July 28, 2014 | 2058 users online

Liquid - Bourjois - Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation

rated 4.1(375 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/3/2011 2:38:00 PM More reviews by GillyTemple

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I'm basing this review on testing the product out in Superdrug today. :)

I really like this foundation. I decided to give Bourjois a try after I read their updated FAQ that they don't test on animals, a cause which I'm very passionate about. My favourite foundation is Clinique Even Better, however I'm questionable about their ethics despite them being on the PETA-approved list!

So after I spotted it in Superdrug, I was very impressed. The original Healthy Mix foundation claims to include extracts of apple, apricot, ginger and melon. Whereas the serum contains goji berry, lychee and pomegranate.

My skin tone is very fair with warm undertones, so I'd be a NW15 in MAC and the palest shade everywhere else. Majority of drugstore brands aren't very compatible for my skintone or type as I have very sensitive dry-combination skin which reacts to almost everything. Luckily, Bourjois range tailors for paler skin and has peach undertones, which is very flattering on pink and yellow skintones. It balances out my redness without making me look like a ghost. The finish is a natural matte, very similar to my fave Clinique, however unlike Clinique it doesn't completely sort out shininess. You will need to blot or use primer with this if you're self-conscious about your shine, but I find that with most foundations.

However, the main benefit of this very lightweight foundation is also it's only issue. Because it's so light, it's very sheer. This is excellent if you only really want light coverage here and there, and a feel similar to a tinted moisturiser. On the other hand, a lot of product needs to be used to get the maximum coverage. I have persistent redness on my blush line (a horizontal line from bridge of the nose to the cheekbones) and have developed a burst of stress-acne over the last few weeks, so I needed 3-4 layers of this product to cover it up to a "naturally fresh" effects. The great thing about this is that it is very buildable. My blush line, acne and under eyes had a much heavier amount than the rest of my face but you could hardly tell the difference.

The absolute beauty of this product is when my mother greeted me when I came home. She didn't notice I had any product on my face at all, and she can usually tell as it's the first thing she comments on!

For these reasons I'm giving this product 5 lippies. It's buildable, light, radiant and it has everything I want in a foundation. I will definitely purchase this when my Clinique runs out. Comparing the £21 for the Clinique and the £11 for the Bourjois, I will be saving a lot of money!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/14/2011 2:21:00 PM More reviews by doremina

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

It seemed like a great product at first - very good shades for me (my complexion is very yellow and fairly light) and natural looking light/medium coverage. When first applied it looks nice and dewy, but on my face it soon looks very, I mean very, greasy, even if I use it without moisturizer. It doesn't met off my face though - it stays put, but just looks terrible... It should be good for oily skin, I think they market it like that, but I honestly think it's for dry skin because the properties that made this foundation look greasy on me could give healthy glow to dry skin... right? Ether way, my skin is combination so I won't buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/10/2011 7:09:00 AM More reviews by sshirley

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this! Having never used the original Healthy Effects, or 10 hour Sleep Effect- I can't say how this compares - but in itself, this is fantastic.

Very sheer and glowy finish. Not so sheer that it looks oily- halfway between the flat matte and oily slicky look. It spreads into my skin seamlessly, like other reviewers have said: it looks like you're not wearing any foundation. I apply this with a Sigma Flatop Kabuki. Doesn't oxidise into anything nasty, I wore it for 4 hours without any blotting and touch-up and it sat very nicely.

Definitely not a foundation to buy if you're looking for heavy coverage- it's more if you want to even out blotchy skin, large pores or just a bit of ashen deadness.

A little pricey for a drugstore (Priceline in Aus. is $32) but having gone high end previously (Clinique, Chanel, Lancome) I definitely say this is worth a spin- totally comparable to the high-end stuff!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/3/2011 2:56:00 AM More reviews by msmanetti

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I am very pleased with this foundation, it suits me wonderfully. I am really glad I tried it on my hunt for foundation. Here is what I think:

Coverage - Light to medium, buildable but only to just above medium. Covers redness very well, I have dermatitis on my cheek every now and then and you would not know the red dots are there. The gel consistency seems to melt into your skin and even it out, acne scarring on my cheeks looks 80% better. If you use a finishing powder over the top this would definately give you medium to full coverage. Initially when applied it looks a little oily, but then when it sets/dries a few minutes later, gives a lovely 'normal' fresh, slightly dewy look. It really does look like your skin but better. Makes rough/dry/patchy spots look great, does not accentuate flaky bits in the least.

Feels: Lightweight on, not itchy for my extremely sensitive skin. Hasn't broken me out (like Gurlein did after one day of wearing it) but I don't wear it every day so my skin gets a rest. However if foundation hasn't broken me out after one day of wearing it, for me that is a resounding pass :)

Colours: A pretty good range for fair to medium neutral to warm skintones. 51 is Vanilla Clair, the lightest, I would say is a MAC 15 and the next one up 52 is Vanilla, NC25 (but obviously not that yellow toned). I am NC 20 (but not that yellow!) so I purchased 51 and 52 to mix - perfect :) This also didn't oxidise on me or change colour, the colour it was when I applied it, is the same many hours later. And just for reference I have tried Gurlein Lingerie de Peau recently which turned orange on me.

Lasting power - 4 to 5 hours the same as when it is applied, then I need to powder/blot again. I have combination skin, oily'ish t-zone and dry cheeks. No problem for me, I stay at home with kids at the moment so when I go out, it is rarely for longer than 6 hours :) If you are working all day, you might want a primer and take your powder with you :)

Application - I found it best with a kabuki brush (or any dense flatish topped brush). Foundation applicators, sponges didn't work for me, too sparse and really light coverage, Fingers worked fine too. I used moisturiser under this but I think it may not even be necessary and the gel like consistency is quite moisturising.

Cost: $26.50 with 20% off at Priceline. They often have sales and some reviewers have said below they sometimes have 50% off, so if you want to try, wait for one. Target also sells this and I have seen it on special once this year (2011) so far, but it could have been on special more often than that, not sure)

Package - Plastic pump pack, not at all tacky and quite nice looking.
My pump has not clogged and I have been using it for about two months now approx 2 times a week.

The only things I can think of is it doesn't have the 'heavy' make up look for a formal occasion, if you are like me and want to look a bit more 'made up' for a say a wedding, you might want something a little thicker in consistency. Also if you have oily skin to start with, blotting/powdering would be quite necessary. I don't know if this would melt off your face if you have really oily skin, it didn't off my nose :) but I am not super oily there.

This definately rivals high end department store foundations, gives me a flawless natural look, and I will definately repurchase. I will also try the Healthy Mix Foundation too next time. Note: The swatches I took of the HM Foundation compared to the HM Serum are slightly different, the latter are a little warmer toned than the Foundation, that being more 'neutral' on me.

For reference, I am neutral to warm skintone, fair to fair-medium - in other brands my closest matches are MAC NC20, Estee Lauder in between Bone and Desert Beige, Clarins Illuminating in Sand, Revlon Colorstay Buff (not quite that light/neutral/pasty though), and I have some acne scarring on my cheeks, dermatitis on cheeks near nose and mild to medium monthly pimples/acne.

Edit: I still love this foundation 100%, but have discovered some other things when playing around with it. I found that I need a light moisturiser underneath it. I tried it with a heavyish, greasy-feel like moisturiser and it didn't look as great. Still good, but harder to blend and slightly blotchy. Also, a white moisturiser seems necessary. I tried it with Maracuja oil underneath (yellowish), and the serum went on fantastic, but looked slightly darker/yellow even though the oil absorbs completely. Maybe the oil oxidises the serum? I also have changed to a flat/round top kabuki from Sigma (as my Manicare one leaked dye) and it looks like an absolute dream :)

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/9/2011 1:28:00 PM More reviews by nishikaigan

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I loooooove this foundation. It's the only one I'm ever going to buy again. (ok, I have to be honest, I tried to buy the brush foundation from Bourjois again, but it was out of stock. I'm glad it was, I'm mutch happier with this foundation)
It gives a beautiful coverage whithout looking cakey en stays put all day! It gives me a fresh and light complexion -I hope I use the right words, being not English and all- and it covers my freckles. They are not gone, but less visible.
I apply it in the morning and still look good in the afternoon.
After applying I use some loose powder from Yves Rocher and that is an great combination.
I'm 44 and I hate it how some foundations add shine to my face, putting a spotlight on my wrinkles :-) But too matt I also hate. This is just good for my skin.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/8/2011 4:07:00 PM More reviews by maclover333

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is similar to the original healthy mix liquid foundation exept i think this one would work better with oily skin. The reason i say that is because it is more of a gel consistancy and that would help counteract oilyness but i have dry combination skin so i can not say if it would work completely. I would still recommend setting it if you have oily skin though. I hope this helped xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/28/2011 2:03:00 PM More reviews by vloterbiegje

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Oops I did it again. I read so many good reviews online on this new Bourjois foundation that I went to the store, tested the lightest colour on my jaw line and bought it. The problem with testing a foundation on your jaw line in artificial lights is you can still have the colour wrong. And as it was with my Bourjois Matte and Lovely foundation, here again the lightest shade was a little too ... peachy for me. Not really orange, but actually peachy. I still wear the foundation though, the bottle wasn't that cheap and when I self-tan, the colour isn't too far off. Still, I know my face colour and when I apply this foundation generously, it just looks a tad wrong.
Anyhow, I won't repurchase because Bourjois doesn't have the right shade for me. Other than that, this foundation is quite nice. I have oily skin and this doesn't make it worse or break me out. It has light to medium (buildable) coverage, and a natural finish. Not matte, not satiny, just natural. Which, I discovered now, I quite like, especially for summer. Also, this stuff holds up pretty good. If you blot once in a while, it might even stay on for 16 hours like it says.
This foundation feels really comfortable on the skin. It does not change the condition of my skin in a good way, but I had not really expected that and overall I'm just happy that it doesn't change my skin in a bad way and doesn't seem to interfere with my skin care regime.
So I guess next summer I'll start searching for something like this but with better shades.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/23/2011 10:46:00 PM More reviews by leung

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

The best thing about this foundation is that it smells like lychee! Very lightweight and easy to apply. However, provides almost no coverage, probably lighter than a tinted moisturiser. I look for coverage in a foundation and therefore not repurchasing and sticking with my RMK foundation!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/20/2011 5:43:00 PM More reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Grey

Pretty good foundation. It smells amazing (similar to the Healthy Mix foundation) and I just love the liquidy consistency. It offers medium coverage so it is in no way similar to a tinted moisturizer. It's really easy to blend and seems to cover all minor imperfections really well. I like it better than the foundation because it seems more moisturizing and my dry skin really needs all the moisture it can get. I have the shade #51 which is the lightest one but I would prefer if it was even a bit lighter (I have NW15 skin).
The bottle is nice, doesn't look cheap or expensive, just like a regular foundation. It has a pump that hasn't clogged yet so that's good (I'm looking at you Diorskin Nude). I really wish it had SPF, but I will probably still repurchase.
I like it because its finish seems slightly less matte than that of the HM foundation, but i still prefer the ''10-hour sleep effect'', mostly because I am a fan of lighter coverage though.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/12/2011 10:47:00 PM More reviews by kaejlarh92

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is definitely my favourite foundation. I bought it at Priceline for $28 after hunting around for a foundation that matches my skin tone and this is the one! Perfect match. My colour is #52 Vanilla. It comes out looking a lot lighter but once it blends in, it looks perfect. Covers red marks perfectly without concealer! Although I still use a good concealer just incase. Easy to dispense with the pump, and one pump does my whole face so a little goes a long way. I do set it with a powder as my skin can look a little ick at the end of the day and the powder helps. But overall, I absolutely love this and will definitely be buying this again when I run out :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No