April 25, 2014 | 1090 users online

Polishes - Essie - Mademoiselle

rated 4.4(377 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 80% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/19/2003 5:37:00 PM More reviews by Spanola28

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is one of the three Essie polishes I stockpile religiously. It's a bit more pigmented than Ballet Slippers and is in the same light milky pink family. Gives more of pink tint too. I guess all Essie polishes wear extra-long but I tend to stick to the nudes so i can't speak for the dark colors. Mademoiselle is version of Ballet Slippers for medium skin. So if Ballet Slippers was too light/white-ish for your taste but you want to stay in the same color family, try Mademoiselle.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/22/2003 9:57:00 AM More reviews by Rayvenn

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My favorite - "no nail polish" polish. I get many compliments on my nails when weraing this color because people think this is my natural nail color. A perfect sheer pink shade - I wear this all the time and will never be without it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/1/2003 10:48:00 PM More reviews by Quilley

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Mademoiselle is a very pale pink, your-nails-only-better shade. It is definately on my Holy Grail list and I wear it everyday. Still using my first bottle, which I have had for over a year. If you work in a conservative office, or just like a natural, healthy looking nail, this is it - simply classic.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/17/2002 12:08:00 PM More reviews by sues57

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I wrote a review of this quite a while ago, at that time, I LOVED Essie's colors. Now, because of the packaging, I will not buy Essie again, and I have about ten bottles now. The short white brush top cannot be gripped, the only way I can get the bottle open is to soak it in hot water, not something I feel like doing everytime I want to put a coat of polish on! I have Revlon and Estee Lauder polish, and I never have this problem with their longer brush tops. I HATE this sh*tty packaging. It's a shame, because otherwise, Essie a great nail polish. I just feel insulted by this horrible bottle design.

(Well, four years later, and I'm still using Essie. I still don't like the short brush, but hey, life's not perfect. I still love their pinks, they are my staple.)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/16/2002 12:21:00 PM More reviews by JGardella

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought this from Trade Secret. It is a very very sheer pink. Pretty, but I wish it was a bit more pigmented.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/14/2002 4:56:00 PM More reviews by alittleweirdo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this color in a swap, so not sure about retail price. Great natural looking pink color :) Also seems to last a long time without chipping.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/4/2002 12:51:00 AM More reviews by Gradle

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I really love Essie nailpolish, but I was a little disappointed in this color. I purchased it online thinking it would be a sheer pink, but on my nails it looks almost clear. Pretty if you're looking for a very, very sheer polish that adds the tiniest hint of pink.

Is this review helpful? Yes No