October 20, 2014 | 880 users online

Styling Products - Garnier - FRUCTIS Sleek and Shine - Leave-in Conditioning Cream



image 0image 1

rated 3.5(274 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 59% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 10/5/2012 3:11:00 PM More reviews by dprovi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My hair is natural and I've been on the hunt for a reasonably priced leave in conditioner that actually moisturizes my hair. I used to use Garnier Fructis products (shampoo right through to leave ins) when my hair was texturized and figured I'd give it a try since it worked well with my hair before. Well this bad boy was on sale and I ended up buying two eager to try it and I wish I had saved the money. After using this product for a two months, my hair is drier than before I started using it. I find that it coats the hair and over the course of the week (if applied daily or every other day, which I do) it leaves a greyish film on your hair which looks terrible. I even diluted the product with loads of water hoping that it would help with the greyish film and it didn't even help in the least bit. In fact my hair became even drier which made the grey film look worse. Now I suppose the porosity of one's hair might attribute to the product sitting on top of the hair shaft rather than sinking in, but the last time I checked the porosity of my hair was within the normal range so it leaves me to believe that this product just isn't good and certainly not the one for me.

Not into the hair typing thing but for the benefit of others, my hair is classed as mainly 4A (with 3C areas)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/1/2012 10:28:00 PM More reviews by LittleTogi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I can't go a day without this conditioner! My whole life I've been stopped by women with curly hair (and without) to ask what I do to my hair to get it frizz free and defined. I am always happy to help out a stranger with curls because I know what it's like to cry with frustration over hair with a mind of its own! I haven't cried once since I discovered mousse! But since then I've found an easy routine that works for me.

Curls always will have a mind of their own, you can only do so much! Here is my routine for anyone who liked my photos I submitted and wants to give it a shot. Step 1: I use Suave Mint & Eucalyptus anti-dandruff shampoo (this is new but I like it so far for my dry flaky scalp & product build-up) Step 2: I condition my hair most days but sometimes it makes my hair frizz even worse (I really don't understand this) but when I do condition, I use Queen Helene Cholesterol Hair Conditioning Cream and leave it in for at least 15-30 minutes. Step 3: Do not comb, brush, vigorously towel-dry or blow-dry hair at any point! When hair is very damp, apply Garnier Sleek & Shine leave-in conditioner very liberally and evenly. Try to focus on ends and the back of the head. I turn my head upside down while applying this to get the under side of my hair. I usually have a little clip to put my hair half up to get "into the thick" of the back of the hair. Step 4: I usually part my hair how I want it and begin applying Tresemme Climate Control Mousse. This mousse is not bad about getting hard and flaky, just be sure to apply it evenly, with only a small portion in your hands at a time. At this point I am still "shaping my hair" which means I can run my fingers through my hair to distribute product. Step 4: I usually wait until my hair is slightly more dry (about and hour later) and then I will apply Big Sexy Hair Root Pump or Root Pump Plus (same thing). Some days I don't need the Big Sexy Hair but if it's going to be humid (all bets are off) I'll put it in for a little extra hold. I go pretty easy on this stuff as it provides the strongest hold of all these products.

While my hair is drying, which usually takes a long, long time, I am constantly flipping my hair over and side to side so it doesn't dry so flat. With all the products in my hair, if I didn't do this I would have absolutely no body! So flip and scrunch and try to get some air-flow to your scalp. If you have thick curly hair and want to try this, I say good luck! But everyone's hair is different, I just put this out there to try and help and give you some ideas. (Sorry this is so long!) I'll be posting this under the other two products I use in my routine also.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/1/2012 9:58:00 PM More reviews by pnnylne

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased this on sale at CVS for about $3-4 USD. I have really dry/relaxed hair and I use this as my leave-in/base for pre-poo mixture. When I first got the product I noticed that it has a really thick formulation and felt heavy on my hair (especially when I applied it to my dry hair). So now I've begun to dilute it with 3 teaspoons of water to thin it out. I apply it as a pre-poo (with 3 teaspoons of water and 1 teaspoon of honey) for more moisture. After my conditioner, I take the diluted form of the product and apply to my damp hair and seal with an oil/serum. The result is really moisturized hair that it is soft (after it dries via air dry/blow dry). If you intend to apply this product on dry hair, I definitely recommend diluting it with water. It has an okay smell, is readily available, and cheap. I would recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/22/2012 11:14:00 AM More reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Grey

I really go back and forth with this product. Some days I love it, other days not so much.

I bought it for some conditioning benefits, but also because it is supposed to help with frizz. It does help initially after application with the frizz, but that effect does not last through the day for me. I don't have serious frizz, but in humidity, the style I start with in the morning doesn't last; my hair will sort of curl up a bit on the ends and frizz.

Most of the time when I use it, I focus on the bottom half of my hair. Some days, like today, I apply it from nearly the roots to the ends. It does make my hair look pretty good, helps it look more conditioned. But no matter how much or how little I use, whatever areas of my hair I use it on are left with a heavy, filmy feel. That does have a thickening effect, so that may be good for some.

It reminds me a bit of the Sunsilk TLC leave-in in the pink bottle I used to buy, but that was better. Wish I could still buy that.

Sorry I can't give a definitive love/hate review, but for me it's just one of those odd products.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/20/2012 6:29:00 AM More reviews by aiislyn

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

My hair is a little on the fine side and, considering my vibrant, unnatural red color, has been significantly bleached in the past. As a result, it's a little dry and I was just looking for a leave-in that helped get some moisture back in my hair. I had never tried a leave-in conditioner before so I wasn't sure what to expect, though I have been using serums.

I bought this after reading rave reviews on MUA, thinking it could be what I needed. I tried it for a couple of weeks and even using just a pea sized amount on my slightly-longer-than-chin-length hair, it left my hair feeling heavy and greasy, and didn't seem to help me with my moisture problem. I assumed it was because my hair was a little finer but for under $4, it wasn't a huge loss. I put it in my cabinet and forgot about it for a while.

A couple months later, I ran out of conditioner and didn't feel like running out to get more. However, conditioner is a must for my hair. I remembered reading a review where someone used this product as their shower conditioner and decided to give it a go. I used maybe a gumball-sized amount and ran it through my hair, then rinsed it out. It rinsed out easily, so it seemed promising.

After I got out, I put on my normal mix of the Garnier Sleek and Shine Anti-Frizz Serum and Garnier Morccan Sleek Oil Treatment(half and half, with barely a penny size amount). I blow-dried it about a quarter dry and let it air-dry the rest of the way and when I did, I noticed my hair was considerably softer and had less frizz than it normally did. It seemed healthier and wasn't weighed down at all, which made it look so much better than normal. I couldn't stop touching my hair all day and even got compliments from my date that night, who also couldn't keep her hands off my hair!

I don't know if it was the leave-in that did it but I'll be trying again for the next few weeks and update when I have a definite answer.

For it's intended purpose, I would only give it two lippies, since it didn't help me for my type of hair though it does smell really good. As a regular conditioner, I give it a four and a half thus far.

Edit: I don't think I'll rebuy, since it doesn't make sense to only buy it to use as a regular conditioner. Though it isn't expensive, I could probably find an actual conditioner for the same price and get much more for my buck. For now, using this daily mixed with Aussie's Three-Minute Miracle Deeeeep Conditioner with a dab of Garnier's Moroccan Oil Treament works great for my pixie-cut, fine, damaged hair that's recovering from a botched bleach job.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/21/2012 1:48:00 PM More reviews by Ayeshamzd

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This Leave-in is not The best, its alright, i have curly hair and i have to put A LOT of this stuff in it, idk if i will buy it again, i wanna try another leave in
Maybe it works better on straight hair? im not sure, im gonna use it till i run out and then probably not but it again, not sure.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/15/2012 7:44:00 PM More reviews by lyo87

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I've flip flopped back and forth with this stuff so many times. The first time I tried it, I absolutely loathed it, but the more I try it, the more I seem to like it. It's still not a love and certainly not a HG leave-in conditioner for me, but I do like it. The smell is great and fruity like all of Garnier's hair products, but it's just so darn thick and goopy! Seriously, it takes some major effort to wash it off my hands after I apply it! Therefore, I never use it right after I get out of the shower because I'm afraid it will make my hair look like an oil slick, and I'd rather not walk around with greasy hair all day. Instead, I like to apply it to the ends of my hair at night before I go to bed, and it really seems to help my hair over all. It's softer and looks significantly healthier. The amount of product you get, as well as the fact that a little does go a long way with this stuff, is pretty awesome for the price. It's generally only about $4! I would definitely recommend it for over night use, but I'm still kind of iffy about using it right out of the shower (if you're a weirdo like me and wash your hair every day!) unless your hair feels and looks like straw. So I'm only giving it a 3 out of 5, based on the fact that if I actually used it as a leave in conditioner to wear throughout the day and help style my hair with, my hair would be so oily I couldn't stand it. So if you're like me and have moderately oily hair, I definitely wouldn't recommend it as a styling product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/5/2012 6:05:00 PM More reviews by kuur

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

My hair is coarse and frizzy. I used this once and forgot about it because it didn't impress me. I bought this again since it was on sale. What a miracle! Don't use this on wet or damp hair. it will just make it slimy and dry. I use a small amount on fully dry hair a day or 2 after shampooing my hair. this really tones down the frizz. The key is to not put too much. If you do residue will be left in your hair.
I use this with Tresemme smooth and silky shampoo + conditioner.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/15/2012 3:45:00 AM More reviews by Aleg5407

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

When my mother first bought this for me I was super excited! I have really frizzy hair and I thought FINALLY I can make my frizzy hair go away. When I first tried it I LOVED it. I loved it so much that i bought bottle after bottle after bottle! Then I started to noticed after I finished my third bottle, I noticed that from using this product my hair COMPLETELY dried out! I was very disapointed with this product. If you have frizzy to dry damaged hair that is somewhat unmanageable and very thick hair. I recommend the Garnier Anti- Frizz Serum, I have been using this for over a year now and this ACTUALLY works for me and keeps my hair silky and smooth. Also use the serum when your hair is damp and tangled free! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/13/2012 11:10:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

This leave in treatment is okay. For being a cream leave-in conditioner it doesn't weigh my hair down and it makes my curls easier to comb through but that's where my love for this product ends. It does nothing to maintain frizz and my hair doesn't feel or look any better than it did when I started using it. Since the bottle is large and it will take me a while to use up the other half of it I'll continue using it as a detangler but I wouldn't repurchase it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No