September 2, 2014 | 1848 users online

Hair Color - L'Oreal - Superior Preference Hair Colour



image 0image 1

rated 3.5(178 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 65% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/7/2012 6:35:00 PM More reviews by twisted_prncess

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

My hair is naturally fine, long, medium brown that tends to go dull in the summer months as previous colorings fade. I have been trying to stay a dark brown for a while, but found colorings keep fading or turning my roots a bit warm. I picked this color up in Dark Brown - Brasilia 3 - because it was one of the very few left in a store one night after deciding I needed to try a change to get rid of the hot roots and quick-fade colorings from other products.
It does have a watery consistency during application, but I was very careful. Okay....the bath mat is garbage...but I persevered through the application process fairly clean after I wiped up the mess. A little annoying, yes. The applicator bottle (and I'm not sure if this was just my "tip"...) had a VERY small hole for the color mixture to come out of, so application took a VERY long time to thoroughly saturate and I didn't even end up finishing the bottle because my arms hurt, but I don't see any other comments about that so I think I just got a strange bottle. I took packaging quality off for that. The gloves fit snug and comfortable though, so good on them for that.
It smells standard for hair color, maybe a bit on the strong side...but as long as I get great color I'm easy! The conditioner tube is generous and the conditioner is wonderful, and I loved the smell of it.
The color? GORGEOUS. Rich, deep, dark brown. My hair is shiny and soft but I cannot get over the depth of this dark brown. It has pulled red SLIGHTLY, but that is typical for my hair (and the previous dyes still in it). The color is great, my hair feels wonderful and the color is very true to the box. Hopefully it doesn't fade too fast, but I am VERY happy with my results. Yay!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/20/2012 5:14:00 PM More reviews by Sassy_Pants77

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

When I'm in between salon visits, I always go for this product. It's comparatively gentle on the hair, doesn't smell too strongly of ammonia, and it actually left my hair looking shinier and healthier than it did before I dyed it, which is almost unheard of. The colour is as nice as a box dye can be, and covers greys great (yes I'm 24, it sucks). Plus the conditioner that comes with it is AMAZING. Seriously, I wish they sold it separately.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/12/2012 11:48:00 AM More reviews by Octobercutie888

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This is hair dye of course smells bad ladies, it's chemicals open a window :) The conditioner you use after is great. It's the best hair dye i have ever used and never will try another it lasts longer than a month for me because my hair and skin seem to take in alot of pigmentation if you know what i'm saying. The price is ok but as long as everyone continues to buy products the price will never drop :) Anyways Great product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/10/2012 5:38:00 PM More reviews by Shariwelch

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I don't understand why this product gets such horrible reviews. My hair color turned out gorgeous, my hair is shiny and healthy and I will definitely be using this again. Of course there's an odor, it's hair color. Open a window. This product doesn't smell any worse than any other hair color product that I've used. I was going for a medium chocolate brown like Jennifer Lawrence's in The Hunger Games. My hair started as a light brown with golden highlights. I wanted a cool color to alleviate any red tones and so chose Medium Ash Brown. Perfect Katniss color and I've received so many compliments. No reddish tint at all. Love it and will be purchasing again in a few weeks to refresh roots. Highly recommend!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/25/2012 3:31:00 PM More reviews by Scott77

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

I am rating the Onyx Blue Sheen available at Sally's and online. I purchased this as I love Redken Shades EQ Onyx and Redken is owned and manufactured by L'Oreal so I thought this would be the logical perm hair color to use with Redken.

Pros: Great color, the kind of Onyx blue black I always wanted!
Excellent shine.
Lasts a very long time.
Inexpensive.

Cons:
Strong, very strong, open a window strong odor!
Stings the scalp a little.
Very messy!
A bit drying.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/22/2012 11:11:00 PM More reviews by missty86

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

even though the color came out good, its the most damaging hair color i have ever used. I have used many different dyes before including L'Oreal excellence but my hair texture was never affected until i use preference. my hair was super shiny before using this hair-dye and now all the shine is gone despite of regular oiling, using sulfate free gentle shampoos, never blow drying or using high heat tools,. its been over a year and my hair is still not shiny...
i regret using this dye so much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/15/2012 6:58:00 PM More reviews by decoded

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I used this a lot recently and it's what has lead to my hairs demise. I was trying to achieve a nice light brown color, and I just couldn't seem to get it right. I started off using UL51 Hi-lift natural brown. This worked fairly well at first, but it really was not quite the color I wanted. So I went over to using the UL63 Hi-lift Gold Brown. I don't know what it is about this dye, but it over lifts my hair. I used it twice and it gave me a weird root ombre effect of where my roots for about an inch or two were darn near light blonde, and it completely made the rest of my hair darker than what it was before. I tried using a 5 medium brown to cover it but it gave me a reddish, coppery hue. I recently got the hi-lift golden brown, hoping it would be ok because my hair was a almost black color. It still gave me blonde roots, though not as much as the other time, and a weird splotch mix of dark black and light brown. It's also thoroughly wrecked my hairs condition. I'm done using this dye.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/28/2012 4:45:00 PM More reviews by archgurl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I used Medium Golden Brown about 8 weeks ago and have noticed that it's still covering the majority of gray hairs with the exception of the roots where they have grown out. This stuff works way better than Garnier, which is what I had tried previously. The color came out darker than I expected, but not so much so that anyone else that I was around on a daily basis even noticed. It stinks like heck when you apply it and will make your eyes burn.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/17/2012 4:37:00 PM More reviews by xxxoxoxo

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

i am very sorry to say this does not work for me (and more strongly, ruined my hair fibers!). i've always wanted to love l'oreal and their slick marketing... but for some reason their products just "miss it" for me. i do remember growing up using a l'oreal facial cleanser that i loved (creamy one in a tube and no way i can remember the name after all these years, so sorry!) so i've always given their products a chance.

this killed my hair though :(. let me be more specific (and more helpful that way)... it turned the majority of my hair strands into that "rough, scuffed, plastic-y"-feeling fibers that you KNOW is going to take years to grow all out of your hair. i've been dying my hair for more than 10 years and this is the first time i've thought about ditching the habit.

in love with the "strawberry blonde" for a moment, i picked up #48 "copper blonde" and was so excited for the "transformation." the mixing, application, etc. was all pretty standard, maybe a little more liquid-y than some other creamier formulations but not too much of a hassle. and it *did* turn the color it promised (on my dark blonde/ light brown hair, i ended up with a slightly darker version of the color shown on the box's model)... but heartbroken that even if my hair is the "right color," the hair fibers themselves were ruined :(. no conditioner is going to save it; it will just have to be grown out. the strands are wrecked :(.

speaking of condish, the one in this box is quite good; i do prefer the feria condish but don't think they're too different. (sadly, feria also damaged my hair but not to this extent; it was the last color i used before the superior pref so maybe it was in a worse condition to start).

i'm sorry to report i would never buy this again... and am even thinking about ditching my haircoloring habit due to the damage from this dye :(.

**PLEASE NOTE: everyone's hair is SO different that this might be the right product for you. i didn't do a strand test and am not sure if it would've shown the damage but perhaps if you are worried, you could give that a try... i've also heard that some brands might just end up working better for you. for me, clairol dyes seem to work better with my hair than l'oreal. perhaps it's the opposite for you. good luck and happy mua-ing! thank you all for your insight on my purchases as well.

**for ref: my hair was a dark blonde/ light brown, naturally straight, medium thickness strands, medium thickness volume.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/16/2012 7:25:00 PM More reviews by BrieHeartsMakeup

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This sucked. My friend was trying to go blonde, and it turned her hair to this redish-brown color. I don't know why? But it sucks. The people who this works for are very lucky, but as for my friend, it sucked. As for ME, I will not buy this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No