December 22, 2014 | 1025 users online

Liquid - Bourjois - Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation

rated 4.1(412 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/10/2012 1:10:00 PM More reviews by FloryTheFashionNerd

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this foundation!

I've had this foundation for quite a while now and I'm still using it. The packaging is okay it's not to small and not too big I guess. The price is okay, it's around £11.00 something. The good thing about this foundation is that it lasts long and doesn't make you look cakey and ofcourse will not give you dry skin! What I like about it is that it's very moisturing so it's not that dry in fact, it's very soft and smooth. I would buy this product again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/9/2012 1:27:00 AM More reviews by mandity

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This product is absolutely incredible. It has a very natural finish and it blends really well with the skin. You don't even need to set it with powder for it to last if you have a combination skin like mine. However, the coverage IS rather limited so it's not that good for people with acne. However if you only have a pimple or two, you can just apply on some concealer and then you're good for the day. Best foundation I've ever used! Definitely a HG product and will repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/7/2012 7:40:00 AM More reviews by yasmindropdead

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

i love this foundation. ive tried many over the past few years and none have beat this. i have combination skin which is oily over the nose, and this just glides on and stays perfect. the coverage is quite light but heavy coverage looks awful on my skin anyway. i usually apply this with a make up brush when im taking my time with my makeup but if im in a rush i can put it on just fine with my fingers, the only thing i dislike about it is that i have to put a powder over my face afterwards because it makes me look very pale and lifeless, but thats because i have to buy the palest shade because its the one that matches my skin. i also have mac studio fix powder and this just completely blows it out of the water. 10/10.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/6/2012 2:18:00 PM More reviews by alaras

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It is perfect for my combination skin. Lasts all day. Medium coverage. Does not oxidise. Does not transfer very easily. Price is affordable. So far this is the 2nd best foundation I have used (the best is Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua). This one at times can look a tad cakey, and sometimes looks sheerer than other times... Not everyday though, so it might be just my skin that day. Revlon Nearly Naked foundation seems to be a good rival. But Bourjois bottles come with a pump, which is much more preferable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/4/2012 8:05:00 AM More reviews by littleantlers85

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Gorgeous product. I recently spent £31 on some Chanel foundation, and was really disappointed - even in the lightest colour it left my skin orange, and very dull-looking. Shade 51 matches my pale complexion perfectly, and leaves skin looking natural and dewy. It makes your skin look perfect, but not like you're obviously wearing make-up. I only wish I had found this before buying the Chanel foundation!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/3/2012 5:12:00 PM More reviews by pinkgreenpurple

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

PROS:
1) Everybody has said this already but the smell is gorgeous, really fruity and not like paint at all, which is great considering that most DS foundations smell like crap.
2) Color match. I've got pale, yellow toned skin and this matches well. It may be the tiniest bit too dark/yellow for my NC15/20 skin but shade 51 is a really fantastic match. However the color range doesn't really cater to very pale skins, darker skins, or people with cooler undertones. However if you have a yellow or olivey complexion you may find your match here, as i did. Still, it's pretty badthat a girl with NC20ish skin wears the palest shade...
3) Finish. Glowy, but not shiny and greasy. On my oily/combo skin this is a nice finish, but I wouldn't want to wear anything more dewy than this for fear of looking like a greaseball. If you have extremely oily skin though I'd steer clear.
4) This foundation blends so easily, it takes almost no effort and you can blend with your fingers very easily. Perfect!
5) Coverage. This foundation is really light, and not really buildable to medium without the finish getting increasingly shinier. However, I personally love the coverage so it's fine for me. However, if you have something to really cover this will not work for you. For reference, i've got pretty good skin and I can still see bumps on my chin through this, but that's fine.

CONS
1) The lasting power is absolutely terrible. Let me repeat that again. HORRIBLE. Wearing it without primer or powder, 4 hours tops. I'm not even that oily and this slides right off.

Final verdict: Would be HG If I could wear it without it sliding right off. I'd recommend it to those with barely anything to cover, and normal/dry skin that doesn't have a problem with foundations coming off of their skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/28/2012 8:18:00 AM More reviews by HoneyLust22

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Absolutely brilliant foundation, the colour is spot on for me (I use 51 and I'm in-between and NC15 and NC20 in Mac), it blends effortlessly with every brush I've tried and with fingertips to give that "your skin but better finish" that everyone craves.
I was already a big fan of the original healthy mix foundation, but I did find that it oxidized :( This one doesn't at all and I find it to be even lighter on the skin, yet still have very buildable coverage :)
It claims to last up to 16 hours which is a little optimistic, but even on my oily skin it lasts 10-12 hours with Milk of Magnesia underneath and set with a powder. The finish is semi-matt, very natural looking :) LOVE LOVE LOVE.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/26/2012 12:21:00 PM More reviews by biancastefani

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Wow.

Wow is all I can say about this product. I have normal to dry skin that doesn't seem to like many foundations, being left with dry, flaky patches no matter how much I moisturise or exfoliate, so when I heard of this product, I rushed out to get it. Serum + dry skin = good! So in theory, this should be perfect, but was worried that it may be a little greasy. Boy, was I impressed.

A light to medium, buildable coverage that sets into a natural, demi-matte, skinlike finish, providing enough moisture to keep the flakes at bay. And here I was thinking it would be greasy. Hah!

I use the shade 53 and it's an absolute perfect match for my NC25 complexion.

I don't powder my foundation because of my skin type and the beautiful finish, but I have to say that it doesn't last ALL day without some kind of setting, so I use a setting spray and I get a full 8 hours wear - at least.

I have to say that this is - hands down - the best foundation I have EVER used. And for £10, it's an absolute bargain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/22/2012 1:54:00 PM More reviews by xxxxx2011

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I tried to apply this in many different ways and it doesn't matter. This always sets into my big pores and leaves streaks. I wouldn't leave the house with it on. Also, I am almost sure that this breaks me out.

I don't think the price matches the quality. In my country, this thing costs like 18 euros, almost the same as a LRP foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/22/2012 1:52:00 AM More reviews by pashmeash

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

i'm pretty infatuated with this foundation. as someone with extremely dry, sensitive skin (partially due to my current acne medication), foundations i used to like have not been able to cope with the increasing dryness. this foundation has so much going for it (e.g., it actually has a pump!), and number one is how moisturising it is. it does a great job of softening the skin and evening out skin texture.


the colour match is probably the worst thing about this foundation. i bought number 51/light vanilla and it's slightly too light for me, whereas the 52 is too dark, but it's ok once blended out. like other reviewers have said, you couldn't say with any honesty that this foundation was gel-like in any way. it's more of a light liquid consistency, which is beautifully blendable (i use a damp sponge) and fully absorbs into the skin so that it looks totally natural and like you have no foundation on. it's also got a lovely finish that is neither matte nor dewy, but more of a satin finish that looks really healthy on the skin.


unlike other reviewers, i would not call this a sheer foundation. it's certainly not full coverage, but goes on with light coverage (even though it's slightly buildable, i would not say it gets to medium coverage). somehow it still does a fantastic job of evening out skin tone without looking caked on or fake. i have a fair bit of acne scarring, and while this foundation doesn't erase blemishes it makes them entirely benign to the extent that i don't use concealer on an every day basis.


so far it's been pretty long-wearing (so far worn it for 8 hours in a row with no problems) and hasn't caused me to break out (amen). totally worth a try for people with dry/sensitive skin who are after light coverage with a satin finish.


ETA: the bourjois healthy mix serum is also an amazing base to swirl other foundations into for extra coverage, so you can get the best of both worlds. continued >>

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No