April 18, 2014 | 1805 users online

Moisturizers - Neostrata - Ultra-Smoothing Cream (10% Glycolic Acid)



image 0

rated 4.5(47 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/7/2008 10:39:00 AM More reviews by shannon87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love neostrata products, this makes my skin very smooth, and it does seem to help with under the skin zits, helps my acne clear up quicker. I use this along with the neostrata toner

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/24/2008 7:53:00 AM More reviews by ICN

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Initially, the lotion will cause some stinging to those with broken skin - i.e. pimple scar, etc. As I've got eczema coupled with extremely uncontrollable acne, I use this product twice a week . With everytime that I use it, I'd always wake up to noticably smoother skin.

Price wise, it costed me AUD32 from a pharmacy. It is a little exxy in my opinion, however, the results are indeed what the packaging promises.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/7/2008 11:41:00 AM More reviews by erotic_snail

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is without a doubt the most amazing moisturiser I have ever used. The texture is quite light, upon first use I didn't think it would be enough for my normal/dry skin - but it is very hydrating without being oily in the slightest.
My skin has never felt smoother or looked better.
My skin is generally very clear but there's a few areas of congestion under the skin, those tiny annoying pimples that never seem to surface. This has completely gotten rid of all that congestion.
It really plumps up my skin. If you feel your skin is looking dull, uneven or congested I cannot recommend this enough!
I can't use it when I've got a cold and the skin on my face is tender (especially around the nose) as it is quite irritating under those circumstances, but even after days of not using this my skin has not reverted to its previous appearance!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/23/2007 1:31:00 PM More reviews by littlemissrae

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Being a beauty product junkie, I've tried it all- From high end to low end and everything in between. I must say that this is the first cream to make a VISIBLE difference in my skin. Not only has it smoothed the texture of my skin, deminished dark spots and scars, it has also cleared my skin of any blemishes. I use it in conjunction with Neostrata Foaming Cleanser (4% glycolic), followed by the 8% toning solution, and over the course of the past 3 months of use my dry/acne prone skin has improved 100%. I couldn't be more thrilled. These three products, alongside Avene rich optimale cream, appear to be the perfect recipe for clear, even, radiant skin!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/20/2007 1:18:00 AM More reviews by gingerooney7

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Neostrata is powerful stuff. Serious skin care. I love it, and so does my 48 year old skin. I actually look forward to the slight sting on my skin, as this shows me it's working. I have seen wonderful results from using this product.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/13/2007 4:44:00 PM More reviews by sugarglazed

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I bought this based on the recommendation of others- but it didnt work out for me, broke me out, badly if I do say so myself- I guess it depends on your skintype and whether or not it'll accept certain ingredients ....
:)

I must add that I used the lotion and NOT the cream- so maybe the cream is a better product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/3/2007 4:03:00 PM More reviews by damnyoureprettygorgeous

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been so obsessed with skincare for the past 2 years and this brand, together with Avene is one of my HG skincare products. It refines skin texture, minimized the pores, fades unwanted acne scars and so. And best of all, my skin never had a bad reaction with this which is important to me since my skin is VERY sensitive (note: dermatitis). A little amount goes a long way, so I think my 200ml Ultra Smoothing Creme will last me more than a year.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/22/2007 3:47:00 PM More reviews by Smanga

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

After noticing a major difference to my friend's skin I decided to give this product a go. It seriously has given me a dewy glow (as it did to my friend as well) and I would go so far as to say my pores have slightly reduced as well.

Every other night I dilute the cream with some of my normal night cream so my skin doesn't get too 'stripped' away.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/19/2007 10:27:00 AM More reviews by amadeus123

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I bought this cream after hearing all the raves about it on the australian vogue boards... I have to say I'm impressed! I was a little surprised on how small the jar was when I first opened the box, but I have to say that you don't use much of it every time... and about $32AUD is much cheaper than the price I paid for clinique's turnaround cream which did nothing.

I have to say I am proof that this cream does something. I had really bad acne breakouts a few years back - I'm talking about the cystic type, and it has left me with both icepick and those reddish acne scars. I also had a bad bout of congestion on my cheeks which I could deal with since they're only visible up close. I also have an oily forehead and nose, dry cheeks and a normal chin :D (yes...normal chin!!)... Now, the first time I used this stuff, it stung a little which I could handle, however it was the smell that got to me. It REEKED for the first time, however after 3-4 nights, I got over the smell and sting and swore to stick to this to see results.

I applied it the night I bought it... and the first day I woke up, my skin felt smooooooooooth as silk. Too bad that feeling left when I washed my face, but every night I am eager to apply the cream to feel that smooth feeling. I do not use this product on my nose because I still feel my nose is a bit oily and this product leaves a little bit of a greasy film on my face for the first few hours of application... so if you're going out I suggest you skip this cream for that day/night :)

I think I have used this cream for around nearly 2 months? I can saftely say most of my congestion is gone, and my reddish acne marks are actually fading - which I would have expected the turnaround cream to do, but was dissapointed. With this neostrata cream, I can actually see that my face colour is beginning to match my neck (ie. no red splotches and scars!) Of course my icepick scars still remain - I believe there is no cream that can rid of those... maybe go and get facials or something when I am older... =(

Just a note... I use no cleanser (I know.. bbaddddd!!!) and use clinique's anti-blemish gel for the occasional zit. I do not use neostrata smoothing cream in the daytime if I'm going to uni because of the shine factor (ever so slightly greasy film), so I use clinique's DDML for a moisturiser (can you tell by now I'm also a clinqiue fan? haha)... so basically I use neostrata as a moisturiser at night... I think it's not as drying as the lotion version.

That's all I can think of for now...sorry for the really long review but I just really think that people should try this. I'm not sure about fine lines and wrinkles since I don't have any of those, but those who do not currently have active acne and are looking for something to try and rid of those scars, I think you should give this a try!

Edit (31-5-2007) : Just a quick update... this morning my dad was like "... why is your face looking so smooth and clean today?..."... :O Made my day ^^

SECOND EDIT: Okay, so after running out of a cream, I bought the lotion since I was meaning to purchase it before the cream. I have to say WOW. The texture is so much nicer, and it seems to sink more readily into the skin! It doesn't smell as foul (imo) and it eliminates that 'oily' film I was describing earlier... I can actually apply it in the daytime when I go out now because it actually feels more like a primer than anything... I can put my concealer over it, and it seems to make my skin feel super smooth instantly. I think I'll be sticking to the lotion formula from on now! The cream still did my face good though :D

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/4/2007 2:30:00 AM More reviews by foxxxy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Overall, this is a very good moisturizer. One jar lasts quite a long time and I have recently repurchased.

PROS: 10% glycolic acid, exfoliates well, very moisturizing, reasonably price (CAD$34~), Canadian company!

CONS: stings a little sometimes, jar container, takes a while to sink into skin (so I usually use it as a night cream)

VERDICT: I recommend everyone to give it a try! continued >>

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No