November 28, 2014 | 1683 users online

Cleansers - Cetaphil - Gentle Skin Cleanser



image 0

rated 3.5(4944 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/13/2006 8:17:00 PM More reviews by Andrea2251

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This product is excellent for sensitive skin. I absolutely love it. I am on Retin A Micro, which is making my skin very sensitive and irritated. This cleanser is like a treat for my face. It's very soothing to rub on. This is the cleanser that my dermatologist recommneded I use when I first got on Retin A. I've had no problems with it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/9/2006 4:55:00 PM More reviews by Slj1964

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

If you have acne prone skin don't think you need a harsh cleanser, I have done that for years. I tried everything. It will generally aggravate it more. Get a Cetaphil gentle and Cetaphil for oily skin. Use the one for oily skin first or just in the evening and follow up with the Cetaphil Gentle after cleansing. It really does calm your skin. I have seen the reviews that it doesn't remove makeup well. That is true if you wear heavy makeup but you can resolve that by using the oily skin version first. It removes makeup very well. I went off of the Cetaphil due to running out and I paid for it with irrated , broken out skin. As far as the packaging goes , I think less is best.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/8/2006 4:44:00 PM More reviews by kschmiddy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I like this product okay, but I have oily, acne-prone skin so I usually have to whip it into shape with harsher products. Whenever my skin gets irritated for whatever reason, though, this is very soothing, very gentle, and has a unique formula. Is it more effective than other cleansers? Heck no, it's average there. Will it work if you really need gentle? Yup!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/6/2006 9:16:00 PM More reviews by CrazyRussian

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I tried this cleanser a year ago or so, like it a lot though my skin is combination. I made a mistake in the past by using really harsh cleansers, but not anymore - this one works just fine. I gave it four lippies because it doesn't remove my make up completely, so I have to use Cetaphil for oily skin in the evening, but I use the original one in the morning. And the price is very reasonable for the product of such a good quality.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/6/2006 8:57:00 PM More reviews by Rubybreath

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Much love for this! I was skeptical. Oh boy, was I skeptical about trying this. I had it recommended to me for years since my skin is very sensitive. However, I never purchased it because the packaging is a little lackluster and I had visions of a film left on my face due to the product description. I was wrong! This is the only cleanser that calms my angry skin down and makes it look glowing and makes it feel baby soft. I see a definite improvement with my skin when I use it for any period of time. Excellent product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/6/2006 4:47:00 PM More reviews by roxystarling

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I tried a bunch of other cleansers over the last two years, from the "extra gentle" to the exfoliating, to the acne washes, to organic, to orange oil, etc. My skin was worse than ever. I remembered that I had used this before and never had problems, so I begrudgungly bought it again. It's not exciting or fun, the packaging is ugly and unwieldy, and it's not organic and in fact has petroleum-related ingredients (I think). But it works! And it works so well! My skin is not dry, feels wonderful, and is clearing up. So there you go- I don't think I'll stray again! (yes, I've said that before). Cetaphil, please make a cool new package to secure my fidelity! And please change it every two years!
:)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/5/2006 4:05:00 PM More reviews by SGERBINE

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Well I read about this on lhj.com and thought I would give it a try. I loved it through the first bottle, but I was on my second when I realized I had more junk in my pores than I have ever had before. I used this in conjunction with Neutrogena healthy defense moisturizer w/ spf 15 and it has salylic acid in it. It worked ok I guess...but still...too much junk in my pores. So, I switched to Origins face wash (didn't like it either). So basically I think this cleanser is average. Not too bad, but not that great either. It is pretty inexpensive though, so I was really excited about using it.
I'm acne prone and this prevented pimples, but didn't clear the dirt out of my pores. Its a really gentle cleanser.
Earlier this week I went to my hair stylist and she said she only uses cetaphil but she's older and has really good skin (from what I could tell). She also said that her doctor told her to use cetaphil w/ her daughter as a body cleanser when she was born.

Conclusion: if you have very mild acne or none at all this could work for you.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/4/2006 6:50:00 AM More reviews by ocicat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

a very basic, nonfoaming cleanser. i would never use this alone because it seems to leave a film over my face. usually use it to clean my face of makeup before i use another foaming face wash to clean face again. but i dont use much makeup, and have since then found that a good cleanser should be able to do the job without the need for a pre-cleaner

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/3/2006 1:48:00 PM More reviews by typicalgirls

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I always have to stuff on hand as a face wash. But I recently had a really bad eczema flare up accompanied with super dry skin. I used this how the the directions instructed on the labled. Applied a liberal amount and rubbed it off with a towel. The feeling is rather gooey and kind gross. But my skin still felt clean. I used it with conjunction with the cetaphil lotion, which is usually too light for me, but it really works. So far my eczema has healed faster and my skin is starting to feel soft like a normal persons!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/3/2006 11:57:00 AM More reviews by AnnetteWright

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I alternate products a lot, a few different ones in the shower, and also by the sink. I always have Cetaphil (or a generic version around.) I don't wear lots of makeup, so it removes mine fine. My skin always feels soft and supple after using it, and I get no irritation from it. There is no perfumey scent, and the texture is soft and creamy, and washes clean.Great for dry sensitive skin like mine. continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No