October 2, 2014 | 1768 users online

Makeup Brushes - Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman - Expert Face Brush

rated 4.6(382 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 90% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/14/2012 10:40:00 AM More reviews by missvox2

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

This is such a handy and versatile brush. I am loving the size and shape of this brush. Its a unique size which I have not seen in other lines. The bristle are so fluffy soft and not too dense like Sigma or sharp feeling as Ecotools. I use it for blending and buffing on foundation or concealer as it make application so easy. You can use this to highlight and contour as well. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/13/2012 1:50:00 PM More reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is great for the cream or cream to powder fdn.; similar to the Sephora Profession Platinum series #56 but better, much much better. You can stipple, buff, or even apply powder fdn. with this. Cream to powder fdn. can be trickly to apply at times and this brush does the job nicely, with ease. I also use it to stipple on concealer for those larger areas. Not to mention at 1/5 the price.
The only complaint is the big fat non-functional end of the handle, I wish there is a pencil sharpener to thin it out.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/13/2012 1:18:00 PM More reviews by Madwilso

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I, like everyone else, adore this brush. I'm not a huge make up brush snob, but I also don't fault people for spending the big bucks on brushes (I own a few MAC brushes). I find that mostly you get what you pay for, with the exception of the Real Technique brushes, these are amazing for the price.
I love how soft the bristles are, but my favorite thing is that it is truly a 1-brush-that-does-every-thing-for-every-type-of-face-product item. I am super low maintenance (some people might say lazy) when it comes to my make up. You can start with a bare face and use it for liquid/cream/powder foundation, then use it for liquid/cream/powder highlighter or bronzer or blush without having to clean it or swap it for a different type. It blends everything so wonderfully.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/9/2012 4:26:00 AM More reviews by pashmeash

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

this is a completely fabulous brush. it can buff in virtually anything you want - liquid, cream or powder foundations, contour, highlighter or blush. it's relatively dense so it can really get on in there and get the product right where you want it, as flawless-looking as you want it. the shape makes it extremely versatile - as i said, not many brushes can can do foundation AND contour, but it's like this brush was made for both. i haven't experienced any problems with shedding and it really is as soft as everyone keeps talking about. the handle is a little big and would probably be the worst thing i could say about it. drying time after washing is also relatively quick. i mainly use this for my bb cream or foundation on a daily basis and it has taken over my sponge as my favourite application method.



considering how cheap this is ($9 on iherb), this brush is a STEAL. DO IT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/23/2012 1:06:00 AM More reviews by wickedcoolmama

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i have been reaching for this brush more than any other brush since i have gotten it 2 months ago. i use it for foundation application and or concealer. some days i skip foundation and just use concealer under my eyes and around the nose and other spots...this brush is good for putting on all my base makeup. it is so soft and does not feel prickly even when i stipple, washes easily...unlike the sigmax brushes which i find pretty hard to clean. i like everything about this brush except the wide rubber handle at the bottom. it is hard to fit in my brush holder...takes up so much space so i just stand it up on its own with my other real techniques brush but it gets knocked off every time i reach for something on top of my vanity during makeup application..so i wish the handle was constructed like traditional brushes. other than this complaint, i love it! i am tempted to go buy another one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/1/2012 3:06:00 PM More reviews by dizzielittlerascal

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is, IMO, the gem of the Real Techniques brushes. Out of all the brushes I own to apply foundation, this is my favourite. It applies and blends any liquid foundation like a dream, feels very soft, and cleans and dries fabulously. Anyone wanting a brush to apply foundation - or even cream blushers - get this! Its not expensive and should last you too. Not had one single hair drop out. I have had mine since launch and I am so pleased with it. The only time I do not use it is when I have an active breakout as I wouldn't want to irritate it further (yes it is soft but any brush irritates my spots). I have owned/do own the Sigma F80, RT Buffing and Stippling Brushes, Mac 130, and this beats them all.

And yes, I do hate the handle but we can't have it all!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/29/2012 12:43:00 PM More reviews by preeti33

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is indeed an expert face brush. I particularly use it for my cream foundation which gets blended by this pretty thing very easily. Earlier I was using a foundation brush but that used to take a long time to blend in. I am not a very patient person when it comes to makeup. I mean I cannot spend 15 min just to blend my under eye concealer and foundation. It comes as a blessing for people like me who wants to apply heavy coverage foundation in literally 2 min! Also it gives a flawless natural finish. I am just too excited :) I am yet to wash it so doesnt know how long does it take to dry

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/26/2012 10:18:00 AM More reviews by aspirationfailure

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Love this brush!! The texture is perfect, soft but firm. It's perfectly awesome for applying liquid or creme foundation. I love the handle and the sleek look.. it goes great along with my MAC brushes. Using this brush with my foundation (NARS Sheer Glow mostly), gives a perfectly flawless finish. The price is excellent. I would like to try other products in this line.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/25/2012 7:03:00 AM More reviews by Princessngirl

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have only had this brush for two weeks and am still learning to use it. So far, I LOVE IT. I didn't find the RT video tutorial all that helpful, so I am learning as I go.

The expert face brush seems to be the first brush I have owned that gives me a softer application of Jane Iredale (handi brush did nothing for me) Pure Pressed Base, which I occasionally wear. This brush allows my TM to go on w complete ease, for a lovely finish. I use it a great deal for buffing, which seems to be its original intent. I have had some blush errors of late and we are in such a heatwave that I have had to powder before I go out. This brush smooths it all out. The smallish head makes it easier to fit it into some of the dips in my skin texture.

What I really love about this brush line is how easy it is to clean. Because they are synthetic (I think), makeup doesn't cling to the brush as deeply or heavily as others. It cleans and dries quickly.

Definitely I recommend it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/23/2012 3:19:00 AM More reviews by SoxxxTiffanyxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This brush is far my fav in the whole real techniques brushes, i feel this one brush can be used as so many other things. i love it for applying liquid foundations, the application is so easy and even. then i also use it to blend under eye concealer, as well as to buff in some powder and to contour! i love it so much, its so affordable to high quality, honestly i think sigma has nothing to beat this brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No