August 2, 2014 | 1037 users online

Liquid - Bourjois - Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation

rated 4.1(376 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/28/2012 8:18:00 AM More reviews by HoneyLust22

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Absolutely brilliant foundation, the colour is spot on for me (I use 51 and I'm in-between and NC15 and NC20 in Mac), it blends effortlessly with every brush I've tried and with fingertips to give that "your skin but better finish" that everyone craves.
I was already a big fan of the original healthy mix foundation, but I did find that it oxidized :( This one doesn't at all and I find it to be even lighter on the skin, yet still have very buildable coverage :)
It claims to last up to 16 hours which is a little optimistic, but even on my oily skin it lasts 10-12 hours with Milk of Magnesia underneath and set with a powder. The finish is semi-matt, very natural looking :) LOVE LOVE LOVE.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/26/2012 12:21:00 PM More reviews by biancastefani

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Wow.

Wow is all I can say about this product. I have normal to dry skin that doesn't seem to like many foundations, being left with dry, flaky patches no matter how much I moisturise or exfoliate, so when I heard of this product, I rushed out to get it. Serum + dry skin = good! So in theory, this should be perfect, but was worried that it may be a little greasy. Boy, was I impressed.

A light to medium, buildable coverage that sets into a natural, demi-matte, skinlike finish, providing enough moisture to keep the flakes at bay. And here I was thinking it would be greasy. Hah!

I use the shade 53 and it's an absolute perfect match for my NC25 complexion.

I don't powder my foundation because of my skin type and the beautiful finish, but I have to say that it doesn't last ALL day without some kind of setting, so I use a setting spray and I get a full 8 hours wear - at least.

I have to say that this is - hands down - the best foundation I have EVER used. And for £10, it's an absolute bargain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/22/2012 1:54:00 PM More reviews by xxxxx2011

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I tried to apply this in many different ways and it doesn't matter. This always sets into my big pores and leaves streaks. I wouldn't leave the house with it on. Also, I am almost sure that this breaks me out.

I don't think the price matches the quality. In my country, this thing costs like 18 euros, almost the same as a LRP foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/22/2012 1:52:00 AM More reviews by pashmeash

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

i'm pretty infatuated with this foundation. as someone with extremely dry, sensitive skin (partially due to my current acne medication), foundations i used to like have not been able to cope with the increasing dryness. this foundation has so much going for it (e.g., it actually has a pump!), and number one is how moisturising it is. it does a great job of softening the skin and evening out skin texture.


the colour match is probably the worst thing about this foundation. i bought number 51/light vanilla and it's slightly too light for me, whereas the 52 is too dark, but it's ok once blended out. like other reviewers have said, you couldn't say with any honesty that this foundation was gel-like in any way. it's more of a light liquid consistency, which is beautifully blendable (i use a damp sponge) and fully absorbs into the skin so that it looks totally natural and like you have no foundation on. it's also got a lovely finish that is neither matte nor dewy, but more of a satin finish that looks really healthy on the skin.


unlike other reviewers, i would not call this a sheer foundation. it's certainly not full coverage, but goes on with light coverage (even though it's slightly buildable, i would not say it gets to medium coverage). somehow it still does a fantastic job of evening out skin tone without looking caked on or fake. i have a fair bit of acne scarring, and while this foundation doesn't erase blemishes it makes them entirely benign to the extent that i don't use concealer on an every day basis.


so far it's been pretty long-wearing (so far worn it for 8 hours in a row with no problems) and hasn't caused me to break out (amen). totally worth a try for people with dry/sensitive skin who are after light coverage with a satin finish.


ETA: the bourjois healthy mix serum is also an amazing base to swirl other foundations into for extra coverage, so you can get the best of both worlds. continued >>

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/15/2012 7:18:00 PM More reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

UPDATE:
Seems like my very sensitive skin doesn't appreciate this over time. After about 2 weeks of wearing it I can see that my skin gets a little more pink. After some more time I notice some pimples. It doesn't get bad, but I want something that doesn't bother my skin AT ALL. I may use this up, but will not repurchase. If your skin isn't sensitive - try this out, it's a good, cheap, natural looking foundation, but if you have sensitive skin I can't really promise your skin will love this.
END OF UPDATE
.
Moisturising enough for me to wear without moisturiser under (in the morning I have only slightly dry skin). Doesn't make my skin dier. I also use it under the eyes, and I have noticed less fine lines for some reason - don't even know how it's possible :O Doesn't make my T-zone oily, as many other foundations did. Holds up really well on me! Of course, it doesn't last 16 hours, but I don't feel I lose much coverage during the day - only if I have some flakes or wipe my nose a lot. Looks VERY natural, although I use 1,5 pumps of this for the coverage I want. Haven't noticed transferring, although, I have worn foundation for so long now, that I'm used to keeping face off clothes. It oxidises very little on me.
I think this is my current HG :) I must admit that, when I just ordered it, I thought that this would for sure be one of the cheap foundations that would lay around in my makeup-box, but it has surprised me positively.
Also, I can easily apply this in bad lighting without being concerned about streaking, because it spreads very evenly on my face.
.
I have both the original Bourjois Healthy Mix and this. The differences aren't that big, I think, when it comes to finish, BUT: if you have dry skin DEFINITELY choose this one and not the original. The original is more for people with at least normal, or even slightly oily skin, I think. Now for the review:
.
I'm currently an NC15, very yelow undertones, and I have this in 51 and 52. 51 is THE PERFECT colour for me right now!!! :D 52 is more for someone being an NC20. This misbehaves with my moisturiser, so I wear it without. It spreads easily, but it's not a gel formula (likefor example Make Up For Ever Face & Body) It's hydrating - I even use this under the eyes. The coverage is medium (although many say it's sheer... it's medium on me), which is impressive, because I wear this in a pretty thin layer. I don't need much coverage though: I DO have some scars left after pimples, some uneven skin tone and some redness, but I tend to go for a pretty natural looking skin, although I wear a full face of makeup for about 16 hours every day. This looks super natural on me - I have tried A LOT of different foundations, and I must say that this one is the only one comparable to the Lancome Teint Miracle (that btw has terrible staying power) :D It looks so healthy, and even without using any light reflesting particles.
.
Another thing that I love, it that this didn't make my T-zone oily during the day: my skin stayed very uniform in finish for the whole day - it looked perfect and fresh for the whole time!
.
I also loved how long wearing this was on me, and that it didn't rub off or patch during the day and didn't bring out my dry patches (that I currently have). It also has close to no oxidation.
.
If this doesn't break me out (fingers & toes crossed!), this may actually be a HG for me :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/14/2012 4:22:00 PM More reviews by PaulaBenoit

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a great foundation for my dry skin. The finish is so natural looking, it looks like your skin, not like a mask. The coverage is medium and it spreads like a dream. One pump is enough to cover my face. I tried a standard flat foundation brush but found it streaked. I found applying this with fingers is best. My skin feels so smooth after applying this and in terms of staying power for me this foundation lasts through a 12 hour day with no problems, I usually just have to blot my t-zone about mid way through the day. I don't set it with powder either. The only downside I can see is that the shade selection is limited. I am the second darkest shade in what they carry at SDM (#55 Beige Fonce) and I am a MAC NC37 right now.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/11/2012 8:10:00 AM More reviews by basmah

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

This foundation makes me so sad. I love the finish and coverage. The finish is very natural, not too matte, not too shiny. It really has a skinlike finish. The coverage is light but can be build up to a medium coverage and it doesn´t feel heavy on my skin. Surprisingly enough, I was even able to find a decent colour match for my NW15 skin, namely 51 Light Vanilla. It really is a great foundation and I think it would work for a lot of people. Sadly, it makes me break out quite badly. I've had it for a few months now and every time I've used it, I would break out the next day. At first I kept trying to wear this foundation, because I really do love this foundation, but right now my skin is full of spots and it's not a pretty sight. I think this is caused by the large amount of fragrance in this product. Sad to say, I will not repurchase this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/5/2012 8:44:00 PM More reviews by zombieee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I'm new to Bourjois. To be honest, I don't like spending that much on make-up cos I've given up hope on them. But I'm glad I bought this. (I had free Bourjois mascara with it so it was good value heehee) The thing I love about this foundation is that it really blends well with my skintone! I have been using Maybelline and Rimmel foundations and concealers but they always look obvious (and dark) on my face. (Thus, why I have given up hope on foundations lol) This, however, was perfect! At first, I was hesitating to buy the darker shade because of my experience in buying darker shades in other brands. But it worked really good with my skin and it also smells nice. It doesn't feel heavy or irritating on my skin and I don't even need to put on much cos it blends so well. The one thing I don't like about it, however, is that it really doesn't cover much of your blemishes or scars. I have acne AND chickenpox scars (I had really bad chickenpox last year on April/May) on my face. I guess I would need concealer for those. But overall, it really does great on my skin and skintone!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2012 4:35:00 PM More reviews by rachelDT

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I had to write a reveiw on this because i love love love it ! Im a makeup snob and usually buy only high end foundations , i sware this beats them hands down , i brought the new armarni one and this is much better and soooo much cheaper , it makes my skin look healthy and doesnt settle in my pores , it blends like a dream , i ran out and brought the original healthy mix but it isnt the same , more heavier and matt , i recommend this to anyone x i will repurchase this as soon as possible

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/2/2012 6:51:00 PM More reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I purchased the shade 51 (Vanille Clair) and it's a great match to my complexion, for reference I wear MAC NC15. After wearing this foundation on and off for a few months I feel this foundation it has really grown on me enough that I would repurchase. What I do like about this foundation is the pump dispenser, how easy the foundation blends into my skin, looks very natural, and sets to a semi-matte glowy finish. This foundation has sheer to light coverage that isn't really buildable without looking cakey. I find this foundation looks really good for about 8 to 10 hours then starts to fade and disappear from my skin. Definitely not a long wearing foundation for me, but a good option for days when I want light coverage and not overly concerned about length of wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No