July 28, 2014 | 1678 users online

Sunscreen - La Roche Posay - Anthelios Xl SPF 50+ Fluide Extreme (for face)



image 0

rated 3.7(86 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 62% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 10/9/2011 11:20:00 AM More reviews by xBl0cPartyx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I used this for about... 5 seconds. Yes, I am going to write a review already. I applied it to the bottom half of my face and as soon as I did that, I washed it off because it left an almost comical white cast on my face, even without the flash photography. This sunscreen is a milky kind of sunscreen, as in it is a thin fluid and white. However, if you have any kind of tanned skin that will go against you because it is so pale. It's thicker than my HG Biore Perfect Face Milk and that has something to do with the cast it left on my face. I wanted to try this because it's better value and readily available in my country compared to the Biore one but it didn't work out, this would be better for people with pale skin, NOT tanned girls.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/20/2011 6:58:00 AM More reviews by cristinarn

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love LRP products been using the hydraphase uv spf 30 but was looking for a stronger sunscreen with higher ppd so I tried anthelios fluid extreme because the anthelios lait was too greasy to use for the face. It is a very good sunscreen protection wise but it is not cosmetically elegant and a few minutes after applying my face felt tight and dry even with moisturizer underneath and it leaves a white cast. I guess what's the use of excellent protection if you won't be using it all the time because you'll end up looking like casper with a new tight facelift lol, defeats the purpose....the search continues.... the Anthelios creme spf 50+ melt in new formulation europe version feels and look better but Im still studying it hmmmmm :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/1/2011 3:13:00 PM More reviews by smiley07

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Very high facial sun protection.



Claim:


This product claims to do the following
"Laroche-Posay Anthelios XL SPF 50+ Extreme Fluid -
Very high facial protection. Ultra UVA (PPD 38). Fragrance-free. Paraben free. Lighter in chemical filters. Non-Comedogenic. Water resistant.
Very high, broad, photostable UVA/UVB protection. Optimal SPF 50+ protection reinforced against UVA rays (stricter than the European recommendation) thanks to a new filter system that combines MexorylŽ SX and XL and Senna Alata extract, a natural cell protector.
In a new, more minimalistic dermatologically-tested formula: fragrance-free, paraben-free, minimum chemical filters, non-comedogenic.
- Fluid, non-greasy, imperceptible texture. Suitable for normal to combination skin.
- Water resistance.
The skin is protected from sunburns and from skin reactions and cell damage from UV rays.
For:
Skin subject to sun intolerance, commonly known as sun allergies. Extreme sun exposure. Prevention of pregnancy mask. Drug-induced photosensitivity."

I have been using this for 2 years now and can say it really is an amzaing product.At first i thought this was so drying but i learned that to get a full effect of any sunscreen you must apply on clean skin and let it dry in for 15 minutes.Then after that you can apply any serum/cream on top which i always do.I always thought you must apply moisturizer underneath first but no i was watching qvc channel and they clearly stated this.Anyway i have a oily t zone and breakout very easily with spots and rashes and this has done nothing it has just kept my skin even toned and looks polished. i am 37 and everytime i have told people my age nobody yet up to today has thought i am 37.always been told i look mid/late 20s.i have used sunscreen for 14 years now only because my mum always used it.she is 62 and honestly she hasnt got any major wrinkles just light wrinkles when she smiles near eyes but they dont look bad she has always applied sunscreen first then cream on top all year round and i do the same i use this in summer months and ultrasun antiageing spf 30 in winter.i am really happy with my skin now and love wearing makeup but noticed for past two years how much i have cut down on foundation.i was always covering scars and blemishes and now i dont even have them just faint blemsihes left from past very faint you cant notice.so yep i am happy.it doesnt leave a white caste.this and ultrasun are best sunscreen in my opinion for those who break out and who dont want dark spots on skin skin always looks even toned all the best ...xxx .

UPDATE.JUST TO LET YOU KNOW I HAVE STOPPED USING all othe sunscreens and swear by this my skin looks amazing flawless looks polished and i dont need to cover blemishes anymore i feel much confident please try this and make sure you apply on dry washed skin first then makeup ........all the best

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 6/29/2011 12:25:00 AM More reviews by doe_eyed_kitty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I know this works for a lot of people but sadly it didn't for me :(
Yes I do love the high SPF but this made my skin itchy n oily, I wore this to work n I couldn't wait to get home to wash it off. Sigh... It's not cheap too so i tried using it on my neck but though it didn't irritate the skin on my neck it just felt oily n film-y. Not good if u pespire.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 6/21/2011 8:13:00 AM More reviews by Horny

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

I bought this to replace my beloved L'oreal Solar Expertise Matte Fluid spf 50 (which has sadly been discontinued) but it isnt very good. It may give excellent protection for the face, but it is just too greasy for me to use! Eugh. I will try Clarins or Chanel next.
EDIT I have since discovered that chemical sunscreens made my skin flush red when in the sun, I just assumed it was my skin not liking the heat but since switching to physical SS I havent had that problem.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/2/2011 9:03:00 AM More reviews by catlady21

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Bought this product to use as a daily sunscreen as La Roche has good UVA as well as UVB protection. As an added bonus this product does not contain parabens (I have tried a number of natural based sunscreens which are paraben free but have found all of these products difficult to rub in and difficult to apply makeup over).
The texture is light and is comparable to l'oreal Solar Expertise matte fluide. I did notice though that it left a white cast on my face and after wearing it for several hours my skin started to feel very dry and flaky. I have since tried the spf 50+ melt in cream version of this product which seems to work better for me ( the tinted cream is quite dark so I mix the normal cream and the tinted cream versions together and this prevents the white cast - you have to buy 2 tubes for this though).
If you have normal-oily skin you may find that La Roche-Posay Fluide Extreme works well for you but if you have dry skin I would opt for the cream version instead.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/29/2011 3:29:00 PM More reviews by LianneN

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

I've just read the first page of reviews...I'm sorry but geeze! I love this sunscreen! I have been using it for about 4 months, if not more. For the person who said the liquid texture it too hard to spread...put it in the palm of your hand, spread it over your hand, and place your hands over your face and pat...voila!

I guess the white cast depends on how brown you are! I get s slight white cast for 30 seconds, then its fine. It's slightly greasy but not really. This sunscreen has helped me with my sensitive skin from retin A and helps protect me from darkening my freckles!

I use the SPF 50 version for when Im in the sun a lot, the SPF 30 for everyday. This sunscreen does not break me out...

But I do prefer shiseido senka SPF50

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/20/2011 2:37:00 PM More reviews by honeystix

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Cool Hair: Blond, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

Fluide Extreme is probably the best sunscreen on the market in terms of protection, but I would not wear it if I planned to be seen by people, other than perhaps at the beach. It creeps right into tiny lines that are normally invisible. I gave my tube to a friend with totally different skin tone/texture and she had the same result! I don't have that problem with the Pediatric formula .

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/20/2011 9:55:00 AM More reviews by Flippit

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was worried about this turning me into Casper, but I have to say the whiteness is not very noticeable. Nobody has shrieked at the sight of me or anything. I've only used it a few times so I can't say if it's a good long-term choice, but so far I'm impressed with the non-greasy feel and look. Love that it's unscented.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 2:01:00 PM More reviews by cleogirl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Green

This is finally available at Shoppers's Drug Mart here in Atlantic Canada!
I was using the Sofina Perfect Lucent which I love as well but I don't like the idea of not knowing what ingredients are in the sunscreen as everything is written in Japanese and also that there's no expiration date.
I feel safer and more confident using this, I absolutely love it and will repurchase as long as I can. The price is for sure worth it $30 CDN taxes in for 50 ml.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No