April 21, 2014 | 866 users online

Eye Primer - Urban Decay - Eyeshadow Primer Potion - Original (UDPP)

rated 4.3(5798 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/22/2009 6:58:00 PM More reviews by xxxhoneybflyxxx

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I love, love this stuff. For the record, I don't have dry eyelids, they're not super oily but it is there.

Now, I tested this on one eye with shadow on and one eye without the primer potion and applied shadow. The one with primer made my eye shadow look flawless after 8 hours, while the other one was creasing!

This has no shimmer, no smell and for $18 Canadian at Sephora. If you want your eyeshadows to look it's best and more vibrant, you absolutely need to buy this.

It loses points on the packaging however. There is so much left when you cut the tube up. Not looking forward to that!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/22/2009 3:19:00 PM More reviews by dork

Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

Uh yea, sorry to ruin this parade but this stuff is just a big pile of purple tube garbage. First of all the packaging is crappy. If you think you finished this product, think again. Go get a knife and cut it open, and you'll see what i'm talking about. Second of all, it's a PAIN IN THE A** to blend. I found that once I place my eyeshadow on one spot and try to work with it, my shadow won't budge! I've tried and tried with this stuff, but I just can't blend my shadow properly with it. I gave it the extra lippie because it did in fact make my shadow crease proof. I left the house at 7am and returned home at 6pm, took a look in the mirror, and my shadow still looked vibrant and fresh. No creases.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/21/2009 6:03:00 PM More reviews by skydive33

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Good stuff, does what it says and makes eyeshadow stay for hours and hours. What I don't like is the packaging, what a waste!!! I would have repurchased this if I ever ran out, but I don't feel like losing a finger or two by trying to be economical and slicing this thing open. For one dollar more, I'd rather try Too Faced Shadow Insurance instead.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/21/2009 4:27:00 PM More reviews by chuugle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This stuff works! My eyelids are super oily and usually 2 hours into the day my eyeshadow and eyeliner creeps onto my eyebone. But with the primer potion, it stays put and keeps looking fresh all day!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/21/2009 4:14:00 PM More reviews by fatbottmdgrl

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Ok, let me add my 2 cents to the all the reviews.

This is the BEST of the bunch, no creasing, smudging, smearing of any e/s from the very cheapest to the most expensive. Yes, the packaging is horrible and surgery needs to be performed at some point, but since UD hasn't changed the packaging and even issued a new version in the same packaging they obviously don't mean to change it anytime soon.

This goes on opaque, holds onto eyeshadow like iron and comes off clean at the end of the day. Enough said!

$16 USD

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2009 11:43:00 AM More reviews by MsCosmetics

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Having only recently started using primers, I bought a few to try out.
I had a small 'trial' sample I suppose that came free with some urban decay eyeshadows, and the first couple of applications I could not see what the fuss was about. It went on sort of watery & I found it made my eyeshadows go on 'tacky' & really difficult to blend.
I then got a full sized version of the primer & gave that a go and wow what a difference! It went on smoothly, dried quickly and my eyeshadows went on easily, not awkward to blend and the colours looked amazing - so much more vibrant!
I now think this is the best of the bunch I've bought. Packaging is terrible & fiddly but the product makes up for it.
I'll be cutting it open when the time comes to get that extra product out!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2009 9:51:00 AM More reviews by theseahag

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I could probably count on one hand the number of times I've worn eyeshadow over the last few years, mainly because it never ever lasts. Although the rest of my skin is normal-dry, it seems I have very oily eyelids and eyeshadow usually slides off in a couple of hours. I've tried other primers and powders before but they haven't worked. After reading a load of rave reviews of UDPP I thought I'd give it a try.

So, I decided to do a test. Yesterday I wore eyeshadow without UDPP. 3 hours after application the colour had gone and my eyelids just looked a bit dark and shiny. You couldn't tell what colour it had been. Today I used the same eyeshadow [UD Smog] with UDPP. The colour seemed a bit more vibrant going on, and it definitely has staying power. It's now 6 hours after application and it looks the same as it did this morning. So it definitely does the job!

The only thing I'm not all that impressed with is the packaging. As a lot of other people have commented, the shape of the tube means you can never get it all out with the wand, and I've seen exactly how much extra you can get out by cutting it open. Which you really shouldn't have to do.

Overall though, LOVE it. Basically it means I can now wear eyeshadow, which was a waste of time in the past. A new HG product for me!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/20/2009 9:40:00 PM More reviews by koolaidd

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

best eyeshadow primer in the market! keeps my oily lids from creasing my shadow and makes the color appear more vibrant and lasts the whole day! only problem is the packaging

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/20/2009 8:33:00 PM More reviews by lovenoemie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this after reading all the rave reviews here and find it to be just ok. I love that this keeps my eyeshadow from creasing, especially since I have oily eyelids, but the packaging is really disappointing. There is no way anyone will be able to get all of the product out of this tube. Overall, I like it, but will probably never purchase again because of the packaging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/20/2009 6:56:00 PM More reviews by ljlw0629

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Sorry to rain on the parade for this product. I bought it based on rave reviews; however, I find it merely okay and will not repurchase. First, I do not like the packaging - no way you can get all the product. Second and most important, my eyelids are pigmented and I want a primer that gives a nice neutral canvas. Urban Decay is too sheer unless I layer it on and even then, I do not like the results. Until I find something I like better, I will stick with my Clinique touch base, the only Clinique product I have stayed with over the years. I can actually use just the touch base and a bit of mascara for an almost no makeup look - cannot do that with UDPP.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No