Lancome Virtuose - Black Carat

3.0

77 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/9/2010 6:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I received this mascara as a gift coincidentally right after I went through my first Maybelline Falsies. Now I was blown away by how good the Maybelline mascara was, it volumized, lengthened and curled, but I thought it could not hold a candle to its equivalent of a high-end brand like Lancome. I was bitterly proven wrong.

This mascara does nothing! It doesn't curl, lenghten and most certainly does not give any volume. That's basically everything a curling mascara should do. And it dries in about 10 seconds so you have no chance to build it up with a couple more coats. If you try to do it anyway, you'll end up with super clumpy spider lashes.

I will continue using it since it was so expensive, but I can't wait till I finish it and buy a tube of Maybelline Falsies. Please do not waste your money on this w-a-a-y below-average mascara.



on 11/2/2010 11:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

WAY overpriced for what you get. The quality is quite good, makes lashes look nice, but it is not 4 times better than my usual fallback: Cover Girl. I wish it only cost $7. But for what they charge? No way. Thank heaven I had a free sample.


on 10/18/2010 3:17:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This mascara was recommended to me from a friend who liked it so I thought why not and purchased it. It's quite average for a higher-end mascara and I actually prefer my Covergirl Lash Blast one. I like the shape of the brush and the packaging but overall, its not THAT great.


on 9/20/2010 10:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This mascara sucks! It's supposed to lengthen, thicken, and hold curls but it doesn't! For $31, I could buy a drugstore mascara for 1/3 of the price and it could work just a well or even better! I should've just stuck with hypnose or diorshow!


on 8/8/2010 2:50:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

nooooooo, this is one of the worst mascaras i've ever tried. it doesn't do anything; gives it a little volume, gives it a little length, but 5mins later it will deflate and just be gump on your lashes.


on 8/4/2010 8:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Looks great in your handbag, but that is the probably the only compliment I can give this mascara. Did nothing for my lashes and wouldn't hold curl after I had curled them. Way too expensive for a product that doesn't do as promised. I wouldn't recommend this at all and would much prefer a drug store mascara.


on 7/30/2010 4:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Agree with some previous reviews. This mascara is a bit dry. No dramatic effect (volume or length). Does give my lashes some curl, but I still recommend using lash curler before applying it. Good thing is no clumping or flake or grouping (but remember to apply additional coat when the previous coat is still wet. I tried to apply additional coat after previous coat was almost dry and there was a bit clumping. So finish layering coats of mascara for one eye before doing another). If you are looking for a natural look, this is the one. If you wanna get a dramatic look, forget about it. I'd rather spend 1/4 price for Max Factor calorie 2000.


on 7/21/2010 7:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I hardly ever buy the same mascara twice in a row as I am yet to find one that has absolutely wowed me. I decided to go for a Lancome one as they seem to have a good reputation for their mascaras but after trying the Virtuose I am so disappointed. I chose this one as I like the shape of the brush, it's the type that I tend to go for. The first time I used it I was a little disappointed, it didn't give me the wow factor that I was looking for and I thought seemed a little dry. After a WEEK the mascara was almost unusable. It was so dry it hardly worked at all, it has completely put me off buying another Lancome mascara again. I had an old MAC mascara that I found at the bottom of my make up bag (it must have been 6 months+ old) and it was more use than this.


on 7/18/2010 10:14:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very difficult to remove. Bits and particles came off little at a time. I had to scrub to get it completely off. I used eye makeup remover but, it did not help. I am returning today. The curved brush was great. Formula was average. Rimmell curved brush would work just as well and it removes easily. This should be discontinued.


on 7/13/2010 4:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this mascara. It is very simular to hypnose drama. I really do love the lancome mascaras with the exception of the L'extreme, which I feel is average. This and most of their mascaras are great for creating that dramatic look!




Top Rated Lancome Products

image

Foundation Brush

150 reviews
image

Rouge in Love

50 reviews
Back to Top