ever do if it were discontinued. First of all, the shade matches my skin perfectly and does a great job giving that "porcelain doll" effect by helping to tone down redness and give the skin a soft glow. The foundation stays on all day until I remove it at night and feels very comfortable on my skin. I rarely ever need any touch ups with powder when I wear this foundation and I have combination (sometimes oily) skin. This product hasn't caused me any breakouts and it contains SPF 20. It is on the pricey side, at about $59 per bottle. I usually buy about 2 bottles per year when Armani has their Friends and Family discount when you can get 20% off. It does last a long time as you really don't need a lot of product to achieve adequate coverage because it spreads and blends very easily. The glass pump bottle is nice and sanitary, which is a plus. I will continue to repurchase this product as long as it's still available.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/1/2012 7:03:00 PM More reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I love this foundation!! I have been using full coverage, long lasting foundations for years - Revlon Colorstay. The problem - it was too hard to remove it and wash my brushes. Sometimes it felt like I had a mask on. So I switched to Laura Mercier Silk Creme foundation that was similar as Revlon but lighter wear.. and broke out my skin.
Then I got a sample of GA Lasting Silk UV Foundation (No. 5.5 and 6). First of all, its really pricy, USD 62.00.
As its water based, its really strange to apply it - it feels like foundation that is mixed with water. But after all, I love the finish! Its really smooth (not shiny or greesy and not too matte - very natural, can barely see it) and my skin feels "make-up free", it does perfect!
UPDATE: Have been using this for about 2 years now and I love it! Have tried Chanel Vitalumière Aqua Ultra-light skin perfecting foundation and they are THE SAME (I mean - feels the same for me). Only Chanel is cheaper $42. So I would suggest trying Chanel, if you think Armani is too expensive. For me they work the same (I tried Chanel No. Beige 30 and Armani 5.5 each on one side of face for few days and noone could tell a difference). They both feel amazing, except Chanel could be little bit more matte.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/6/2012 7:15:00 AM More reviews by AngelicaFabFad

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I accidentally purchased this one when I actually wanted to purchase Luminous Silk after my friend strongly recommended me to use that one. However, thank goodness I got Lasting Silk! I feel like Luminous Silk makes me super shiny (even though I have dry skin) but Lasting Silk gives me this gorgeous finish and it lasts all day, like literally ALL DAY. I put on my makeup at about 7:15am, and then I go to school at 7:30am and it stays all the way through until I take it off at about 9pm. I use cotton pads soaked with makeup remover and my goodness...when you take it off the color is STILL THERE! I was amazed.

Another plus is because I wanted something that was SHEER, but not as sheer as a tinted moisturizer, BUIDABLE, so I don't have to purchase another heavy coverage foundation, and GOOD FOR DRY SKIN. It didn't dry out my skin at all! YAY!

I can't say this is one of my HGs, but I would say that it's definitely working its way up. I would definitely recommend it, however, the price is SUPER DUPER up there. So if you don't trust yourself in emptying your pockets for a not-so-sure-if-it's-good foundation, then take your time and consider a little more. At least stop by and grab a sample! :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No