October 31, 2014 | 1375 users online

Cleansers - Peter Thomas Roth - Glycolic Acid 3% Facial Wash



image 0

rated 3.9(40 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 72% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/22/2007 3:33:00 PM More reviews by CortneyZ

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is my HG cleanser (I have combination skin). I use it only once a day in the morning. For a while, I made the mistake of using it twice a day and then started getting rosacea-like redness on my cheeks. My husband also loves it (he has oily skin). It is definitely worth the price. The bottle lasts about 6 months with both of us using it. It also travels well and it's easy to squirt the perfect pearl size amount for your face.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/29/2006 5:05:00 PM More reviews by westcoastgirl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Love this facial wash! the tiniest drop will clean my whole face so one bottle will last a long time. Rinses clean and my face is so soft after I wash using this. Love it:)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/11/2005 8:22:00 PM More reviews by jules007

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've found this to be an excellent cleanser used in the morning for my combo skin It really exfoliates and leaves a nice glow with no irritation. For drier or more skins, you may want to just use it once or twice a week. I alterante this with the Sensitive Skin Cleansing Gel. It's expensive but the bottle is large and you only need a small amount, so it should last about a year or longer. I really like PTR products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/14/2005 2:42:00 AM More reviews by busybaker1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Like the previous reviewer, I also use this product every morning with a buff-puf. I am prone to ingrown hairs on my chin line (to add insult to injury, as if daily plucking out of chin hairs wasn't bad enough!). I often looked like I had chin acne but in fact it was just irritated skin because of this condition. The daily combo of this PTR wash & the buff puf has been a miracle! The ingrown hairs are all but gone and I have soft smooth skin. Bonus: This trick also works on the bikini line. The bottle does last for months so the $30 price tag does go a long way.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/24/2005 7:58:00 PM More reviews by jester1113

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I'm such a big fan of PTR.

I use this once a day, in the am, with a buff puff to help exfoliate. My pores clog so easily, this has been a big help. A bottle usually lasts me five or six months too, so well worth the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/7/2005 6:39:00 PM More reviews by tetrakis

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wanted to like this. I really did. However, I must have been so caught up in wanting to like this that I never realized that it has fragrance in it. How could this be? I am usually so careful =( (fragrance and my rosacea don't play well together). I used this once a while ago and suffered a horrible break out soon after. However, I was trying other new things at that time (I know I shouldn't, but I just can't help it...sigh), so I wasn't sure if this was the culprit. However, I finally got my routine settled down a couple of weeks ago and decided to give this a try since I needed a little exfoliation. The first night after use, my skin seemed smoother and firmer. However, by the time the evening rolled around, I was getting cystic acne all around my chin and jawline. It gradually worsened over the next few days =(. I never get cystic acne unless I am having an allergic reaction, so I won't be using this stuff again. I guess I can finish up the bottle on my body. However, the search for an exfoliant continues (one without fragrance next time...sheesh).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/26/2004 2:30:00 AM More reviews by Cayden19

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i feel that this product is great to have at hand. it leaves my oily skin super smooth and shine free. i guess that's because of the AHA. since i hate scrubs, this is a great alternative for me if i want to exfoliate. i only use this twice a week though because any more than that, it dries out my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/1/2004 4:57:00 PM More reviews by katehoo

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have fairly sensitive skin and found this too harsh for daily use, but I do like it as a semi-weekly exfoliator. I'm not sure it's a particularly effective wrinkle fighter, but it does make my skin feel taught and refreshed after use. I also like that it's free of added dyes and fragrances. And I've found that it's terrific for preventing body breakouts, though it is a little pricey for everyday use as a body wash. Not likely to become a staple of my beauty regime for years to come, but I'd be willing to buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/3/2004 8:40:00 PM More reviews by krw134

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I really like this cleanser. My face feels really clean (it kind of even squeaks it's so clean!). I have found that I can't use it every day though. After using it four days in a row it made my face kind of dry. Using it a few times a week might be a better option, especially for those with sensitive skin. At $30, it is a bit pricey, but a little goes a long way.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/15/2001 5:27:00 PM More reviews by fort

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue



This is another effective, well-formulated product from PTR. It is a clear, foaming, non-irritating gel that cleanses and clarifies the skin of rough textures/lines. This cleanser won't fix major problem areas on its own, but it is great to use as an overall refresher/renewer for the face. Usage of this product would have to vary depending on your skin type. I have combination skin, and I use this at most once a day, sometimes every other day (the hydroxy element is strong enough to sensitize the skin if used too frequently). It's pricey ($30). A bottle should last three to four months, depending on use. A great addition to any skin care routine, in my opinion.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No