November 23, 2014 | 1947 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Retro Matte - Ruby Woo

rated 4.4(530 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 85% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/30/2010 4:48:00 AM More reviews by soclutch

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I've swatched both Ruby Woo and Russian Red and I cannot personally tell the difference on myself, but the formula for Ruby Woo is dryer. For those like myself it is a good thing because it is long lasting and stays on all day even when I eat, drink, etc. It's a super blue-red and is the best I have used. I recommend this over Russian Red, but if a slightly creamier formula is what you are after then Russian Red is for you. Great Product and would buy again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/18/2010 12:51:00 AM More reviews by paigemoe

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Perfect red! Definitely my HG red lipstick. I took one lippy off since it is a bit drying, but that is to be expected since it is a matte.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/12/2010 8:02:00 PM More reviews by MyChanelScalpel

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

After trying all of MAC's red and Chanel's Gabrielle, I was convinced that red was a colour I would just never be able to pull off. Disappointed, I gave up the idea of ever donning a red lip until I B2M one day during replens and Ruby Woo was finally in stock. I bought it, expecting the worst, only to find my HG red. One tip, though: Apply with a lip brush, mattes are sometimes difficult to work with and to apply an even coat over your entire lip a brush will work much better than slapping the product on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/12/2010 12:57:00 AM More reviews by littleflip66

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I'd been searching for a red lipstick that wouldn't look too tacky and garish against my tan Filipino skin, and after reading a bunch of reviews on this site, I bought this lipstick today. I'm wearing it right now, and I'd like to note that my search for the perfect red lipstick is over. I can totally see why everyone loves this lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/10/2010 2:20:00 PM More reviews by lleux

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I really love this lipstick. I've never owned one of the Retro Matte formulas before and I chose Ruby Woo because Robert Smith has spoken in interviews about wearing it. Sometimes I think that red lipstick can look garish and I really dislike that effect. This one doesn't. It flatters my skintone very well without clashing, and I imagine it would look really nice on girls/boys with pale, pale skin. The MAC artist that sold it to me warned me to cap it ASAP after using because it can dry out extremely easily, so that's good to know. <3

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/7/2010 4:40:00 AM More reviews by Asti1234

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have recently started getting into brighter and darker lipsticks (thanks MUA'ers!) and decided to try Ruby Woo. I bought it without testing which was daring. However I LOVE it! I am warm, tanned toned with dark hair and eyes so I was worried it might be more suitable for cooler toned ladies. I was wrong! It looks lovely with my skin tone thankfully. I prime my lips with soft ochre paint pot then apply straight from the tube. I want to get cherry lip liner though. The real test was my fella. I went to pick him up from work as usual. He looked straight at me. Looked away. Looked back at me again and said 'YEAH, I like it!!!' I'm not sure if it might be more suitable for nights out rather than daily wear for me, I'm usually such a nude lip kind of girl so it's very dramatic on me IMO. Lasts AGES, a little drying but I put some clear lipglass on top and it was fine. Reckon it will last ages as it's highly pigmented. Loving the RUBY WOO! XXX

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/27/2010 1:51:00 AM More reviews by SLuu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I LOVE THIS LIPSTICK!!!! It goes very well with my pale-olive skin!! When choosing a red lipstick, especially when you have olive Asian skin, be careful on choosing too bright of a red; like poppy red, because it the two colors don't really clash together! ex. Russian red. This shade is perfect! This lipstick stays on for a long time and makes my lip feel glamorous. I've seen a bunch of girls in MAC trying this shade and russian red, and trust me, majority of you girls look better in this color.....i would repurchase

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/21/2010 3:32:00 PM More reviews by Brownye20

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Dark, Cool Hair: Other, Relaxed, Other Eyes: Black

For the time in my life I have finally found the perfect red lippie that does not make my lips look huge and it actually show red on my lips. I am an NC50 I have struggle to find the perfect red l/s. Rudy Woo gives my that old Hollywood glam pin-up look. Luv It!!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/15/2010 6:54:00 PM More reviews by sarahmargeurite

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this product. The colour is spot on for my skin tone and really helps with the whole pin-up girl/rockabilly look I love. The only problem is that it can get dry and kind of chalky, but this is much less of a problem if you use MAC Lip Prep + Prime. I use it with the cherry lipliner. The colour stays on for ages.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/14/2010 3:53:00 PM More reviews by sohvi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

If you look for a blue-based red that's MATTE (really matte), Ruby Woo's for you!
Yes, it dries out your lips and yes, if you haven't prepared your lips well enough before applying it, it will cling to each and every crease... I still give it 5 lippies because there's just no comparable lipstick out there. It looks simply gorgeous. It's matte and will stay put. The smell (vanilla) is nice.
The price is alright and the packaging is simple but elegant.

One of my HG products (and my favourite red lipstick).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No