April 17, 2014 | 1315 users online

Liquid - Chanel - Vitalumiere

rated 3.9(522 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 65% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/30/2007 11:47:00 PM More reviews by mushymamma

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Dry girl here, and I *love* this stuff! I wear fondation mostly for evening out the color of my skin, which is blotchy from melasma, broken capillaries and freckles. Have used both the Nude Clair and Gentle Ivory, depending on the time of year and whether or not I have been in the sun. Sheer to medium coverage--very hydrating. Blends like a dream--easy to slap on with your hands if you're in a hurry. Wears and fades beautifully, too. At the end of the day, my skin still looks *amazing,* creamy, dewey and fresh--even toned, but like I'm not even wearing makeup. It's expensive, yes, but I don't think it's smart to cheat in the foundation department--the right one will mean you need less of everything else, IMO. And, it *does* last forever--a little goes a long way. I've tried scads of others--high to low-end, but always, always come back to this. HG!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/26/2007 3:00:00 AM More reviews by DDmonkey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I am on the fence with this one. The first 2-3 hours I apply my skin looks flawless, after that the makeup slides around my face and sinks into pores... One night I wore it and it stayed put all night but since that first time it hasn't, then again it was a pretty cold night. I also don't like that it has sunscreen in it since I am sensative to the particular SPF and this foundation caused skin irritation and some breakout. Argh. Off the fence. I didn't like this product, with I could, it's a great idea.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/16/2007 12:05:00 PM More reviews by HeyButters

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It's a great foundation, but it's not for me. Vitalumiere felt so heavy for me, and by mid day, my face is an oil slick, not to mention expensive! Chanel's foundation are pretty ok. Maybe this could work for someone with really dry skin. The coverage is medium to heavy depending on how you apply. I use Chanel's foundation brush and it works well, but I would not buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/21/2007 10:33:00 PM More reviews by Eyerish444

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I wanted to love this...unfortunately I was so disappointed. This product is so expensive and you can get a better look with cheaper products. I have really light skin and even though the color looked decent when it went on, by the time I left the house my face looked awful...yellow, blotchy, and it just sat on top of my face so it rubbed off sooo easily. Sorry Chanel lovers! Didn't impress me at all!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/17/2007 5:47:00 AM More reviews by 1NTOXICATED

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i have this product in 20 Clair and it's an almost perfect match to my asian skin during winter. I have oily skin with some flakes here and there and i hate matte finishes, so the SA told me to try this one. The coverage is nice and coverages the red blotches i sometimes have on my sensitive cheeks. Unfortunately, lighting tends to hit on my face at the worse spot, so i looked really oily on the cheek that is near the nose area. Everywhere else looked fab and dewy, not oily. Another thing is that I found the product a little bit sticky (not a huge problem cus i don't really touch my face anyways). I have to put powder on it, and that defeats the purpose of it creating a dewy finish :( I will continue to finish this bottle up (may take a long time!) during the winter season when i tend to get some dry areas. I will not be repurchasing but i could see this working out well for someone else!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/12/2007 12:15:00 AM More reviews by laura_ann

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I Have this in #10 Limpide, and it is slightly too dark for me now that it is the middle of winter. I am a PPP blonde hair. The quality of this stuff is great, love the pump, my only gripe is that it is not full enough coverage for me. Next I am buying pro lumiere liquid with the hope that will be fuller coverage, or else I will return to my so far HG Lancome Teint Idole Ultra in #010.

Didnt break me out and I have extremely sensitive skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/7/2007 11:55:00 AM More reviews by nutsformakeup

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Great pump. Love the texture of this foundation. I have dry skin and it works perfect for me. stayed on my face 'til I take it off and it looks natural with some dewy texture. I put it on after 1st applying a primer and no powder. Applied with a foundation brush. I just want a sheer/light coverage and this is perfect for me. I use it when I'm travelling too and haven't had any problems with any leaking. Doesn't leave any chalky effect and skin looks smooth nad hydrated. The bottle lasts forever! Highly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/26/2007 3:36:00 PM More reviews by benefitjunkie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Okay, on first impressions this foundation is just gorgeous... sleek, stylish packaging, heavenly smell, glides on beautifully... BUT and this is a big BUT, that's because it's oily oily oily in consistency. It literally slips right off my face within hours. But then, I have combination skin which tends to get oily during the day, so perhaps this is better suited to dry/sensitive skin. For me, unfortunately, even powder top-ups every couple of hours couldn't counter the effects of this formula. The thing is, I bet it would create a stunningly dewy effect for some people... just a shame us combo/oily girls can't enjoy it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/6/2007 2:58:00 PM More reviews by sw33t_lil_em

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this product and at first, I loved it. The color was great. I love the dewy look afterwards. However, I soon found out that it doesn't stay on your face for very long. In fact, it comes right off! Also, it looks terrible in pictures. It makes you look really, really shiny. Sorry, I will not buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/1/2007 10:16:00 AM More reviews by buffyismyhero

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

on to my 3rd or 5th bottle of Beige. love the pump dispenser, hygenic. but it's not great for travelling, which i do a lot of (ended up decanting into a small plastic bottle). I always use spf 15 minimum during the day or a moisturiser or primer before applying foundation as i have slightly dry to dry skin. never made me breakout (but then i've been lucky never to have such a bad reaction to a foundation). you can slap it on in a hurry and blends easily (i know, it's better to take yr time, but sometimes....) with my fingers. it doesn't cover my areas of slightly darker pigmentation, but the overall effect is excellent, ''natural'' looking and it seems to fade naturally too. sometimes use a powder (Nars) to set if have time and want it to last. wld recommend, though of course am still tempted to try new foundations.... (previous foundations have included bobbi brown rich foundation, ok, but no spf at all, various clinique ones but this is fave.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No