September 19, 2014 | 1297 users online

Liquid - Bourjois - Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation

rated 4.1(389 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/24/2011 4:41:00 PM More reviews by ural0000

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I already liked the original healthy mix foundation, but had to use a primer underneath as it tended to emphasize the pores over my nose - with this one, Bourjois seem to have fixed that problem.

It's a semi-matte, light-ish coverage foundation - with a primer it doesn't quite last all day, but the staying power is still very decent. It looks by no means heavy and can be used just in patches to even out the skin tone without having to put on full "war paint".
51 Vanille Clair suits my fairly pale skin (again, this seems to be a better match than the original helathy mix).

I would say probably the best liquid foundation at drugstore/low-mid range level.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/23/2011 5:34:00 AM More reviews by poof126

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've always hated liquid foundation - I could never find a shade that matches perfectly, and there always seemed to be a problem - too greasy, or too dry, too much coverage, not enough coverage, and generally just looked fake. So before this I never really used liquid foundation, I survived with my trusty powder

I LOVE THIS! It's perfect perfect in every single way. Just enough coverage, but still looks exactly like skin. I'm using shade 53 and it matches my skin perfectly. Super easy to blend, and lasts a reasonable time, and doesn't rub off! Definitely repurchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/19/2011 8:15:00 PM More reviews by everysunflower

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Beautiful foundation. Feels very light, goes on so smoothly and blends very easily into the skin. It provides a light coverage, so if you're looking for heavy coverage - I wouldn't recommend it. But if you're looking for a foundation that basically evens out the skin-tone without looking like you're wearing foundation - I recommend it to you! It has a very natural-looking finish. Smells good and claims to be rich in vitamins! The packaging says the formula contains vitamins from lychee, pomegranate and goji berries. This foundation is only available in 6 shades, however. I wear 55 Dark Beige. It's a perfect match for my olive/tan skin. The only downside to this product is - as the day goes on, it gradually loses it's lustre/radiance.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/10/2011 7:14:00 AM More reviews by Basilic

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I don't usually wear foundation because I never like the way it feels and looks. I've tried different brands and they always sit on top of my skin looking cakey and obvious, either making it drier or shinier. This one is exceptional because it glides on so smoothly and blends in so well that you can't see it on your skin (even right up close to the mirror!). It gives light coverage, just enough to blur out uneven skin tone, reduce redness and give a really natural result, which is exactly what I want. It smells great, the slightly yellow based colour is perfect and the pump applicator is hygienic and gets all the product out efficiently. It's normally £10.99 but I got it for £7.99 in Superdrug.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/3/2011 2:38:00 PM More reviews by GillyTemple

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I'm basing this review on testing the product out in Superdrug today. :)

I really like this foundation. I decided to give Bourjois a try after I read their updated FAQ that they don't test on animals, a cause which I'm very passionate about. My favourite foundation is Clinique Even Better, however I'm questionable about their ethics despite them being on the PETA-approved list!

So after I spotted it in Superdrug, I was very impressed. The original Healthy Mix foundation claims to include extracts of apple, apricot, ginger and melon. Whereas the serum contains goji berry, lychee and pomegranate.

My skin tone is very fair with warm undertones, so I'd be a NW15 in MAC and the palest shade everywhere else. Majority of drugstore brands aren't very compatible for my skintone or type as I have very sensitive dry-combination skin which reacts to almost everything. Luckily, Bourjois range tailors for paler skin and has peach undertones, which is very flattering on pink and yellow skintones. It balances out my redness without making me look like a ghost. The finish is a natural matte, very similar to my fave Clinique, however unlike Clinique it doesn't completely sort out shininess. You will need to blot or use primer with this if you're self-conscious about your shine, but I find that with most foundations.

However, the main benefit of this very lightweight foundation is also it's only issue. Because it's so light, it's very sheer. This is excellent if you only really want light coverage here and there, and a feel similar to a tinted moisturiser. On the other hand, a lot of product needs to be used to get the maximum coverage. I have persistent redness on my blush line (a horizontal line from bridge of the nose to the cheekbones) and have developed a burst of stress-acne over the last few weeks, so I needed 3-4 layers of this product to cover it up to a "naturally fresh" effects. The great thing about this is that it is very buildable. My blush line, acne and under eyes had a much heavier amount than the rest of my face but you could hardly tell the difference.

The absolute beauty of this product is when my mother greeted me when I came home. She didn't notice I had any product on my face at all, and she can usually tell as it's the first thing she comments on!

For these reasons I'm giving this product 5 lippies. It's buildable, light, radiant and it has everything I want in a foundation. I will definitely purchase this when my Clinique runs out. Comparing the £21 for the Clinique and the £11 for the Bourjois, I will be saving a lot of money!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/14/2011 2:21:00 PM More reviews by doremina

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

It seemed like a great product at first - very good shades for me (my complexion is very yellow and fairly light) and natural looking light/medium coverage. When first applied it looks nice and dewy, but on my face it soon looks very, I mean very, greasy, even if I use it without moisturizer. It doesn't met off my face though - it stays put, but just looks terrible... It should be good for oily skin, I think they market it like that, but I honestly think it's for dry skin because the properties that made this foundation look greasy on me could give healthy glow to dry skin... right? Ether way, my skin is combination so I won't buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/10/2011 7:09:00 AM More reviews by sshirley

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this! Having never used the original Healthy Effects, or 10 hour Sleep Effect- I can't say how this compares - but in itself, this is fantastic.

Very sheer and glowy finish. Not so sheer that it looks oily- halfway between the flat matte and oily slicky look. It spreads into my skin seamlessly, like other reviewers have said: it looks like you're not wearing any foundation. I apply this with a Sigma Flatop Kabuki. Doesn't oxidise into anything nasty, I wore it for 4 hours without any blotting and touch-up and it sat very nicely.

Definitely not a foundation to buy if you're looking for heavy coverage- it's more if you want to even out blotchy skin, large pores or just a bit of ashen deadness.

A little pricey for a drugstore (Priceline in Aus. is $32) but having gone high end previously (Clinique, Chanel, Lancome) I definitely say this is worth a spin- totally comparable to the high-end stuff!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/3/2011 2:56:00 AM More reviews by msmanetti

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I am very pleased with this foundation, it suits me wonderfully. I am really glad I tried it on my hunt for foundation. Here is what I think:

Coverage - Light to medium, buildable but only to just above medium. Covers redness very well, I have dermatitis on my cheek every now and then and you would not know the red dots are there. The gel consistency seems to melt into your skin and even it out, acne scarring on my cheeks looks 80% better. If you use a finishing powder over the top this would definately give you medium to full coverage. Initially when applied it looks a little oily, but then when it sets/dries a few minutes later, gives a lovely 'normal' fresh, slightly dewy look. It really does look like your skin but better. Makes rough/dry/patchy spots look great, does not accentuate flaky bits in the least.

Feels: Lightweight on, not itchy for my extremely sensitive skin. Hasn't broken me out (like Gurlein did after one day of wearing it) but I don't wear it every day so my skin gets a rest. However if foundation hasn't broken me out after one day of wearing it, for me that is a resounding pass :)

Colours: A pretty good range for fair to medium neutral to warm skintones. 51 is Vanilla Clair, the lightest, I would say is a MAC 15 and the next one up 52 is Vanilla, NC25 (but obviously not that yellow toned). I am NC 20 (but not that yellow!) so I purchased 51 and 52 to mix - perfect :) This also didn't oxidise on me or change colour, the colour it was when I applied it, is the same many hours later. And just for reference I have tried Gurlein Lingerie de Peau recently which turned orange on me.

Lasting power - 4 to 5 hours the same as when it is applied, then I need to powder/blot again. I have combination skin, oily'ish t-zone and dry cheeks. No problem for me, I stay at home with kids at the moment so when I go out, it is rarely for longer than 6 hours :) If you are working all day, you might want a primer and take your powder with you :)

Application - I found it best with a kabuki brush (or any dense flatish topped brush). Foundation applicators, sponges didn't work for me, too sparse and really light coverage, Fingers worked fine too. I used moisturiser under this but I think it may not even be necessary and the gel like consistency is quite moisturising.

Cost: $26.50 with 20% off at Priceline. They often have sales and some reviewers have said below they sometimes have 50% off, so if you want to try, wait for one. Target also sells this and I have seen it on special once this year (2011) so far, but it could have been on special more often than that, not sure)

Package - Plastic pump pack, not at all tacky and quite nice looking.
My pump has not clogged and I have been using it for about two months now approx 2 times a week.

The only things I can think of is it doesn't have the 'heavy' make up look for a formal occasion, if you are like me and want to look a bit more 'made up' for a say a wedding, you might want something a little thicker in consistency. Also if you have oily skin to start with, blotting/powdering would be quite necessary. I don't know if this would melt off your face if you have really oily skin, it didn't off my nose :) but I am not super oily there.

This definately rivals high end department store foundations, gives me a flawless natural look, and I will definately repurchase. I will also try the Healthy Mix Foundation too next time. Note: The swatches I took of the HM Foundation compared to the HM Serum are slightly different, the latter are a little warmer toned than the Foundation, that being more 'neutral' on me.

For reference, I am neutral to warm skintone, fair to fair-medium - in other brands my closest matches are MAC NC20, Estee Lauder in between Bone and Desert Beige, Clarins Illuminating in Sand, Revlon Colorstay Buff (not quite that light/neutral/pasty though), and I have some acne scarring on my cheeks, dermatitis on cheeks near nose and mild to medium monthly pimples/acne.

Edit: I still love this foundation 100%, but have discovered some other things when playing around with it. I found that I need a light moisturiser underneath it. I tried it with a heavyish, greasy-feel like moisturiser and it didn't look as great. Still good, but harder to blend and slightly blotchy. Also, a white moisturiser seems necessary. I tried it with Maracuja oil underneath (yellowish), and the serum went on fantastic, but looked slightly darker/yellow even though the oil absorbs completely. Maybe the oil oxidises the serum? I also have changed to a flat/round top kabuki from Sigma (as my Manicare one leaked dye) and it looks like an absolute dream :)

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/9/2011 1:28:00 PM More reviews by nishikaigan

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I loooooove this foundation. It's the only one I'm ever going to buy again. (ok, I have to be honest, I tried to buy the brush foundation from Bourjois again, but it was out of stock. I'm glad it was, I'm mutch happier with this foundation)
It gives a beautiful coverage whithout looking cakey en stays put all day! It gives me a fresh and light complexion -I hope I use the right words, being not English and all- and it covers my freckles. They are not gone, but less visible.
I apply it in the morning and still look good in the afternoon.
After applying I use some loose powder from Yves Rocher and that is an great combination.
I'm 44 and I hate it how some foundations add shine to my face, putting a spotlight on my wrinkles :-) But too matt I also hate. This is just good for my skin.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/8/2011 4:07:00 PM More reviews by maclover333

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is similar to the original healthy mix liquid foundation exept i think this one would work better with oily skin. The reason i say that is because it is more of a gel consistancy and that would help counteract oilyness but i have dry combination skin so i can not say if it would work completely. I would still recommend setting it if you have oily skin though. I hope this helped xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No