January 28, 2015 | 1511 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Paint Pot in Painterly

rated 4.3(967 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 81% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/22/2011 9:21:00 PM More reviews by dmcgeo1

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really like this product. It evens out the color on my lids and helps eyeshadows last. I don't have oily eyelids so I don't have problems with this creasing.
I prefer this over UD, though I haven't tried UD in Eden.
I also like to use this under my eyes or to cover pimples.
Overall, I would buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/22/2011 7:23:00 PM More reviews by littlegem

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I've been using this product for about 3 months now. I love love love it! I use as a primer for shadows and also as just a stand alone lid colour for when I'm working and need a minimal make up look (I'm a midwife). It has a light creamy consistency, dries Matt, rarely creases and evens out my pigmented lids. Makes any shadow colour truer. Would and do recommend to anyone

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/22/2011 7:16:00 PM More reviews by UrbanxGoddess

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

As a "collector" of paintpots I have to say this left me EXTREMELY disappointed. While I do have very oily lids I never have any other of my paintpots crease the way this does (except for the super glittery ones for last fall's Cham-pale collection). I really wanted to love it but.. this was way off the mark for me. I picked up Painterly after my Urban Decay Primer Potion started running low and have since ended up handing it off to a girlfriend of mine. Guess I will be going back to Sephora for another Primer Potion. This just doesn't really hold up well for oilier lids. Sorry.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/22/2011 2:06:00 PM More reviews by petrojulia

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

This has been my hg product for 4 months and I absolutely love it! My upper lids have very visible blueish veins, so clear primers don't work for me. Actually, I mainly use Painterly to give my upper lids a more even color. And it does that! It's just a plus that it works as a primer.
The texture is very good, dries quickly but not too quickly. I sometimes even use it as a concealer for my undereye circles. If MAC discontinued it, I'd start a petition I swear.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/20/2011 2:24:00 PM More reviews by bambigirl0512

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I am loving this paint pot. MAC really needs to work on making these in more shades. It can be used as a primer, or on it's own, I am NW 15/20 and this almost blends with my skin color. It just gives me a finished look. I also use it as a primer on the rare occasions when I actually use eyeshadow, and this helps the color stay in place. It applies creamy, and dries to a nice powdery finish.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2011 7:33:00 PM More reviews by lolomarie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I can't believe I hesitated so long to purchase this product! Spending $16.50 or so on this product didn't really seem to worth it to me at first, but now, I am SO glad I bought this product!
Pros: It evens out the skin tone on eyelid, MAKES SHADOWS LAST ALL DAY, packaging is cute :)
Cons: Price

This product is overall amazing and this was my first paint pot, and I definatley would like to get more! This product helps your shadows stay on longer, even if you have oily lids like me! I just use either my Elf primer or my UDPP and the paint pot on top of it and it lasts all day! Painterly is a must to your makeup collection!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/5/2011 2:37:00 PM More reviews by dreanicoley

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my first paint pot and so far I think its fabulous. So smooth and creamy but has staying power and creates a perfect canvass. I can see why people say it depends on skin tone and color, but I'm nc30 and its perfect. Price point isn't bad considering u get so friggin much product and u only use a minimal amount. I love urban decay primer but I have very oily lids so I use udpp to prime and this as a blank canvass.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/4/2011 8:06:00 PM More reviews by kathrynb23

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

One of my favourite Youtube guru Michele1218 use Painterly in one of her eye makeup tutorials that I really love, and I hear a lot of other mentioning it as well, soo instantly I knew this was one product I really needed to get.
I HATE IT! The formulation is really thick and dry, I swear you could use this as a concealer if you wanted to. It creases, hard to blend/spread. I know Michele1218 uses this as a base coat or a primer for her eye makeup, but for me, that just didn't happened, my eyeshadow doesn't stay on as well, and doesn't look as vibrant as I would like, and I blame that on the dry formula.
Despite buying this in Duty Free at Singapore Changi Airport, it was still quiet expensive, just another disappointment from MAC.
I hate to write something negative on a product that everyone loves, but I was geniunely disappointed in it. even wearing it as an eyeshadow on it own it still looked horrible, it made me look like I've got swollen eyes.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/28/2011 5:59:00 PM More reviews by Channingx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I love this product, it's become a staple in my make-up bag. It's multi-functional as both an eye shadow and an eye primer. I think the fact you can use it as an eye shadow gives it one up on UDPP.


As a primer it's worked brilliantly, no creasing or fading. Plus I feel like it gives more of a base to my shadows so they are more vibrant.


As a shadow it's a light wash of beige which looks good for a casual day look with some black liner.


At the moment I have both Mac Paint Pot and UDPP, but when it's comes down to having to repurchase a primer I'll be going for MAC. It works the same as UDPP but it has the added bonus of being a shadow as well, plus they're pretty much around the same price.


I'll definitely buy Painterly again and will be looking closely at MAC Paint Pots in the future. x

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/28/2011 3:53:00 PM More reviews by abbieabbieabbie16

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Price:
-$17 (in my opinion, that's really expensive)

Colour:
-It looks to be a really pretty nude in the jar, but when I applied it to my lids, it looked very red-toned && almost muddy. NOTE that when I applied this to my sister's eyelids (she is paler than me), it looked nice! So the colour will work sometimes, depending on your skin tone.

Texture:
-The texture is sticky to apply, && it stays sticky (it lessens a bit throughout the day, but not a lot)

Does it do the job?
-This creases a lot! I hadn't had any problems with my shadows creasing before (shadows I use are NYX && UD), but after only about 4 hours, they had creased with this underneath.

Packaging:
-I think the packaging feels sturdy && high quality. It has a glass jar with a twist top.
-When you near the end of the product, the jar packaging is inconvenient because it kind of cakes up against the sides && is hard to reach.

Other:
-I have never applied this with a brush, but to apply with your fingers, you have to apply a lot of pressure to your lids && the sticky formula causes you to pull on your lids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No