April 21, 2014 | 1425 users online

Lip Gloss - Clinique - Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss in Currant



image 0

rated 4.4(49 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/9/2009 3:48:00 PM More reviews by ajax5455

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I generally prefer a natural-looking color. I have dark brown hair, hazel brown eyes and light skin, and any darkish lip color makes me look old and makes my lips look thin. This balm, however, is gorgeous. It looks deepish pink on me and the moisturizing gloss adds volume to my lips. I wish Clinique would add some sunscreen to this product, but I will nevertheless continue to buy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/7/2009 10:25:00 AM More reviews by hailey0675

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I like this product. It combines gloss, colour and moisture in one handy tube. I don't have to carry a lipstick, lip balm and gloss. I'm NC44 and the colour shows up discreetly. I have very very dry lips, so can't use many products withour first applying my Blistex Relief Cream, but this is an exception. My only reservation is that it can be a bit too glossy for work, especially if I need to attend a meeting. I find myself going to the mirror and wiping alot of it off so that I don't look like a barbie doll. Overall when considering the price, convenience and quality, I'd definately invest in one of these even if it's one of the other colours.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/2/2009 12:23:00 PM More reviews by jhoggan

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I use this one at night since it does have more of a tint to it, but it is very hydrating and makes my teeth look really white. I LOVE it!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/3/2009 9:27:00 AM More reviews by patpatpatpat

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have 4 superbalms and this one is just ok. Moisturizes as the others do but the coloring is just so so. There is a definite tint and I'm sure it would work with less pigmented lips, on mine it simply doesn't do very much, maybe even makes my lips look a bit dull... So no, will not buy this one again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/22/2009 11:28:00 PM More reviews by snoopy126

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is pretty good stuff. Doesn't last and isn't too sticky or leave me with white gunk on my lips. I like this colour best. I took a couple lippies off for packaging because it is starting to smell like a dirty sock. I noticed this with a Bobbi Brown gloss I had that came in a similar tube. But I like it because it is the richest of the glosses in my roster.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/8/2009 10:34:00 PM More reviews by iwannabeakennedy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is the color I was matched with at the store, and I adore it. It feels good, glossy and moisturizing without being sticky or gross. It can leave a look of "overgloss" so be careful when applying.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/26/2008 11:23:00 PM More reviews by yshah0621

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Nothing special. Got this as a GWP. I suppose I would repurchase, because the price isn't so bad, but not my go-to gloss for everyday. It gives me that junior-high wet lip look. Quite moisturizing, slightly sticky. No color really, it pretty much looks like my lips with some super shiny clear gloss over them. Consistency is pretty smooth.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/24/2008 7:26:00 PM More reviews by princessgracie

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have a few of these, and each time I get a new one, I fall in love again! Originally I started with Ginger, but now have Currant and Lilac. Living in Michigan it gets really cold, and going in and out of the heat and cold, my lips pay the price. I will put these on top of lipsticks for more color. Will continue to purchase!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/28/2008 7:51:00 AM More reviews by Vulnavia

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I bought this about three weeks ago on a mini Sephora-spree. I work with kids so I look for makeup that's quick to throw on and not going to make me look like a drag queen at 8 in the morning (yes, MAC, I'm thinking of you in particular) and picked this up along with some other treats. I didn't even realize until I got home and checked here that these Moisturizing 'Glosses' replaced the old Superbalms - I know, what a winner I am! I have an old Superbalm that I bought two years ago in Raspberry and while I like the color it's a little too tacky for me to reach for all that often. This gloss solves that problem. It is really a super little product! Not as sticky or as heavy as the old Superbalms, it nevertheless is very hydrating, wears off evenly, and is shiny without being porny. In addition, it is pretty much exactly a MLBB shade; maybe a touch more plum in the tube than my actual lips, but it evens out nicely when it's on. I don't have a lot of extra $ to spend on luxury makeup but the price on this wasn't too bad: I think it was $13 or $14, and the tube will last me a long time. When I run out, I will repurchase for sure (and, knowing me, I'll probably pick up a couple of other colors long before I run out of this one!). This is a great gloss and I'm glad I found it. Much improved over the old Superbalms, although I may be the odd duck out who misses the old early-80s style green packaging of the original. :P

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/14/2008 6:22:00 AM More reviews by JanM

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

The superbalm moisturizing glosses are my lipgloss of choice. I have ued them for many years and are the only lipglosses/treatments that I have repurchased on a regular basis. The currant is more pigmented than the original grape which I think this replaced when these were upgraded, and it is a light berry colour but without much red, think diluted blackberries and blackcurrants rather than strawberries, and raspberries. I have disappearing pigment in my lips and I can apply in the dark/with no mirror and have no problems. There is no taste and no fragrance which is a huge bonus - I do not want to taste or smell mango after eating a bacon sarnie thankyou very much - and they come in a decent sized tube. I really think that this could be MLBB, although I do overuse that term, but this gloss delivers treatment, colour, and gloss, in a lasting format. I love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No