October 21, 2014 | 1912 users online

Liquid - Bourjois - Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation

rated 4.2(399 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 3/6/2012 2:18:00 PM More reviews by alaras

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It is perfect for my combination skin. Lasts all day. Medium coverage. Does not oxidise. Does not transfer very easily. Price is affordable. So far this is the 2nd best foundation I have used (the best is Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua). This one at times can look a tad cakey, and sometimes looks sheerer than other times... Not everyday though, so it might be just my skin that day. Revlon Nearly Naked foundation seems to be a good rival. But Bourjois bottles come with a pump, which is much more preferable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/4/2012 8:05:00 AM More reviews by littleantlers85

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Gorgeous product. I recently spent £31 on some Chanel foundation, and was really disappointed - even in the lightest colour it left my skin orange, and very dull-looking. Shade 51 matches my pale complexion perfectly, and leaves skin looking natural and dewy. It makes your skin look perfect, but not like you're obviously wearing make-up. I only wish I had found this before buying the Chanel foundation!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/3/2012 5:12:00 PM More reviews by pinkgreenpurple

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

PROS:
1) Everybody has said this already but the smell is gorgeous, really fruity and not like paint at all, which is great considering that most DS foundations smell like crap.
2) Color match. I've got pale, yellow toned skin and this matches well. It may be the tiniest bit too dark/yellow for my NC15/20 skin but shade 51 is a really fantastic match. However the color range doesn't really cater to very pale skins, darker skins, or people with cooler undertones. However if you have a yellow or olivey complexion you may find your match here, as i did. Still, it's pretty badthat a girl with NC20ish skin wears the palest shade...
3) Finish. Glowy, but not shiny and greasy. On my oily/combo skin this is a nice finish, but I wouldn't want to wear anything more dewy than this for fear of looking like a greaseball. If you have extremely oily skin though I'd steer clear.
4) This foundation blends so easily, it takes almost no effort and you can blend with your fingers very easily. Perfect!
5) Coverage. This foundation is really light, and not really buildable to medium without the finish getting increasingly shinier. However, I personally love the coverage so it's fine for me. However, if you have something to really cover this will not work for you. For reference, i've got pretty good skin and I can still see bumps on my chin through this, but that's fine.

CONS
1) The lasting power is absolutely terrible. Let me repeat that again. HORRIBLE. Wearing it without primer or powder, 4 hours tops. I'm not even that oily and this slides right off.

Final verdict: Would be HG If I could wear it without it sliding right off. I'd recommend it to those with barely anything to cover, and normal/dry skin that doesn't have a problem with foundations coming off of their skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/28/2012 8:18:00 AM More reviews by HoneyLust22

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Absolutely brilliant foundation, the colour is spot on for me (I use 51 and I'm in-between and NC15 and NC20 in Mac), it blends effortlessly with every brush I've tried and with fingertips to give that "your skin but better finish" that everyone craves.
I was already a big fan of the original healthy mix foundation, but I did find that it oxidized :( This one doesn't at all and I find it to be even lighter on the skin, yet still have very buildable coverage :)
It claims to last up to 16 hours which is a little optimistic, but even on my oily skin it lasts 10-12 hours with Milk of Magnesia underneath and set with a powder. The finish is semi-matt, very natural looking :) LOVE LOVE LOVE.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/26/2012 12:21:00 PM More reviews by biancastefani

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Wow.

Wow is all I can say about this product. I have normal to dry skin that doesn't seem to like many foundations, being left with dry, flaky patches no matter how much I moisturise or exfoliate, so when I heard of this product, I rushed out to get it. Serum + dry skin = good! So in theory, this should be perfect, but was worried that it may be a little greasy. Boy, was I impressed.

A light to medium, buildable coverage that sets into a natural, demi-matte, skinlike finish, providing enough moisture to keep the flakes at bay. And here I was thinking it would be greasy. Hah!

I use the shade 53 and it's an absolute perfect match for my NC25 complexion.

I don't powder my foundation because of my skin type and the beautiful finish, but I have to say that it doesn't last ALL day without some kind of setting, so I use a setting spray and I get a full 8 hours wear - at least.

I have to say that this is - hands down - the best foundation I have EVER used. And for £10, it's an absolute bargain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/22/2012 1:54:00 PM More reviews by xxxxx2011

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I tried to apply this in many different ways and it doesn't matter. This always sets into my big pores and leaves streaks. I wouldn't leave the house with it on. Also, I am almost sure that this breaks me out.

I don't think the price matches the quality. In my country, this thing costs like 18 euros, almost the same as a LRP foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/22/2012 1:52:00 AM More reviews by pashmeash

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

i'm pretty infatuated with this foundation. as someone with extremely dry, sensitive skin (partially due to my current acne medication), foundations i used to like have not been able to cope with the increasing dryness. this foundation has so much going for it (e.g., it actually has a pump!), and number one is how moisturising it is. it does a great job of softening the skin and evening out skin texture.


the colour match is probably the worst thing about this foundation. i bought number 51/light vanilla and it's slightly too light for me, whereas the 52 is too dark, but it's ok once blended out. like other reviewers have said, you couldn't say with any honesty that this foundation was gel-like in any way. it's more of a light liquid consistency, which is beautifully blendable (i use a damp sponge) and fully absorbs into the skin so that it looks totally natural and like you have no foundation on. it's also got a lovely finish that is neither matte nor dewy, but more of a satin finish that looks really healthy on the skin.


unlike other reviewers, i would not call this a sheer foundation. it's certainly not full coverage, but goes on with light coverage (even though it's slightly buildable, i would not say it gets to medium coverage). somehow it still does a fantastic job of evening out skin tone without looking caked on or fake. i have a fair bit of acne scarring, and while this foundation doesn't erase blemishes it makes them entirely benign to the extent that i don't use concealer on an every day basis.


so far it's been pretty long-wearing (so far worn it for 8 hours in a row with no problems) and hasn't caused me to break out (amen). totally worth a try for people with dry/sensitive skin who are after light coverage with a satin finish.


ETA: the bourjois healthy mix serum is also an amazing base to swirl other foundations into for extra coverage, so you can get the best of both worlds. continued >>

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/15/2012 7:18:00 PM More reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

UPDATE:
Seems like my very sensitive skin doesn't appreciate this over time. After about 2 weeks of wearing it I can see that my skin gets a little more pink. After some more time I notice some pimples. It doesn't get bad, but I want something that doesn't bother my skin AT ALL. I may use this up, but will not repurchase. If your skin isn't sensitive - try this out, it's a good, cheap, natural looking foundation, but if you have sensitive skin I can't really promise your skin will love this.
END OF UPDATE
.
Moisturising enough for me to wear without moisturiser under (in the morning I have only slightly dry skin). Doesn't make my skin dier. I also use it under the eyes, and I have noticed less fine lines for some reason - don't even know how it's possible :O Doesn't make my T-zone oily, as many other foundations did. Holds up really well on me! Of course, it doesn't last 16 hours, but I don't feel I lose much coverage during the day - only if I have some flakes or wipe my nose a lot. Looks VERY natural, although I use 1,5 pumps of this for the coverage I want. Haven't noticed transferring, although, I have worn foundation for so long now, that I'm used to keeping face off clothes. It oxidises very little on me.
I think this is my current HG :) I must admit that, when I just ordered it, I thought that this would for sure be one of the cheap foundations that would lay around in my makeup-box, but it has surprised me positively.
Also, I can easily apply this in bad lighting without being concerned about streaking, because it spreads very evenly on my face.
.
I have both the original Bourjois Healthy Mix and this. The differences aren't that big, I think, when it comes to finish, BUT: if you have dry skin DEFINITELY choose this one and not the original. The original is more for people with at least normal, or even slightly oily skin, I think. Now for the review:
.
I'm currently an NC15, very yelow undertones, and I have this in 51 and 52. 51 is THE PERFECT colour for me right now!!! :D 52 is more for someone being an NC20. This misbehaves with my moisturiser, so I wear it without. It spreads easily, but it's not a gel formula (likefor example Make Up For Ever Face & Body) It's hydrating - I even use this under the eyes. The coverage is medium (although many say it's sheer... it's medium on me), which is impressive, because I wear this in a pretty thin layer. I don't need much coverage though: I DO have some scars left after pimples, some uneven skin tone and some redness, but I tend to go for a pretty natural looking skin, although I wear a full face of makeup for about 16 hours every day. This looks super natural on me - I have tried A LOT of different foundations, and I must say that this one is the only one comparable to the Lancome Teint Miracle (that btw has terrible staying power) :D It looks so healthy, and even without using any light reflesting particles.
.
Another thing that I love, it that this didn't make my T-zone oily during the day: my skin stayed very uniform in finish for the whole day - it looked perfect and fresh for the whole time!
.
I also loved how long wearing this was on me, and that it didn't rub off or patch during the day and didn't bring out my dry patches (that I currently have). It also has close to no oxidation.
.
If this doesn't break me out (fingers & toes crossed!), this may actually be a HG for me :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/14/2012 4:22:00 PM More reviews by PaulaBenoit

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a great foundation for my dry skin. The finish is so natural looking, it looks like your skin, not like a mask. The coverage is medium and it spreads like a dream. One pump is enough to cover my face. I tried a standard flat foundation brush but found it streaked. I found applying this with fingers is best. My skin feels so smooth after applying this and in terms of staying power for me this foundation lasts through a 12 hour day with no problems, I usually just have to blot my t-zone about mid way through the day. I don't set it with powder either. The only downside I can see is that the shade selection is limited. I am the second darkest shade in what they carry at SDM (#55 Beige Fonce) and I am a MAC NC37 right now.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/11/2012 8:10:00 AM More reviews by basmah

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

This foundation makes me so sad. I love the finish and coverage. The finish is very natural, not too matte, not too shiny. It really has a skinlike finish. The coverage is light but can be build up to a medium coverage and it doesn´t feel heavy on my skin. Surprisingly enough, I was even able to find a decent colour match for my NW15 skin, namely 51 Light Vanilla. It really is a great foundation and I think it would work for a lot of people. Sadly, it makes me break out quite badly. I've had it for a few months now and every time I've used it, I would break out the next day. At first I kept trying to wear this foundation, because I really do love this foundation, but right now my skin is full of spots and it's not a pretty sight. I think this is caused by the large amount of fragrance in this product. Sad to say, I will not repurchase this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No