August 1, 2014 | 1265 users online

Tinted Moisturizer - Laura Mercier - Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 - Oil Free



image 0

rated 3.5(619 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 55% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 2/18/2010 5:10:00 PM More reviews by bettybu

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was on a hunt for a new tinted moisturizer, after concluding that maybe my mac TM was probably not the best for my pores. First of all, I love the mac TM. I barely feel it on my skin, and it doesn't make my freckles look grey. I think the light weight feel is due to the spf15... plus it doesn't smell like spf.

I went to Macy's during lunch and browsed various counters, I started at Dior and let them do my full make-up. Great service, but I felt like it was too thick. I went to work and my co-worker commented my freckles looked grey, and it didn't look as natural as before. I tried the sample another day and a friend said that it created lines on my face she never noticed with the mac TM, and admitted she never knew I even wore make up and thought my skin always looked great b4. So, thumbs down on the Dior brand TM but thumbs up on their Skinflash pen! I did buy that. I use it as a concealer and I think it made my trip to their counter worth it.

After that dissappointment, I went another day and collected various samples of TM from different counters, and so far, Laura Mercier oil-free TM is the best for my combination skin type.

Pros: My freckles don't look grey, it evens out my skin color pretty good. I don't have much acne problem and I just need minimal coverage to even out the pink tone. They reccommend I use one of those sponges to apply, (con) but I'm lazy in the AM and that takes time, so I just wash my hands and apply with my finger tips. Works great. If I do have time and want more coverage, I use the mac 187 Duo Fibre Brush (my favorite brush)...or the sponge.

Cons: it doesn't feel as light as mac, and it smells a little more like spf (probably because it's spf 20).

Overall: it's not as bad as others brands I've tried and I am hoping it is just plain better for my skin than mac. But ultimatly why I'm going to buy my first bottle tomorrow is that my co-worker looked at my face and then said, "you look really pretty today. your make-up looks nice," twice this week!

Mission accomplished.

P.S. If you are having a stressfilled day at work and work near a mall with cosmetic counters, you should go during your lunch break! Let them do your makeup, don't buy anything you don't really want, just take samples. Trust me, your stress level will go down. adn will walk back to work feeling a little more confident.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/17/2010 6:41:00 PM More reviews by BrownEyes01

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Got this as a sample from Sephora. I put it on today because it's a lazy day for me so I didn't want to do full makeup. Very little coverage which is expected. My only problem with it is that I keep smelling the sunscreen in it. Even as I am typing this I am just hoping that it does not give me a headache. Will not buy full size but at least I know I don't like it. Love samples.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/16/2010 5:42:00 AM More reviews by elmatic

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have fairly oily skin and this TM is absolutely fantastic. It blends it very well and evens out my skin. I wear it over an oil free sunscreen and swipe over some powder and it lasts for most of the day.

I'm a nude, Stila 50 watts and NC30

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/4/2010 3:21:00 PM More reviews by sas879

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this product! It has good coverage and light enough to wear everyday. You really dont need a foundation if you use this. It is kind of expensive but i lasts about six months. A little bit goes a long way.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/12/2010 6:28:00 PM More reviews by Aznavour

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

With acne-prone skin, I've been perfectly happy with my full-coverage MAC routine for years, and certainly wasn't looking for any sort of replacement. But then I tried this and, you know what, I'm really tempted.

Of course it doesn't compare to a real foundation in terms of coverage, but considering it's only a tinted moisturizer, it does a lovely job. Feels good, goes on smoothly, lasts all day. Good color match (I used Sand, and I'm MAC NC42).

I don't think it would completely replace my MAC but it would be a great alternate. If only it wasn't so expensive, I'd buy it in an instant.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/28/2009 2:29:00 PM More reviews by LuLuBells

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have never broken out because of this product and I have broken out from tons of different ones. This is one of those things you can put on very quickly and poof out the door you go! Never clogs my pores and stays on all day. I love the packaging as well. I received this in a gift set and wound up running out to get the full size! I have a very light shade and a little darker shade to mix and adjust the color as my tan comes and goes. Great for evening out skin and toning down the freckles!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/4/2009 3:41:00 PM More reviews by maw0808

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I am not a heavy makeup person, but a very picky one. I like MMU & this TM, and that's about it. My skin is combo, but can get REALLY oily at the drop of a hat. Example: the other night, went to an NFL game wearing this TM in Nude, and her liquid Mineral primer (LOVE it). I was sweating like CRAZY, and when this happens my face is usually the worst, therefore makeup is gone, etc.....I went to put my sweaty hand up to my forehead to wipe "perspiration", when low and behold - there was none. My normally oily face was the driest skin on my body. Truly amazing, love the combo of the mineral primer and this TM. Coverage is just as good as any foundation I have used in the past, but quick & easy. **EDIT** While I still like this, I realized that I am in between colors, so I would need to buy two and custom blend. The oil free version has a slight orange tint to their colors, so be careful of this. I did switch it to a 3 rating, because I do like it but it is a bit expensive for this type of product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/2/2009 7:47:00 PM More reviews by jcl925

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I prefer tinted moisturizers because they're not heavy and this one is no exception. I use the Nude shade and it blends really well with my skin tone. Just one application makes a big difference with evening up my skin. It gives me a bit of a glow too. The only thing from preventing me from buying this again is the price. $42 for a tinted moisturizer is really expensive for what it does. For that much it should have much greater coverage. I'll probably go back to Stila's tinted moisturizer after finishing this tube.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/18/2009 3:28:00 PM More reviews by thhighway

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This TM doesnīt work for me at all. I found that it is kinda difficult to spread and that after about 2 hours it turns a bit orange, especially if you put too much of it on. It does have more of a coverage compared to other TMs Iīve tried but the coverage still isnīt enough for me as I have old acne scars on my face. I have acne prone skin but I donīt know if this would cause break outs b/c I stopped using it for other reasons. I might just use it over the summer so I donīt waste my money. Will update if it causes skin problems.
EDIT: I recently started using this again. I tried to swap but Iīm in Chile right now and they wouldnīt let it leave the country. Anyway, so I figured I would give it another chance. I find the color better now, I guess Iīm more pale right now. Iīve been applying this with a skunk brush and I like the coverage more. I do feel that it doesnīt last very long though, after a few hours of ware I find I get oily and and the product kinda settles into pores and fades. I like wearing this on days when I donīt have much to do but still want to look better than when I have no makeup on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/10/2009 3:58:00 AM More reviews by kasho8763248

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

first of all
i hate wearing foundation everyday because i feel it gives me lots of under the skin blemishes so this is the second tinted moisturisor i have tried and i have stuck to it

pros:
i like the look of it
i feel it lasts long for a tinted moisturisor
has pretty good coverage for tm

cons:
looks oily close up
can be blotchy
very expensive

this is my main product i use every morning. i wish i cud find something less expensive although it does come with heaps. i use sand and its perfect match. i love it cuz i no how bad foundation is, and i haaaaaaaaaaaaate wearing foundation everyday. i bought this a second time only really because i ddnt have the patience to try any other, and cuz i havent relaly heard of any other good ones. i have heard good things about the normal one tho so i will try that next time :)
has anyone heard of any other good tm's??????



xxxxxxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No