November 24, 2014 | 1620 users online

Self Tanners - L'Oreal - Sublime Bronze

rated 3.4(400 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 60% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/2/2012 7:03:00 PM More reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was honestly expecting a lot more from this self tanner, especially for the fact that I love L'oreal products. This wasn't the worst self tanner I've ever used, but it definitely wasn't the best. My first impressions were that this goes on clear & has lots of glitter in it. This dries fairly fast, I'd say it was 97% dry within 10 minutes. The color started to show up after about a half an hour. The longer this sits on your skin, the more the color starts to appear. I have this in the deep, natural tan color. It looked okay at first & I only used a little bit only on my legs after I got out of the shower. In the morning, it turned to a streaky orange color with lots of glitter. Not attractive. The Jergens Natural Glow lotion works much better than this one. I'm going to return this & hopefully find something else to try, & I definitely will not repurchase. Overall, this was a dissapointment. Not a fan of the glitter either. If you do plan on using this, make sure you wash your hands very well right after, or it will stain your han ds. I washed mine very well, & this still left an orange tint on my palms. This has nothing on St. Tropez.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/23/2012 3:45:00 PM More reviews by sapphirejewel

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this product!!! I now have gorgeous golden skin that shimmers and is not streaky or orange if you apply it right.

I started with very pale skin so I mixed it in with a regular lotion for the first month then I just used the product out of the bottle.

I like the shimmer in it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/23/2012 1:29:00 PM More reviews by aferrar1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

OK, Im as pale as they come and I L-O-V-E this self tanner! I have tried every kind of tanner out there and have finally perfected the application process using this sublime bronze.

I think mine is medium shade and it is a gel (not a lotion). Heres how I apply (one leg at a time):
- Start with a pump of your regular body lotion in the palm of your hand (I use Jergens Ultra Healing)
- Add a squirt of sublime bronze (use about half as much of the lotion pump for just a little color, or use the same amount as your lotion if you want to go darker)
- Super blend both products in your hands make sure its all blended!
- Start rubbing in to your legs very lightly around knees, feet & ankles using circular motions rub rub rub until its all soaked in
- Make sure you wash your hands really well so you dont get the orange hand situation and be careful not to splatter water on yourself, or youll end up with spots!
- Keep shorts on for a while (i.e. not pants that might rub it off) until your skin feels dry
- Voila!

You get a little color right away from the bronze aspect, but be ready for nice natural color the next day! I usually do this after I shower or before bed. And, sorry it does smell, but all the ones Ive tried smelled so I just consider that the price to not be so pale! Plus you can sometimes get this buy one get one 50% off at drugstores!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/3/2012 10:45:00 PM More reviews by Leannne

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I really like this sunless tanner. If you take care to apply it correctly, and you exfoliate well before application, then you will not get streaks. If you ARE getting streaks, then you know you are doing something wrong. It's pretty reasonably priced, but my only issue with it is that is smells weird.. I always put a scented lotion on top of it once it's dried because I can't stand the smell.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/7/2012 9:03:00 PM More reviews by ariaxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

First of all, what everyone is saying about this product streaking is true because it is an instant tanner. BUT IT IS ONLY STREAKING BECAUSE YOU MAKE IT. You have to be really careful about applying it evenly (which can be easy to do bc the lotion is tinted and you can see what you're doing) and make sure you thoroughly washing your hands properly afterwards. Or better yet, use gloves.

You also need to be careful about how much you use depending on your skin color...all you people saying you turned orange, you guys are applying way too much. People with light skin need to apply less while people with dark skin need more. Simple as that.

Also for you people that are bothered by the glitter and smell, I would recommend applying it before you go to bed and washing it off when you shower in the morning. That should give the perfect tint and you won't have to worry about going out with the smell and glitter.

Personally, I LOVE this product! Having naturally olive skin, this is the only product that has ever worked on me! The best thing about it is that you can immediately see results. It's not gradual; you see the results overnight! And what's even better is that even though it makes a difference, it's not one that overly obvious to other and it doesn't look fake at all.

I would DEFINITELY recommend it!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/20/2011 8:46:00 PM More reviews by xxnoellexx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

It never seems to make a difference on my skin, even if I applied quite a bit. When I actually did get results, it always faded very quickly afterwards - like, later that day. It left lots of streaks and splotches - especially on my neck and feet, but it may have been poor application on my part.
My mum bought it a long time ago, so I have no idea how much it cost, or if it was worth it. However, I would not buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/31/2011 11:12:00 AM More reviews by songforafriend

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This was more expensive than I was expecting, at almost $15. It smells good actually, for a self-tanner, kinda fruity. But I found it incredibly streaky. Also orange-y (and I'm not talking about the smell). I tried the regular self-tanning routine (exfoliate, body butter), then I tried applying body butter twice, but the results were the same. I'd get unever colour, with random blotches of darkness here and there. Bleh. Better off without it. The Lancome leg bronzer is much better, even if it smells like burnt french fries.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/22/2011 2:17:00 AM More reviews by airinX0X

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

this prodct is pretty good!! lets me havea nice back to school tan.. buutt the downfalll is the shimer thats in this.. i feeel like a walking and talking disco ball... otherwise i love it! smell is pretty good!!! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/18/2011 1:17:00 PM More reviews by Kelly824

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Terrible! This one used to be not so bad. I don't know if they changed the formula or what, but now it's horrible. It streaks like crazy and leaves patches, even when you exfoliate before. It's also a gross orange-y color. Don't waste your money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/10/2011 7:59:00 PM More reviews by suusuu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

TERRIBLE. very orange and the streaks were obvious, i looked comical. I hate that I wasted my money on this

Is this review helpful? Yes No