Dove Beauty Bar

4.4

906 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

sodium lauroyl isethionate, stearic acid, sodium tallowate or sodium palmitate, lauric acid, sodium isethionate, water, sodium stearate, cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium cocoate or sodium palm kernelate, fragrance, sodium chloride, tetrasodium edta, tetrasodium etidronate, titanium dioxide.


on 3/13/2010 3:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

I love the smell, my friend uses it for make up removal like all life.))



on 3/6/2010 9:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been suffering with different forms of acne all at the same time, red bumps, puss filled, and cystic. To combat the acne, I thought I should definitely use a cleanser with benzoyl peroxide, exfoliating beads, or salylic acid. And then I would apply a benzoyl peroxide gel treatment along with retin a at night. Let me tell you, my face did not clear, but became so irritated -- itching and burning me to the point of tears. I decided to eliminate using a cleanser with acne medicine in it and switch to ACNE.orgs cleanser, which is similar to the cetaphil cleanser. I still find that some make up is left over, so I love to use this as a gentle and effective way to cleanse my skin of impurities and dirt. Doesn't make my face tight after use, and never burns. I love this product and it sells for $1.00 a bar in my local Dollar Store. Can't beat that!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using crazy (probably way too harsh) facial cleansers in hopes of getting rid of my breakouts, and nothing has worked. After reading reviews on MUA, I figured I had to try it, especially with how cheap it is. I knew Dove was gentle but had never thought to use a bar soap as a facial cleanser. This stuff is super gentle, doesn't irritate my skin, has a nice lather and lovely clean scent, and my skin is way soft afterwards...and best of all..NO MORE BREAKOUTS!! It's a miracle. Granted I also use witch hazel toner and take D3 and Om3, but seriously, I'm pretty sure switching over to Dove has helped a lot too. Who knew after all these years that something that's been around forever and is so cheap would work the best. I also love it as a body soap too...try it...It could work for you too...

**Ok, I have to go back and re-edit. This worked for about a month with keeping my skin clear, along with my witch hazel and d3/om3 supplements. I don't know what happened, and I'm not saying this soap stopped working, but my breakouts are back, as well as clogged pores- who knows, could be stress, makeup, etc, but I will stress it's not a miracle product and breakouts will still happen. So while I still like this soap and find it fine to use on my face and of course my body, I'm not relying on it or feel it needs to be HG status. I am back to using other stuff, with this here and there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2010 12:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is for the Dove Face Bar. I think I heard that Dove is doing away with their skin care line so this may be hard to find. I couldn't find it at Target recently (which is where I bought it in the first place). Anyway, on to the review - I know it doesn't get a lot of love here on MUA but it works for me in sooooo many ways.

I have fair, combo skin with either reactive redness or rosacea (I have not been to a derm) and my skin tends to be very sensitive. I love how the face bar lathers into a silky creamy lather. It feels soft and luxurious. I use it mainly at night with my Clarisonic but have used it in the mornings as well. With Dove I get clean, soft, smooth skin with no irritation, reaction, etc. It also helps with the flakies.

I believe it may be HG - how do I know you may ask - because when I could no longer find it at Target I started to panic. I happened to be in Big Lots not too long ago and they had loads of it for $1.00 per bar. I scooped up 5 bars which should last some time. If I can't find anymore when I am done with these 5 I'll give the Sensitive Skin bar a try (which I also hear good things about).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2010 7:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This bar works wonderfully for me. I use it on my face as well as my body, and am seriously considering trying it on my scalp. I was intrigued by the commercials about not leaving soap scum, so I went to the site and saw a video on how that works. The cleansing agents in this bar do not react with the calcium in the water, so it doesn't form scum. In my case, it doesn't irritate, or leave deposits on, my skin. My skin is softer, smoother, and clear. The water is hard (calcium rich) where I live, and it usually wreaks havoc on my skin. I have eczema patches all over (including my face) and all over my scalp. Since I have been using this soap, they have diminished greatly. This is why I want to try it on my scalp. Looks like I have an experiment this weekend! EDIT** I tried it in my hair for a few days, and it actually worked well for my scalp. It wasn't quite moisturizing enough for my hair though, even with a good conditioner. Also, I found a 4 pack on sale, and with a dollar off coupon, got the 4 pack for $1.75!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2010 11:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After using it on my face for two weeks i think this is my HG. Other products (Drugstore) would make the side of my face itchy, and make the side of my nose dry to the point where my skin would "crack". it would feel the same as using tissues alot when youre sick. anywho, it has a great lather, leaves my skin so clean and smooth and has even deminished the little pimples which are under the skin. i team this with the dove face cream. PERFECT!
I have only tried Laura Mercier when it comes to department store brands. that was fine. but honestly, i cant be skrewd cleansing and toning, with dove i can simply use it in the shower while washing my body.


on 2/14/2010 11:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Best all-over body soap. Not drying at all, and leaves skin clean with no soapy traces.


on 2/14/2010 7:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My fav go to soap! Does not dry out my skin, smells good! <3...


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Well, being an teen, and an acne-sufferer, the first thing I did when I began breaking out was head to the chemist and damage my skin with products. Facial cleanser, toner, moisturiser, facial scrub, facial mask, spot treatment, facial wipes, gosh! the list was endless. Then my mom kicked some sense into me. Stop using all these products, she said. And I did. I used soap on my face instead, that too - only once a day in the shower. And this really cleared my skin up and left it soft and moisturised. And that soap was Dove. The scent is lovely, the lather is luxurious (just enough, not toooo lathery, that jus means its harsh with chemicals) the feeling it leaves on my skin is awesome. Soft, clear and clean skin. What more does one want? Thankyou Dove. If I could, I'd give it a gazillion stars.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2010 5:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have so many great things to say about this bar! It does everything, Cleanses, Moisturizes, Perfect for shaving, and after I use it I just feel super fresh and clean. I have not yet tried out Dove on my face but I am thinking about it, because all the facial cleansers I have tried just seem like glorified versions of laundry detergent. Well anyway, will update soon once I try this out on my face (:


Back to Top