La Roche Posay Anthelios Xl SPF 50+ Fluide Extreme (for face)

3.6

91 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(European Version) AQUA, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, ISONONYL, ISONONANOATE, OCTOCRYLENE, ALCOHOL DENAT., DICAPRYLYL CARBONATE, CYCLOHEXASILOXANE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, GLYCERIN, BUTYL METHOXYDIBENZOYLMETHANE, POLYMETHYLSILSESQUIOXANE, DIMETHICONE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, PEG-30 DIPOLYHYDROXYSTEARATE, NYLON-12, SILICA, DROMETRIZOLE TRISILOXANE, ETHYLHEXYL TRIAZONE, BIS-ETHYLHEXYLOXYPHENOL METHOXYPHENYL TRIAZINE, CASSIA ALATA LEAF EXTRACT, DIPHENYL, DIMETHICONE, DISTEARDIMONIUM, HECTORITE, DODECENE, LAURYL, PEG/PPG - 18/18 METHICONE, MALTODEXTRIN, PENTASODIUM, ETHYLENEDIAMINE TETRAMETHYLENE, PHOSPHONATE, PHENOXYETHANOL, POLOXAMER 407, TEREPHTHALYLIDENE DICAMPHOR, SULFONIC ACID, TOCOPHEROL, TRIETHANOLAMINE. (Code FIL: C19096/2).


on 4/3/2012 2:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This sunscreen was recommended by my dermatologist so first thing in my mind is this thing must be good. I’ve been using this over the week and turn out to be a disappointment. Noticed there are tiny red spots on my cheek area during the day. As soon as I wash it off in the evening, my face looks fine. So it must be the sunscreen since I haven’t tried any other new product.
The texture is white milky lotion which is similar to most Japanese sunscreen. It doesn't leave any white cast on face like other reviewers. However, it's a little oiler than my previous sunscreen, Anessa.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Horrific ingredient list: this for me is enough for dislike it! I will skip it to an eco-bio one


on 2/8/2012 8:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I started using this in January and I am dying to find something else to replace it urgently!
My face looks white after applying it (all day long, not just the first minutes), I can't stand it. (After one month since I opened it, it smells nasty, like petrol).
I have been experiencing some skin problems for the past 2 months (acne, redness and now flaking skin) and I'm not sure if this caused me to break out like this or it was something else... The thing is I have always been acne-prone, but I never used sunscreen before and the pimples were not that many (manageable with some LRP Effaclar AI).
After starting to read a lot about proper skin care, I thought "well I'd better start using some SPF, after all, I don't want to add to my problems by skipping it", right?? Well.. I used 1 tube of Avene SPF20 lotion for combination skin (which burns for a few seconds) and started getting more pimples, but I thought it must be from other products I was using and I couldn't give up SPF and risk agravating them.
Then, after a lot of research, I bought this LRP Anthelios 50+ (European version), hoping I would get the best protection without any side effects. I was wrong!
As I said, now that it is winter my skin is drier and I look so so bad, I'm embarassed to go to work, but because I don't know with what to replace this sunscreen, I keep using it until I decide (maybe City Block, I don't know?) and, let's face it, get the money to change most of my products for this winter weather.
Am dissapointed and desperate to get my old skin back!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2012 6:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

after a very bad sunburn on my face, leaving ugly sun spots all over, I just had to buy this, no matter the cost. Mainly because my face reacts to every other sunscreen I ever used, within an hour I have itchy bumps on my face but not with la roche posay.
One very important thing is to SHAKE IT! Seriously, if you dont shake it dont even bother pouring it. Once you shake the bottle it comes off very liquidy (if not, return it!) and flat white. I really dont enjoy it right after I put it on my face because it does leave a white cast and a sort of wet look, you can feel it on your skin. But after it sets and skins in (5-7min) I cant really see it that much or feel it. That doesnt mean it vanished though. I would apply makeup before its set because it just slides off, it doesnt stay, and yes, I know its a pain to wait in the morning.
The package is pretty but a bit awkward. I find myself juggling it in my hands to put the cap on after I use it but its not a deal breaker.
This has very good ingridients and everyone needs sunscreen so I will continue buying it until I run into something better. In the summer, when I am at the beach I will go for something less fluid and more "i can tell you are wearing sunscreen" because I dont want my sun spots to ever see the light of day again.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2012 10:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I don't know if the bottle I got was defective or if this really sucks, but it not only leaves a white cast on my face, it also comes off in tiny little rolled up bits of white flakes resembling tissue paper when I try to rub/press/massage the stuff in more to get rid of the whiteness. Also, even if it didn't leave such a mess on my face, it tends to make me look a bit shinier/oilier. An utter waste of money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/9/2011 11:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used this for about... 5 seconds. Yes, I am going to write a review already. I applied it to the bottom half of my face and as soon as I did that, I washed it off because it left an almost comical white cast on my face, even without the flash photography. This sunscreen is a milky kind of sunscreen, as in it is a thin fluid and white. However, if you have any kind of tanned skin that will go against you because it is so pale. It's thicker than my HG Biore Perfect Face Milk and that has something to do with the cast it left on my face. I wanted to try this because it's better value and readily available in my country compared to the Biore one but it didn't work out, this would be better for people with pale skin, NOT tanned girls.


on 9/20/2011 6:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love LRP products been using the hydraphase uv spf 30 but was looking for a stronger sunscreen with higher ppd so I tried anthelios fluid extreme because the anthelios lait was too greasy to use for the face. It is a very good sunscreen protection wise but it is not cosmetically elegant and a few minutes after applying my face felt tight and dry even with moisturizer underneath and it leaves a white cast. I guess what's the use of excellent protection if you won't be using it all the time because you'll end up looking like casper with a new tight facelift lol, defeats the purpose....the search continues.... the Anthelios creme spf 50+ melt in new formulation europe version feels and look better but Im still studying it hmmmmm :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/1/2011 3:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very high facial sun protection.



Claim:


This product claims to do the following
"Laroche-Posay Anthelios XL SPF 50+ Extreme Fluid -
Very high facial protection. Ultra UVA (PPD 38). Fragrance-free. Paraben free. Lighter in chemical filters. Non-Comedogenic. Water resistant.
Very high, broad, photostable UVA/UVB protection. Optimal SPF 50+ protection reinforced against UVA rays (stricter than the European recommendation) thanks to a new filter system that combines Mexoryl® SX and XL and Senna Alata extract, a natural cell protector.
In a new, more minimalistic dermatologically-tested formula: fragrance-free, paraben-free, minimum chemical filters, non-comedogenic.
- Fluid, non-greasy, imperceptible texture. Suitable for normal to combination skin.
- Water resistance.
The skin is protected from sunburns and from skin reactions and cell damage from UV rays.
For:
Skin subject to sun intolerance, commonly known as sun allergies. Extreme sun exposure. Prevention of pregnancy mask. Drug-induced photosensitivity."

I have been using this for 2 years now and can say it really is an amzaing product.At first i thought this was so drying but i learned that to get a full effect of any sunscreen you must apply on clean skin and let it dry in for 15 minutes.Then after that you can apply any serum/cream on top which i always do.I always thought you must apply moisturizer underneath first but no i was watching qvc channel and they clearly stated this.Anyway i have a oily t zone and breakout very easily with spots and rashes and this has done nothing it has just kept my skin even toned and looks polished. i am 37 and everytime i have told people my age nobody yet up to today has thought i am 37.always been told i look mid/late 20s.i have used sunscreen for 14 years now only because my mum always used it.she is 62 and honestly she hasnt got any major wrinkles just light wrinkles when she smiles near eyes but they dont look bad she has always applied sunscreen first then cream on top all year round and i do the same i use this in summer months and ultrasun antiageing spf 30 in winter.i am really happy with my skin now and love wearing makeup but noticed for past two years how much i have cut down on foundation.i was always covering scars and blemishes and now i dont even have them just faint blemsihes left from past very faint you cant notice.so yep i am happy.it doesnt leave a white caste.this and ultrasun are best sunscreen in my opinion for those who break out and who dont want dark spots on skin skin always looks even toned all the best ...xxx .

UPDATE.JUST TO LET YOU KNOW I HAVE STOPPED USING all othe sunscreens and swear by this my skin looks amazing flawless looks polished and i dont need to cover blemishes anymore i feel much confident please try this and make sure you apply on dry washed skin first then makeup ........all the best

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I know this works for a lot of people but sadly it didn't for me :(
Yes I do love the high SPF but this made my skin itchy n oily, I wore this to work n I couldn't wait to get home to wash it off. Sigh... It's not cheap too so i tried using it on my neck but though it didn't irritate the skin on my neck it just felt oily n film-y. Not good if u pespire.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2011 8:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this to replace my beloved L'oreal Solar Expertise Matte Fluid spf 50 (which has sadly been discontinued) but it isnt very good. It may give excellent protection for the face, but it is just too greasy for me to use! Eugh. I will try Clarins or Chanel next.
EDIT I have since discovered that chemical sunscreens made my skin flush red when in the sun, I just assumed it was my skin not liking the heat but since switching to physical SS I havent had that problem.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated La Roche Posay Products

image

Lipikar Balm

34 reviews
image

Toleriane Ultra

74 reviews
Back to Top