October 25, 2014 | 1743 users online

Liquid - Giorgio Armani - Lasting Silk UV Foundation SPF20



image 0image 1

rated 4.0(163 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/9/2012 6:37:00 AM More reviews by ninadg2

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I agree with one of the other reviewer's that the pigment in this foundation is almost too rich, so it looks very fake on my skin, no matter how little I use. It makes my skin texture look much worse than what I started with. It lasts well, which is it's only good feature, although still looks horrible.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/17/2012 1:29:00 AM More reviews by Becky2009

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I tried this because I love Luminous Silk, only it doesn't last very long on me. I found Lasting Silk very similar to Luminous actually - the same lovely finish, as far as I could tell. But I didn't buy it because, really, it's not that long-lasting. It transfers really easily, which is a pet hate of mine with foundations. So I didn't buy it.

Having said that, I'm sure this would be a great foundation for someone not bothered about the transferring and short face-life. The finish is very natural, with a "glow". Light coverage, but somehow seems to even out blemishes anyway. I definitely looked better with this on than with the foundation I'd started the day with, although that could have been partly due to the application (the SA put it on for me).

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/13/2012 4:17:00 PM More reviews by jellibellyz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

i bought this a few months ago. i have oily acne prone skin, i am an nc30-35 and i purchased #6 in this foundation...the color match was pretty good just a tad too light in the winter time.

it has light to medium coverage and first thing i noticed was how silky and light it felt on my skin, has a semi-matte finish, and indeed is a luxurious product.it blends so easily so using your fingers isnt a problem.

for a while i couldnt think of what the scent of this foundation reminded me of..but now i know!!! it smells just like cetaphils cleanser for normal to oily skin...i actually like the scent.

even though it claims to be long lasting, it doesnt really last on my face, even if i set with powder..maybe 5 hours tops in ac environment, but once my face feels heat and humidity, it's like im not even wearing foundation by the time i go home..

i think this would be lovely for normal, and combo dry skin which is why im not lowering the rating(id wanted to rate it 3.5). this foundation just isnt for my skin.

it retails for $59, but i got it when their website was offering 20% off

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/3/2012 10:08:00 PM More reviews by puka13

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I should have taken their claim of water based foundation as a red flag lol Water and oil do not mix. I have very oily skin (with hyperpimentation scars that i like to hide lol), which i have learned to live with. No single foundation is going to last for a full school day on my skin type. I get oily in an hour or two with any foundation, I do not mind blotting... as long as the foundation looks uniform after i blot!
I understand there are trade offs with any type of foundation, no matter what the price.
I washed my face, put on my chanel hydramax gel moisturizer then the foundation with a clean foundation brush. then spot corrected with chanel long lasting concealer
After an hour i went to the bathroom to touch up
This foundation separated into a blotchy mess. It oxidized into a weird orangey darker color. My pores were accentuated. I just washed my face and put on the Giorgio Armani powder foudation (which i love).
This foundation was not for my skin type at all, but i still use other giorgio armani products.
Just because i had a bad experience does not mean someone else might love it

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/28/2012 1:04:00 PM More reviews by Sileny

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I'm actually really upset that this didn't work for me. Shade match was perfect, the semi-matte finish looks great on me (initially), light-weight coverage was medium but easily buildable (still needed concealer for acne spots), and it lasted pretty well.


However, it made me horribly oily. I normally blot about 3-4 times a day, but this was overkill at 6. The makeup disappeared from my t-zone so my nose, cheeks and chin looked pink against the rest of my face. I'm assuming that it's the high alcohol causing this (it's the third ingredient and I believe it's what gives the foundation the matte finish). It made me break out in cysts at first, but it looks like my skin got used to it and hasn't broke out since day 1 (it's been a week of wear).


It cost about $60 so I am definitely returning it; I don't believe it's worth holding onto a mediocre foundation at that price range. It's a shame because Armani's concealers and color correcters are among the best I've ever tried.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/7/2012 9:00:00 AM More reviews by SoxxxTiffanyxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

First of, the shade range is off, i dnt quite get how come the lumions silk got a much bigger color range, but the lasting silk is so limited! I was "forced" to choose no.7 which i believe is the darkest shade of this foundation which is a bit too light, however....!! i was so shocked by how how how increditable skin like this foundation makes!! Its so unbelievable, the best to apply this foundation i think is to use fingers, last up to 10hrs, does need to touch up if u have oily skin, i couldnt complain about anythin really about this foundation, this med coverage skin like foundation should win our hearts, couldnt really do better than this, but then again, the color range is jus too mean.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/7/2012 2:32:00 AM More reviews by ElizabethT

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Other Eyes: Brown

What a beautiful product. I have only ever commented on this site once before but had to write a review.

I am absolutely delighted with Lasting Silk. I have tried hundreds of foundations over the "decades", my most recent favourite being Dior's Nude (#21 Linen). Great product but slightly drier than Lasting Silk. Used to like Lancome's Adaptive replaced by Silky Mat.

The sample of Luminous Silk in 4.5 was too ashy and pink based for me and I found the product too oily even though I have a "mature" relatively normal/dry skin with a bit of an oily T-zone. Two weeks later I got samples of both 5.5 in the Luminous and Lasting Silks. The Luminous was too orange and dark, however the Lasting Silk is perfect...absolutely perfect. The colour is an amazing match - a long-standing problem I've had with foundations. Lasting Silk is long-lasting, the colour stays the same, packaging, texture and smell can't be faulted.

Don't discontinue this please GA!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/2/2012 8:27:00 PM More reviews by risababy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My mother gave this to me because she has oily skin and this just does not work for her.
The good things about this foundation is that there's a good amount for what you pay for, the packaging it top-notch and the colour matches my skin wonderfully.
The biggest problem I have, however, is that it makes me SO OILY! I am not an oily person, more like a drier-combination skin. But (I think it's the alcohol) this product makes me such a grease-slick that everything starts rubbing off and sliding around . Kinda gross, to be honest. The first few hours are great though! The finish is nice and coverage is buildable but natural. I just won't repurchase and probably never will - it's too expensive and it just doesn't last long enough.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/11/2012 2:42:00 AM More reviews by filobabe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this foundation looks so natural on my skin on any lights anytime of the day.i do have good skin the only problem is just uneven skin tone and a few blemishes on my cheek nd chin but not that noticeable..perfect coverage and not too heavy on the skin..would definitely buy it again i ran out my 1st bottle!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/2/2012 10:10:00 PM More reviews by redlipsdiva

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Incredible makeup! I love, love, love this foundation! I use it with the GA loose powder for all-day staying power!

PROS:
1. Flawless coverage
2. Semi-matte finish
3. Perfect color match

CONS:
1. Pricey

Is this review helpful? Yes No