August 23, 2014 | 1835 users online

Makeup Brushes - Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman - Expert Face Brush

rated 4.6(374 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 89% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/25/2012 7:03:00 AM More reviews by Princessngirl

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have only had this brush for two weeks and am still learning to use it. So far, I LOVE IT. I didn't find the RT video tutorial all that helpful, so I am learning as I go.

The expert face brush seems to be the first brush I have owned that gives me a softer application of Jane Iredale (handi brush did nothing for me) Pure Pressed Base, which I occasionally wear. This brush allows my TM to go on w complete ease, for a lovely finish. I use it a great deal for buffing, which seems to be its original intent. I have had some blush errors of late and we are in such a heatwave that I have had to powder before I go out. This brush smooths it all out. The smallish head makes it easier to fit it into some of the dips in my skin texture.

What I really love about this brush line is how easy it is to clean. Because they are synthetic (I think), makeup doesn't cling to the brush as deeply or heavily as others. It cleans and dries quickly.

Definitely I recommend it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/23/2012 3:19:00 AM More reviews by SoxxxTiffanyxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This brush is far my fav in the whole real techniques brushes, i feel this one brush can be used as so many other things. i love it for applying liquid foundations, the application is so easy and even. then i also use it to blend under eye concealer, as well as to buff in some powder and to contour! i love it so much, its so affordable to high quality, honestly i think sigma has nothing to beat this brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/18/2012 5:41:00 AM More reviews by amoxon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This brush is great, I use this with liquid foundations and it's far better than traditional foundation brushes in my opinion. It is lovely and soft, and it definitely makes your foundation go a lot further.
I clean this after every couple of uses to keep it really nice and soft, as I find foundation does buildup quite quickly.
really recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/9/2012 2:20:00 PM More reviews by taurusdragonfly

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Brown

I like this brush a lot - almost as much as my Ulta sculpted brush. It's just slightly less plush and dense than the Ulta brush. But it's also much cheaper and dries quickly. In fact, I have been reaching for it more often bc I wash it more frequently and it's always dry by the next time I use it. It has shed a little, leaving behind a few strands in my cream foundation, but very minor. The weighted end is nice - feels good and controllable in my hand. I use this brush for powder and cream-to-powder application. It leaves a smooth, light, natural finish w/o depositing or wasting product. I hardly ever use anything liquid, so I can't speak to its application of liquid foundation. I store my brushes in a flat long container, so the wide handle doesn't bother me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/9/2012 2:04:00 PM More reviews by MasksOffMasksOn

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this! It's just like a kabuki brush, very full and dense, only with short hairs and a long handle. So it's especially great reaching those small areas where a regular kabuki is too big for reaching. It works perfect with applying either mineral makeup or liquid makeup, and I find it's finish really smooth, with no brush traces. Really easy to work with! BUT I did take one star off and here is why: After powdering I like doing my contours with a dark mineral makeup and a kabuki brush, but since this brush smaller than a regular Kabuki, I find it very hard to bland and spread the product nicely. So, bottom line- Great for any kind of foundation, Bad for contouring.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/6/2012 8:18:00 AM More reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I've also got the Sephora Professional #55 (the "old" one with the silver handle) and I have to say that even putting aside the whole issue of price difference, I prefer the Real Techniques brush. I find it doesn't seem to soak up as much product (liquid foundation - presently, either MAC Pro Longwear or Guerlain Lingerie de Peau) as the #55. It is easier to clean and it seems to dry much more quickly. But most importantly, the results are SPECTACULAR. I first used this brush with my Pro Longwear foundation and that one can be a bit tricky to blend, as it is a long wearing/hard-setting product. But with the Expert Face Brush, my foundation blended out quickly and seamlessly and you would have been hard pressed to know that I was wearing any foundation at all, except that all my "issues" (redness, broken capillaries) were "whooshed away".

My only criticism of these brushes is the flare-ended handles. I know they are designed that way so they'll stand on your vanity but, really, does anyone actually store their brushes like that? I put mine in an office pen holder thingy and these wide, blunt handles are annoying but I will overlook that one small flaw because of the quality and value and real results that these brushes give.

Like all of my RT brushes, this would be a terrific brush at 3 or 4 times the price. Considering that it's under 10 dollars, it becomes even more amazing.

UPDATE: (Feb 2013) I had my husband pick me up a second one of these and get one for my daughter as well - that's how great it is and how much I like using it. I recently purchased the Shiseido foundation brush and I think that has to be my favourite of all time (so far!) but the RT brush comes a very close second and it's so economical that having a few clean ones ready to go when my other brushes are drying is just plain convenient. Also, the instructions with the Shiseido brush sort of caution against using it with long-wearing foundation (I do use it anyway but make a point of cleaning it IMMEDIATELY if I do) so having these RT brushes to use in those situations is a good idea.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/5/2012 8:54:00 AM More reviews by camilla8

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Ughhh! I hate to bring any product down, especially since this one has such good reviews, but my experience with this brush was not great. I bought it from iherb.com and bought it mainly for applying foundation. I normally use the Sephora platinum 55 brush, which has always been perfect for me, but I saw the insanely awesome reviews for this brush and had to try. Firstly, it is a smaller brush than the 55 and doesn't cover as much surface area when I stipple my foundation on, so it takes longer to do my makeup. I think I expected it to be almost the size of the 55, but it wasn't close. Secondly...the brush I got hurt my face! The bristles were not very soft, which surprises me because all the other reviews comment about how soft it was, so part of me wonders if I got a bad brush? The brush was actually quite scratchy IMO. Other than that, it is a finely crafted brush, I loved the handle and sleek design, but wouldn't buy it again.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/29/2012 1:22:00 PM More reviews by lksandrock

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I cannot even begin to say how much I love this brush. It is absolutely perfect. It blends my BB creams and liquid foundations perfectly; there are absolutely no streaks left behind.

I just use a light buffing motion to work the product into my skin, then BAM! I have a great streak-free finish. My husband cannot even tell I have anything on!

The other wonderful thing about this brush (and all of the other RT brushes), they clean up very easily and dry a lot quicker than natural bristle brushes. Cleaning my brushes between each use is no longer a burden, the product comes out very easily and they only take about an hour to dry.

If you are looking for a good set of brushes, I would purchase all of the Real Techniques line, they are all absolutely wonderful.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/26/2012 5:34:00 PM More reviews by synmyn

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I think Sam Chapman hit it *out of the park* with this new face brush! It's perfect for applying moisturizer, sunscreen, primer, foundation, blush, bronzer, highlighter, powders, liquids, and creams.


This brush is without equal for liquid to cream foundations. It applies, blends and buffs to a smooth, airbrushed finish. I don't know what it is about the shape of it, but it's the perfect combination of softness and firmness, at once dense yet tapered.


I have extremely sensitive skin and I have experienced no irritation from this brush, even with daily use.


Like all the other RT brushes I own, this cleans easily, dries quickly, and has yet to shed a hair. I honestly think this is one of the best and most unique brushes Real Techniques makes. And the price is fabulous. You can not go wrong with this purchase.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/25/2012 4:32:00 PM More reviews by lindseymhelms

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This was my first Real Techniques brush purchase. I bought this brush along with the powder brush. I have to say that I LOVE this brush! I usually use a beauty blender to apply foundation, and have been looking for a dense, soft buffing- style brush. After having the Sigma f80 in my "shopping cart" for awhile, I saw I review on the real technique brushes and knew I had to give this a try! Kind of slaps the face of the sigma "stigma" (no pun intended:) No shipping costs, and half the price! BEAUTIFUL results! I can see how I could use this brush for many things, highligher, contour... I will probably be buying more!! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No