November 26, 2014 | 1660 users online

Lipstick - Maybelline - Color Whisper

rated 4.1(180 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/20/2013 10:14:00 PM More reviews by tabulous77

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Love this. I'm able to wear bright plum because it's so sheer it's not overpowering, but just right. I want more colors now. It's also very moisturising and the packaging is lovely.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/17/2013 11:31:00 PM More reviews by keiki300

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

YES YES YES. such a nice non sticky gloss with an hint of color. sheer but buildable. the price is good and the pinks are amazing

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/17/2013 6:54:00 PM More reviews by tigerlily217

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I decided to pick these up since there was a sale where you get two for the price of one. I was contemplating on purchasing these or the Revlon Colorburst but I am glad I decided to give these a try first! I have these in the colours Pin Up Peach and Rose of Attraction. They are a touch sheer but definitely buildable and the colours are just gorgeous. It looks natural on without screaming to everybody that you obviously put something on your lips. It's moisturizing, gives your lips a pop of colour, doesn't settle into the crevices of your lips, doesn't enhance dry patches, and appropriate for work. It stays on my lips for quite a long period of time, probably six hours before I have to reapply or touch up on it. I find that there's not a whole lot of product but considering how cheap it is, it really isn't a big deal. These are the colours I'm obsessed with and will definitely use on a everyday basis.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/25/2013 12:53:00 AM More reviews by BlushinBlonde

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

So, I had been eyeing up 'coral ambition' for quite while, but ended up putting it back down every time. But I ended up finally buying a color whisper, but in the shade 'lust for blush' & absolutely fell in love. It is the most gorgeous, perfect pink nude shade I have ever found. I seriously hope they don't discontinue these! I now have 5 total, I did become quite a bit obsessed. I have the shades 'lust for blush' (pink nude), 'coral ambition' (light orange toned coral), 'pink possibilities' (bright pink), 'bare to be bold' (light/sheer glossy nude), & 'petal rebel' (light pink, another absolute favorite!). I personally really love the formula, it is a gel base, it is super moisturizing, & applies very smooth. They are not super opaque, but you can build them a bit from sheer to a light/medium coverage of color, but they are called color whispers for a reason, they're not meant to be bright or opaque, they're supposed to be just a 'whisper' of color. I purchased all of mine from Walmart for $5.94, which is better than the $7.49 Walgreen's & other drug stores asked for them. All in all, these are some of my favorite lippies, especially 'lust for blush' & 'petal rebel', they're all very wearable shades, that I actually do wear very often. Personally I think they're worth it, & I actually am planning on picking up 'oh la lilac' tomorrow, as it is supposed to leave your lips a gorgeous pink lilac shade that I am super excited to try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/17/2013 1:36:00 AM More reviews by amyannewaye

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Have this product in quite a few shades but my favourite has to be Oh La Lilac.

Wonderful range of shades and goes on great. I find that if I use a clear lip liner with it, it lasts for up to a couple of hours.

Perfect lipstick for women who don't like bright shades but definitely not what you are looking for if you want all day coverage.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/16/2013 11:50:00 PM More reviews by kmarie161

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have this in Made it Mauve. The pigment factor is okay but for me it wears off easily. It's also more like a gloss or balm. I like the packaging and the smell is really nice but I don't see much difference between this and Baby Lips. I'd rather spend $4 on baby lips than $7.50 on this. Its practically the same thing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/15/2013 2:12:00 AM More reviews by Sarsar1sar

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Hazel

The colors are okay, but this is NOT long lasting. The color wears off in minutes. It is moisturizing though. The packaging sucks because you cant get half of it out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/14/2013 11:59:00 AM More reviews by Britty18

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have the shade Pin-up Peach, and I absolutely love it! Very smooth and leaves the perfect amount of color. It doesn't last too long, but it's so simple to reapply that doesn't really matter. I want more shades!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/5/2013 10:31:00 AM More reviews by mellyru

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought the color whispers a while back in mocha muse, lust for blush and coral ambition. I was unsure of the colors so I looked on some swatches online before purchasing.
HOWEVER . . . because my lips were so pigmented, the colors ended up looking nothing like the swatches I saw online.

The mocha muse came out clear, the lust for blush came out bright barbie pink, and the coral ambition was the trickiest. I tried to wear it sheer, but the color came out blotchy and and you could see my natural lip color clashing underneath it. Even after I applied several layers, it just built up more blotchiness. Maybe this was because it seemed to be white based? My lip color tends not to do well with anything white-based . . .

Overall, the packaging is super cute and sturdy and the formula is most definitely lovely, being that it is super hydrating and comfortable to wear on the lips. However, i was not too thrilled with the color selection or with the fact the color wear is most suitable with those with less pigmented lips. I'll be sticking with my regular maybelline lipsticks xP

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/26/2013 1:17:00 AM More reviews by arlin7

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I simply love this thing.
I have it in the color 20-mocha muse and it is a gorgeous nude that looks stunning with my pale skin. it is very easy to apply ( you do not even need a mirror ), it looks very nice on my lips and do not accentuate small imperfections.
However, there are some things that I particularly do not enjoy - 1. this lipstick does not last very long ( about 20 min if you talk or drink ) 2. because you have to reapply it quite often, the tube will not last you long ( about a month in my case with a frequent use ) 3. it can sometimes dry my lips out ( not much, but still ).
So my verdict is - I definitely like this range of lipsticks, will buy more and advise you to check them out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No