October 21, 2014 | 986 users online

Eyeliner - New York Color - Liquid Eyeliner

rated 3.4(370 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 7/8/2006 4:30:00 PM More reviews by sohysterical

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

The formula itself is horrible, it flakes off within hours, so you're left with little black pieces all over your eyelid, and I didn't find that pairing it with a pencil eyeliner did anything to help that situation. But I agree with other reviewers, the brush is amazing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 6/9/2006 8:19:00 PM More reviews by Shmabby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

So, the eyeliner itself is absolute crap. It would flake off during the day, it has absolutely no wear to it. Terrible stuff.
I have been using liqud eyeliner since I was a teenager, and the brush really is the best I've ever used. For a while I used the brush in my chanel eye liner, but it was inconvenient to open both tubes, swap brushes, etc. So I purchased a L'oreal eye liner and replaced their crappy brush with this NYC brush and now I'm happy as a clam. Worth buying just for the brush!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/17/2006 6:51:00 AM More reviews by Eing

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this in Pearlized Black because it seemed to be a great find for the price. The initial application is great- creating a smooth line of very visible color that coexists well with other eye makeup products. Usually I wore this on my upper eyelid and outer corner of my eye over an eyeliner pencil, but a few days ago when I decided to wear it alone I noticed that my original application had chipped off in places to create a dotted line effect, although it did not smear. I will continue to wear this product so as not to waste it in conjunction with another eye pencil, but will not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/7/2006 10:34:00 PM More reviews by SweetSoup

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have this in black, "borrowed" from my sister. It was my first liquid liner, and I pretty much use it everyday now. I like how I am able to make such a thin black line, it really makes a big difference in making my eyes pop. I have tried Urban Decay liquid liners, and these are soooo much easier to apply if you have a shaky hand, but I don't think they last any longer than my good ole NYC. I use UD's primer potion w/ this though. I'm not sure I'd buy this again b/c I'd like to either opt for a black UD liner or try another brand and then go back to NYC, b/c its pretty much the cheapest you can buy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/30/2006 8:12:00 PM More reviews by countrygyrl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I think this is a fanatastic liquid eyeliner - as long as you get the matte shades- Black or Sable. I purchased the pearlized version in plum and black first and hated them so much I gave them away to my 14 yr old daughter to "play" with after one try. The "pearl" versions seems to take forever to dry and do not go on as smooth or easy as the matte shades (probably because of the glitter) However, the Sable shade is a matte dark brown, and it applies smooth and even. The little brush makes it easy to get a thin or thick line. Much better than the felt tipped liquid eyeliners from other brands (Cover Girl) that cost 3 times as much!!!!!! Never had it flake or chip and it lasts all day! May take slightly longer to dry than others I have used but for less than $2.00 I have found my new HG liquid eyeliner- now if they only had a good matte purple.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/1/2006 2:08:00 PM More reviews by Sophalicious

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Ew, NYC makes horrible packaging. It was cheap, and it didn't stay on. The brush dried up quickly, I found. It wasn't very smooth to apply, so don't buy this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/24/2006 6:53:00 AM More reviews by Trinity_Jane

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

It cakes up very easily if I don't apply an eye moisturizer to it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/26/2006 9:39:00 PM More reviews by jenmae

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

This stuff was awful and I've used all sorts of liquid eyeliners in the past 5 years and this has got to be the worst. It flaked and cracked and dried into the creases of my eyelids and it was just awful all together. I tried the pearlized black I think it was called. If you want a good liquid eyeliner try Maybelline, this is just a waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/11/2006 5:41:00 AM More reviews by Luv_MAC

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I found this at my groceery store. It was set up as anend cap by the cosmetics and baby items aisle. I hate NYC e/s and mascara so I don't know what posessed me to buy this liquid eye liner. Maybe the price. It was $1.72 on sale.
I can't recall the clor right now. It's shimmery black. I absolutely love the brush. It's perfect in every way. It doesn't smear or wear off during the day. I cannot believe how inexpensive this great liquid eye liner is. I went the next day and bought 2 more. And it's a good thing I did because a week later the end cap is gone from the store and NYC brand is no where to be found, not even in CVS.

This is a keeper and quite possibly a HG for now.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/26/2005 7:07:00 PM More reviews by whatsyourdamage

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this is the best liner EVAR. all you need to do is just wipe the brush off on the sides of the container. it makes you look great. i use it every day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No