September 21, 2014 | 2076 users online

Lip Treatments - Christian Dior - Creme de Rose 001



image 0

rated 4.0(77 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 6/29/2013 3:20:00 PM More reviews by Lill

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Purchased in a moment of weakness during the Sephora sale-- I actually quite like this stuff, but I would have given it a 3.5 if I could have. I have been using it a few weeks and I think it does a pretty good job of moisturizing my lips. I keep it by my bathroom sink and apply it in the morning and before bed. I love the scent (roses!) although it does not linger. It's probably one of my favorite lip balms at the moment, and I must have more than 10 different kinds scattered around.

I actually didn't think it was anything special until I started taking about a minute to massage it into my lips when I apply. When I do that it really makes a difference: it sinks in really well and I notice a small bit of plumping (although that is probably more from the massage than anything). The texture is great for this purpose, better than any of my other balms. And it got rid of some annoying flaking.

The pot is super cute, but I don't think I'll carry it around with me. And I am not certain I will repurchase because I am not totally convinced that it is any better than other balms. I'll probably try some of the Badger balms after this and see how they do before considering spending so much again. For me, the bottom line is that it's too expensive to repurchase if it doesn't work spectacularly.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/13/2013 12:36:00 PM More reviews by msfrost

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Pretty much the only lip balm I use.

It comes in a (very cute) pot, which I don't like because I don't like having lip balm on my fingers. And when I'm on the go, I can't wash my hands and dipping my unwashed fingertip isn't sanitary enough. That's one lippie down. It looks lovely, though.

The product is a very soft pink creme. It smells of roses, and it's a very strong scent while the pot is open. Once you apply the product and close the pot, the scent fades, and I can't smell it anymore. (You may or may not like this depending on your preference for scented products. I don't mind that the smell fades.) Application feels luxurious because of the gorgeous pot, rose scent and because it is very creamy and easy to apply. It leaves a slightly glossy, colorless sheen.

I haven't found any plumping effect, to be honest.

The reason I continue to repurchase this product is that nothing moisturizes my lips as well as this! I love long lasting lipsticks and stains, and I live in a very dry area, so my lips are constantly dried out and chapped, and Creme de Rose is the only product that provides deep, lasting moisture and soothes them. Burt's Bees, Carmex, Vaseline, I find they all "mask" my lip's dryness without really helping. Creme de Rose really feels different.

I apply a thick coat before bed as a night treatment, and dab a very light coat just before applying my lip stain or lipgloss of the day. I carry the pot around for any touchups after eating or changing my lipstick color or something.

I will repurchase, UNTIL I find a suitable/comparable lip balm that comes in a tube or lipstick packaging (like the Chanel and Estee Lauder ones).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/30/2013 1:44:00 AM More reviews by Trixieclose

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This stuff is amazing. At first I didn't think it was anything special but it honestly is the most luxurious lip balm I have ever used you have to feel it yourself to understand it. The other dior balm in the stick isnt as thick as this- I was skeptical but it really is a great moisturizer. I would love to move my way up to the by terry rose balm next but this is a great one, I would imagine they are quite similar but I haven't found a good comparison online.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/18/2013 7:22:00 PM More reviews by mbabe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

My lips for were very dry and chapped. I tried all the products on market but they all failed me. I finally picked up Dior lip balm and with in two days of usage my lips were as soft as babies. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/16/2013 2:35:00 AM More reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Blue

About me: NW13 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

I wanted to fall in love with this product. Maybe it is because my lips are full to begin with, but I don't find this does anything for me that Vaseline doesn't do : ( I enjoy having a lip balm as part of my routine, but this does not do anything for me to justify the high price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/29/2013 9:04:00 PM More reviews by Dreamling

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I enjoy the texture of this balm, it is hydrating and well, does everything I expect a lip balm to do. I enjoy the subtle rose scent, although you can taste it if gets into your mouth, which does not particularly bother me. The only issue I have the is the milky color it leaves on my lips, which is not flattering at all. I personally need a liberal amount of lip balm on my usually parched lips, and this does not build up to a flattering color on my very pigmented, red lips. I much prefer the Lip Glow, it isn't quite as hydrating as this, but it does leave a beautiful pink shade on my lips, and builds up beautifully. This will probably only be a night treatment for me, which is a shame. I will not repurchase this, but I will use it up.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/29/2013 5:54:00 PM More reviews by Pmarisa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Grey

It is a nice lip balm and has a nice/posh smell.

However, I have very dehydrated lips and the lip balm didn't help with it (i have been using it for a week now).
Also it is hard to apply the creme as well.


Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/3/2013 10:04:00 PM More reviews by 03Lauren

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

On the packaging: "Smoothing plumping lip balm SPF 10
Active ingredients: octinoxate 7,5% and avobenzone 1,0%"
- Packaging: I love it, simple yet luxurious, really cute. Not much to it other than that. Isn't fragile at all luckily, great to carry in a bag or purse, not likely to break or anything.
- Smell: a delicate rose scent. Not overwhelming at all in my opinion. If you dislike a rose scent you're not going to like it because that's really the only thing it smells like.
- How does it feel: nourishing, soothing and hydrating. Lips feel very soft. When I apply it at night I use more on my lips but it doesn't feel weird or thick in a way it's annoying. A thin layer during the day feels just as nice.
- Does it work: it's great! works best over night I think using a bit more product, smooth lips in the morning. Soothes and hydrates and that's all I need. SPF in it is great as I like to apply it during the day aswell. However, doesn't do anything for me in the plumping department, found out it claimed a plumping effect much later to be honest. Might work different for other people though. I don't mind it, my lips are big enough already, not looking for anything plumping.
- Shade: I have quite a lot of color in my lips already, didn't notice any extra on my lips. Seems to have a petal pink shade to it, but really comes of clear also if I swatch it on my hand or something. If you have really pale lips it might show up. I personally wasn't looking for a balm with a shade to it so I don't mind it.

Overall 4/5, it's expensive but worth it I think. If you're looking for a great luxurious, hydrating, smoothing and protecting lip balm I'd recommend it. If you want color of a plumping effect I would not recommend it, although those 2 things might differ on other people. And if you don't like rose scents I for sure wouldn't buy it. Personally I would buy it again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/26/2013 7:27:00 PM More reviews by cameobear

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Oh creme de rose, what would I do without you! I use this lip balm twice daily- once in the morning, and again after showering at night. It is extremely hydrating on my dry lips. It is advertised as a lip plumper, but it definitely isn't in the traditional, tingly sense. However, with consistent use I have noticed my lips are a tad fuller, but I think that's because they're finally properly moisturized! Within the first month of use I went out of town for a weekend and forgot to pack it; my lips were in torture! I'm extremely addicted! I've had mine for about four months now, and with consistent twice daily use there's about half left. Unlike other reviewers, my lip balm hasn't lost it's pink color. I don't mind the packaging; its very cute, and I always wash my hands before using anyway. I also love the light rose scent. My only complaint is the price; $30 is sooo much for a lip balm! Thankfully it lasts a long time. I will dutifully repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/26/2013 3:47:00 AM More reviews by princess101

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

My HG lip treatment used to be La Roche Posay Ceralip. It hydrated well and prepped my lips sufficiently for other lip products but over the past 8 years it seems as though my lips just got used to it. This past winter my lips were a flakey, dry mess and nothing could soothe them. I purchased this on a whim and am so glad. This saved my dry, shrivly lips and turned them into plump, full, well-hydrated kissable lips again.
The price tag hurts but I stocked up during Sephora's VIB sale. After 2.5 months of twice daily use I have used about a 1/4 of the tub. I have not experienced the product turning yellow as others have noticed. This has officially become my favourite balm.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No