Aquolina Blue Sugar

4.3

44 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/20/2008 6:47:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I was totally surprised to happen upon Blue Sugar at my local Loblaws Superstore today - I immediately looked around for Pink (having never smelled it either) but it was nowhere to be found. I located a tester for Blue - it was missing the nozzle - so I turned that pretty blue bottle upside down and pressed the bare tube with my thumbnail. A few drops seeped out under my thumbnail and down my thumb. At first it smelled like a blue fruity freeze pop or something like that - sticky sugary sweet. In less than five minutes it mellowed into a soft black licorice scent. Not zingy like Twizzlers but softer, like Allsorts. I would have liked to have been able to mist this on so I could experience it more fully. As it stands, I would recommend this to lovers of black licorice/anise scents, but since DH detests black licorice, no sale here.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 1/14/2008 9:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The opening is intensely sweet in a sticky, fruity, Bonne Bell lip gloss kinda way. The anise, coriander, and licorice notes add a hint of spiciness that slightly tempers the sugar, though it's a pretty straightforward fruity scent otherwise. I don't detect the ginger, patchouly, lavender or heliotrope notes. The dry-down reveals a somewhat generic oriental-type. It is an improvement but nothing to be rave over. There's tonka, caramel (not too sticky), vanilla, cedarwood--nice and something I might wear if I didn't have to deal with that awful opening. But it's still too sugary for me to imagine this on a man. The dry-down is inoffensive and pleasant, but the opening is incredibly cloying and over-the-top. Not for me.


on 12/15/2007 9:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

a very interesting scent.. i love it a lot on my dh! it smells very manly, yet at the same time has a sweetness to it.
I can't wait to buy the full size for him!


on 10/23/2007 6:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this from Italy with a help of another MUA'er friend (she cp'd me). It was for my son as one of his presents for his birthday. My son like it! it smell nice on him, I can smell sugar, vanilla, and a hint of musk and tobacco. Simple, lightly gourmand yet very interesting fragrance. The staying power is also good. I also like the cute blue bottle and the blue round box packaging. I would definitely repurchase!


on 10/21/2007 5:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Compared to Pink Sugar, this does smell manly. Compared to pretty much any other fragrance, though, it does not. Incredibly sweet (but not as sweet as Pink Sugar) there is a cedar note in Blue Sugar that gives it a slight bit of masculinity (if you can call it that). The initial spray is sweet, sugary-caramel, licorice-woodsy on me and dries down to a mapley-cedar (but if I think about it, I can smell the anise and patchouli). I love how this smells on me, but not as much as I love Pink Sugar, which is sweeter, fresher; more candy and less wood. I would love to smell this on a man but I doubt I ever will (although I can see this appealing to the fashion-conscious male who enjoys a good fitting argyle sweater over a crisp, collared, button-down shirt, and well-groomed hair and nails. The bottle would look good on his dresser.)

notes: Bergamot, Tangerine Leaves, Star Anise, Ginger, Licorice, Patchouli Leaves, Lavender, Heliotrope, Coriander, Caramel, Vanilla, Cedarwood, Tonka Bean.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2007 4:37:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

I think this would be good on a man, but I definitely don't consider it unisex.


on 9/3/2007 10:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was very suprised by blue sugar. I liked it at first sniff, and I decided to try a little on to see how it reacted to my skin. It smelled great at first, just like blue cotton candy, but after about 30 minutes it started giving me a horrible headache just like pink sugar. I would love it if I could convince my husband to wear blue sugar, but there is no way he would ever wear something so sweet. I really think aquolina should market this as a unisex fragrance, because it seems just as appealing to women as men. In fact, if you are women who has grown tired of pink sugar, I suggest you give it a try. Maybe it will work for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/10/2007 11:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Get yourself a box of Good 'n' Plenty. Now, set it on fire. Tah-dah!. . .Blue Sugar! Burnt sugar and licorice. This stuff is beyond foul on me.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this for my dh, but he thought it smelled great but was too sweet. I spritzed it on and voila! We both loved it -- on me! :) Complex and unisex, sweet but not cloying, nice lasting power and very reasonable price point. I'll enjoy this a lot in cooler weather.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

It took me a little while to figure out Blue Sugar. The first time I smelled it, it smelled like fall, like burning leaves, cinnamon, and acorns (yes, I'm aware none of these are actual notes). About a week later, when I wore it again, I definaty could detect greens, anise, woods, and tonka bean, which I had missed the first time around. It's sweet without smelling like syrup-coated-dead-flowers as many "womens" fragrances do. It has great lasting power as well, about 12 hours on my skin.


Popular Fragrances (for Men)


Bleu de Chanel
Bleu de Chanel
29 Reviews
Dirty fragrance
Dirty fragrance
14 Reviews
Black Code
Black Code
50 Reviews

Top Rated Fragrance

image

Dior Dior Homme

35 reviews


Back to Top