September 21, 2014 | 1603 users online

Makeup Brushes - Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman - Expert Face Brush

rated 4.6(378 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 89% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/23/2012 1:06:00 AM More reviews by wickedcoolmama

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i have been reaching for this brush more than any other brush since i have gotten it 2 months ago. i use it for foundation application and or concealer. some days i skip foundation and just use concealer under my eyes and around the nose and other spots...this brush is good for putting on all my base makeup. it is so soft and does not feel prickly even when i stipple, washes easily...unlike the sigmax brushes which i find pretty hard to clean. i like everything about this brush except the wide rubber handle at the bottom. it is hard to fit in my brush holder...takes up so much space so i just stand it up on its own with my other real techniques brush but it gets knocked off every time i reach for something on top of my vanity during makeup application..so i wish the handle was constructed like traditional brushes. other than this complaint, i love it! i am tempted to go buy another one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/1/2012 3:06:00 PM More reviews by dizzielittlerascal

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is, IMO, the gem of the Real Techniques brushes. Out of all the brushes I own to apply foundation, this is my favourite. It applies and blends any liquid foundation like a dream, feels very soft, and cleans and dries fabulously. Anyone wanting a brush to apply foundation - or even cream blushers - get this! Its not expensive and should last you too. Not had one single hair drop out. I have had mine since launch and I am so pleased with it. The only time I do not use it is when I have an active breakout as I wouldn't want to irritate it further (yes it is soft but any brush irritates my spots). I have owned/do own the Sigma F80, RT Buffing and Stippling Brushes, Mac 130, and this beats them all.

And yes, I do hate the handle but we can't have it all!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/29/2012 12:43:00 PM More reviews by preeti33

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is indeed an expert face brush. I particularly use it for my cream foundation which gets blended by this pretty thing very easily. Earlier I was using a foundation brush but that used to take a long time to blend in. I am not a very patient person when it comes to makeup. I mean I cannot spend 15 min just to blend my under eye concealer and foundation. It comes as a blessing for people like me who wants to apply heavy coverage foundation in literally 2 min! Also it gives a flawless natural finish. I am just too excited :) I am yet to wash it so doesnt know how long does it take to dry

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/26/2012 10:18:00 AM More reviews by aspirationfailure

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Love this brush!! The texture is perfect, soft but firm. It's perfectly awesome for applying liquid or creme foundation. I love the handle and the sleek look.. it goes great along with my MAC brushes. Using this brush with my foundation (NARS Sheer Glow mostly), gives a perfectly flawless finish. The price is excellent. I would like to try other products in this line.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/25/2012 7:03:00 AM More reviews by Princessngirl

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have only had this brush for two weeks and am still learning to use it. So far, I LOVE IT. I didn't find the RT video tutorial all that helpful, so I am learning as I go.

The expert face brush seems to be the first brush I have owned that gives me a softer application of Jane Iredale (handi brush did nothing for me) Pure Pressed Base, which I occasionally wear. This brush allows my TM to go on w complete ease, for a lovely finish. I use it a great deal for buffing, which seems to be its original intent. I have had some blush errors of late and we are in such a heatwave that I have had to powder before I go out. This brush smooths it all out. The smallish head makes it easier to fit it into some of the dips in my skin texture.

What I really love about this brush line is how easy it is to clean. Because they are synthetic (I think), makeup doesn't cling to the brush as deeply or heavily as others. It cleans and dries quickly.

Definitely I recommend it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/23/2012 3:19:00 AM More reviews by SoxxxTiffanyxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This brush is far my fav in the whole real techniques brushes, i feel this one brush can be used as so many other things. i love it for applying liquid foundations, the application is so easy and even. then i also use it to blend under eye concealer, as well as to buff in some powder and to contour! i love it so much, its so affordable to high quality, honestly i think sigma has nothing to beat this brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/18/2012 5:41:00 AM More reviews by amoxon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This brush is great, I use this with liquid foundations and it's far better than traditional foundation brushes in my opinion. It is lovely and soft, and it definitely makes your foundation go a lot further.
I clean this after every couple of uses to keep it really nice and soft, as I find foundation does buildup quite quickly.
really recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/9/2012 2:20:00 PM More reviews by taurusdragonfly

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Brown

I like this brush a lot - almost as much as my Ulta sculpted brush. It's just slightly less plush and dense than the Ulta brush. But it's also much cheaper and dries quickly. In fact, I have been reaching for it more often bc I wash it more frequently and it's always dry by the next time I use it. It has shed a little, leaving behind a few strands in my cream foundation, but very minor. The weighted end is nice - feels good and controllable in my hand. I use this brush for powder and cream-to-powder application. It leaves a smooth, light, natural finish w/o depositing or wasting product. I hardly ever use anything liquid, so I can't speak to its application of liquid foundation. I store my brushes in a flat long container, so the wide handle doesn't bother me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/9/2012 2:04:00 PM More reviews by MasksOffMasksOn

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this! It's just like a kabuki brush, very full and dense, only with short hairs and a long handle. So it's especially great reaching those small areas where a regular kabuki is too big for reaching. It works perfect with applying either mineral makeup or liquid makeup, and I find it's finish really smooth, with no brush traces. Really easy to work with! BUT I did take one star off and here is why: After powdering I like doing my contours with a dark mineral makeup and a kabuki brush, but since this brush smaller than a regular Kabuki, I find it very hard to bland and spread the product nicely. So, bottom line- Great for any kind of foundation, Bad for contouring.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/6/2012 8:18:00 AM More reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I've also got the Sephora Professional #55 (the "old" one with the silver handle) and I have to say that even putting aside the whole issue of price difference, I prefer the Real Techniques brush. I find it doesn't seem to soak up as much product (liquid foundation - presently, either MAC Pro Longwear or Guerlain Lingerie de Peau) as the #55. It is easier to clean and it seems to dry much more quickly. But most importantly, the results are SPECTACULAR. I first used this brush with my Pro Longwear foundation and that one can be a bit tricky to blend, as it is a long wearing/hard-setting product. But with the Expert Face Brush, my foundation blended out quickly and seamlessly and you would have been hard pressed to know that I was wearing any foundation at all, except that all my "issues" (redness, broken capillaries) were "whooshed away".

My only criticism of these brushes is the flare-ended handles. I know they are designed that way so they'll stand on your vanity but, really, does anyone actually store their brushes like that? I put mine in an office pen holder thingy and these wide, blunt handles are annoying but I will overlook that one small flaw because of the quality and value and real results that these brushes give.

Like all of my RT brushes, this would be a terrific brush at 3 or 4 times the price. Considering that it's under 10 dollars, it becomes even more amazing.

UPDATE: (Feb 2013) I had my husband pick me up a second one of these and get one for my daughter as well - that's how great it is and how much I like using it. I recently purchased the Shiseido foundation brush and I think that has to be my favourite of all time (so far!) but the RT brush comes a very close second and it's so economical that having a few clean ones ready to go when my other brushes are drying is just plain convenient. Also, the instructions with the Shiseido brush sort of caution against using it with long-wearing foundation (I do use it anyway but make a point of cleaning it IMMEDIATELY if I do) so having these RT brushes to use in those situations is a good idea.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No