Clarins Gentle Foaming Cleanser with Shea Butter for Dry or Sensitive Skin

4.2

54 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, cetearyl alcohol, sodium stearoyl glutamate, glycol distearate, sodium cocoamphoacetate, sodium laureth sulfate, hectorite, sodium cocoyl glutamate, dipropylene glycol, sodium lauryl sulfate, fragrance, glycerin, phenoxyisopropanol, butyrospernum, parkii (shea butter), panthenol, xantham gum, disodium EDTA, alpha-glucan oligosaccharide, lecithin, polymnia sonchifolia root juice, palmitoyl myristyl serinate, maltodextrin, gossypium herbaceum (cotton) seed extract, gypsophila paniculata root extract, potassium sorbate, lactobacillus, methylchloroisothiazolinone, tocopherol, methylisothiazolinone, caramel, CI 77891/titanium dioxide, CI 19140/yellow 5, CI 15985/yellow 6


on 10/11/2012 9:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love clarins cleansers. I use this one when my skin is going through a dry phase. It leaves my dry skin so silky smooth, it's just fantastic. I actually like the fragrance of this cleanser and dont find that it has a butter smell at all. Everyone is different but if you are having problems with dry skin I would give this a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/1/2012 6:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've only been using this for a few days, but I like it so far. It has a slight fragrance, but isn't overpowering. It foams up, but not a huge amount. It feels creamy going on, rinses off well, and leaves my face feeling clean without any tightness. It doesn't taste of anything that I've noticed, and it doesn't sting my eyes. I use a Clarisonic Mia, finish off with Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion (the alcohol-free one), and my face is left clean and exfoliated without any dry feeling.

The only downsides are the high price and the tube packaging. When I'm rinsing my face with one hand, and holding the Clarisonic with the other, it's a nuisance to need a third hand to undo the top of a tube. It's a flip-top lid, so it isn't fiddly, but a pump would be better still.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2012 5:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have bought this cleanser after I read all of the positive reviews about it. My skin is not overly dry, just around the nose and on the cheeks. I was searching for a cleanser to use in the shower in the morning, so this is the only way I used it and this is what my rating is based on.
First, I was looking forward to the consistency and the smell. I know Clarins and I like how their products smell. It is a nice light cream that foams up in your hand really nicely. But then! Yes, now I know what's meant by "shea butter" - the overpowering buttery smell made me fell rather nauseous, imagine this to be the first thing you smell in the morning! Anyway, I didn't want this to marr my impression of the product and I went on massaging it into my face. A lovely light foam, a good feeling, I had high hopes. But alas- as I came out of the shower my face was feeling tight, dry, just not as nice and plump as I had hoped it to be. My Decleor Neroli Oil made me feel much better, but overall I am really disappointed by this product and I'll keep on searching for my perfect smooth cleanser to use in the shower.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2012 10:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This makes you skin smooth, soft and a little bright :) I love it but I just wished this helped with my acne but it didn't :(
Overall great but I will buy this product again if I don't find anything better or something that helps my acne

xxxx


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have gone through several cleansers in the past, especially the last year as I needed a gentle cleanser to use after using a make up cleanser. I have dehydrated skin so was looking for something that would take away residue without stripping my skin. I have tried different ones from Clarins, but hands down this is the best! I have been using this for the past few weeks. There is not too much of a noticeable scent (hooray!), you don't need a lot and it doesn't foam up too much. In fact the foam doesn't really appear. I like that, as I find that foaming cleansers are too harsh for my skin. Don't get me wrong, it is not the same as using Cetaphil - that is a lotion cleanser. This one is not. You use this on a damp face, using warm water at night and cold in the morning. I love this so much it is actually gentle enough for me to use twice a day. And this is an absolute first for me. I love the fact for the first time I do not get that horrible tight skin feeling you normally get when using rinse off cleansers. I used to even get that with Cetaphil! But what's brilliant about this is the fact it doesn't add so much moisture that you can feel it on your skin, just the feeling of a nicely cleansed face :o)

Would definitely highly recommend this who have combo/dehydrated sensitive skin. No break outs here!!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2012 7:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was having trouble with rosacea that came about due to an unexpectably harsh winter here in Australia. I needed a gentle cleanser and Clarins is a brand I return to when my skin is giving me grief. I am not sure what part of my routine helped with the rosacea, but my skin completely calmed down when I added this cleanser. I am also using Niacinamide and vitamin A serum at night, so it could be any one of these. Anyway, this cleanser does not foam, but it does do a good cleanse. It isn't great at removing eye makeup, so I used a separate eye makeup remover prior to using this. I applied it to damp skin and massaged all over my face and neck for about two minutes. Then I rinsed for another couple of minutes. My skin felt really moist and not tight like you get with some foaming cleansers. It is pricey in Australia at $40 per tube, but it is also highly concentrated, so I anticipate that it will last about 3 months. I am so grateful to have found a product that calmed my skin down because I haven't experienced rosacea before and I don't want to experience it again! Highly recommend this product.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/6/2012 3:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG Daily cleanser. Smells good, a little goes a long way (those unfamiliar should note it doesn't foam up as much as the others in the Clarins foaming cleanser range), and is great for my skin (combo/dehydrated/sometimes-sensitive).
Recommended for dehydrated skin if you find your drying out to much, and this is VERY gentle, so perfect At first you might think it's not doing enough cleaning, but you get used to it. It IS cleaning, it's just not stripping and scrubbing away everything. Less break-outs, spots and patches, cos your not taking away to much needed moisture. It's a simple product, but is absolutely essential for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/6/2012 2:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I switched to this after the cottonseed foaming cleanser was stinging my eyes and leaving me a little dry. But this one is awesome! No irritation and still does a great job at cleansing. It smells so fresh and yummy and has a nice lather. Works well with my clarisonic too! Really love this cleanser.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I just love this cleanser.
My skin is normal/combination but this gives me a thorough clean without leaving me feeling tight. It has the softest texture and lightly foams, like washing with a cloud. But it's the scent that really sells it. I can't describe it, but it smells like the most expensive, luxurious spa you can imagine. It's really such a pleasure to use it!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2012 1:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I have combination skin with oily T-zone and dry cheeks/mouth area. This cleanser smells quite sweet from the shea butter and it feels incredibly soft and gentle to use, but you can still feel that it works. It is quite rich so I mainly use it at night - and will use during the winter.
I am currently using several different cleansers by Clarins but I will repurchase this one as it is perfect when your skin needs some TLC.
EDIT: Forgot to say, one lippie off as it can be too rich for my combination (though sensitive) skin.


Back to Top