September 30, 2014 | 1834 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Matte2 - Handwritten



image 0image 1

rated 4.7(97 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 91% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/26/2011 10:42:00 PM More reviews by ocelot1

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love the matte2 formula, but this color pulled too red on my skintone. It does blend well and has good pigmentation and nor chalky at all. I wish mac would make more eyeshadows in this nice finish. Wish the color had worked out better. For reference: nc 35 latina dark brown eyes and dark brownish blackish hair.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/18/2011 9:04:00 PM More reviews by prettykitty1423

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

Gorgeous brown!
This is a very pigmented, dark matte brown.
It's super blendable and creamy, it's really fab for the crease, the outer V or as a liner!
It doesn't crease and it lasts all day!
:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/1/2011 3:29:00 PM More reviews by MakennaRuddy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I love this eyeshadow. I find it so beautiful. I love how the colour is so natural but yet bold at the same time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/7/2011 10:28:00 AM More reviews by zac_timmy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

A very pigmented colour. I originally purchased this to use on my brows, but it is very versatile. Although (apart from the high pigmentation) it does seem like the colour is very dupable.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/28/2011 2:36:00 PM More reviews by olympialetantoli

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Handwritten is a rich chocolate brown, it doesn't come out reddish on my like some other reviews state. I'm an NC25 to NC30/35 in the summer. I love the Matte effect very dramatic but toned down since it is neutral. It is earthy and kinda flat but that's perfect for me since I wanted a shades for Autumn. I purchased this in a 4 set with Bamboo, Blanc Type and Scene a muted grey blue. I use Handwritten in my crease, blend blend blend and then a little bit of Scene in the outer V. All together these shades work well for a classic fall look. I haven't had a chance to use it with other colours but I can see it being versitle since it is a neutral brown. I wouldn't say its a must have but if you are well on your way to owning over half of the MAC makeup line you should try this colour out.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/28/2011 8:07:00 PM More reviews by bareminerals4ever

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

My thoughts on Handwritten are similar to those of Typographic. Ridiculously pigmented and very versatile. Handwritten is a rich, red brown that works well as a liner, crease color, and outer v definer. Again, like Typographic, because it is so pigmented, I have hardly made a dent in the year or so I've had this...and I use it at least 4 times a week. It's the perfect outer v color for a bronze-y brown eye. Will repurchase if I ever need to.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/4/2011 10:04:00 PM More reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Much like copperplate, also a matte2 formula, handwritten is a MAC shadow you might easily overlook. It won't jump out at you like its shimmery counterparts twinks or mulch, but please do yourself a favor and pick this shadow up. Ever since purchasing it a couple weeks ago, it's found it's way into my "everyday, no-fail" arsenal, alongside shroom, patina, and the aforementioned copperplate--where very few shadows reside. It makes an outstanding crease shade for a brown smokey eye, but my favorite way to use it is with an angle brush as a liner on my lower line, and smudged above the inky black liner I use on my upper lids. The texture and pigmentation are absolute perfection, and the color is equally divine--not too red, and does not oxidize on my NW20 skintone.

Handwritten succeeds in every arena where I have found embark lacking, and I would buy it again in a heartbeat.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/25/2011 10:28:00 PM More reviews by epapes730

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this eyeshadow so much. I have fair skin (NW15) and love using it in the crease for a "dramatic neutral" look. It also looks amazing along my lower lash line as eyeliner. The texture is so silky smooth!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/19/2011 1:59:00 PM More reviews by plaktukai

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

The best crease color I've ever had. Not only it is so universal and simple, but also very pigmented so I need so little of this to show up on my lids. And the best about Handwritten - the color lasts and for long! I do not use primer, but it stays on my eyes for the whole night while I'm partying. I must say this is a staple and should be in everyone's collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/16/2011 5:37:00 PM More reviews by harmony7

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is the only brown that shows up on my eyelids. Being dark, brown is often a hard color to use, but this brown works. I like the matte finish and it stays on a long time, which is good for my somewhat oily eyelids. I'll definitely buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No