Chanel Joues Contraste Powder Blush

4.4

88 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/3/2012 8:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

Very good product...but doesn´t work good with dry skin!
The smell is great, very typical from chanel, but the staying power is also not great... i don´t give it 3 stars because i used it so long, and the color was great...there are many other blushes that should get a 3, not this one...but it dries my skin and it doesn´t stay long...



on 5/25/2012 7:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

The shades I use are the EU and US versions of #44 Narcisse (the former is cooler, the latter peachier) and the US edition of #68 Rose Écrin -- and so far I like the JC formula: it's got the right amount of pigmentation and a pleasing scent; the powder is finely milled, and it produces a subtly glowing color on cheeks. What I don't like about it is that the compact only opens 90° and the brushes are pitiful.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2011 7:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the colours, love how pretty/ natural they look once on.
I get these abroad cuz i dun think NA gets the good kind?
You DON'T get enough product to justify the cost, so that's one strike.
Not that pigmented, but finely milled and good colour selection.
Need to re-apply 2ce during day, so NOT long-lasting at all.
Two strikes against it, and two redeeming factors. Won't rebuy. Heard Bourjois blushes are pretty good and they look similar, will check those out next.


on 10/11/2011 4:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

For a general review, Chanel's JC blushes are my absolute favorites. Longevity is decent on my oily skin at 4ish hours, and the colors apply subtly and naturally rather than a "oh HAI I'm wearing blush" look. If you're looking for an avant garde look Chanel's JCs are probably not for you. JC packaging is sleek black, has a mirror, opens at 90 degrees and includes a brush, making it quite travel-friendly.


However, I love the European versions *far* more than the US ones. European JCs are baked versus the powdery US versions, and IMO give a much more natural look. Euro JCs have a subtle sheen to them whereas the US ones are glittery and tend to sit on top of my skin rather than enhance it. Yes, the US JCs are easier to pick up the powder with a brush, but the effect tends to be heavier and more obvious rather than subtle and natural. I've heard that Chanel is consolidating all of their production to Europe, so hopefully this means the US versions will be completely phased out.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2011 3:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I can stop looking for "my" blush, because I have found it!
I use Chanel's Joues Contraste in "In Love" and this shade is the most perfect rosewood color for my medium-fair skintone. And if it comes to blush, I almost never find a good colour match! So I was amazed from the beginning, and the amazement happilly continued as i was using this product. Though it's supposed to come out strong on the cheeks, it gave me a healthy, rosy glow rather than a pop of colour, which is a good thing.
The product has some golden sparks, although it doesn't look shiny on the skin, it has a very natural finish. What's more, I have been using this for nearly three months on a daily basis and it looks the same as when i opened it, so I think it's going to last for ages. Overall, I will definitely repurchase Joues Contraste and I am pretty sure that I will stick with it for a very long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2011 6:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a review for the new Rose Tourbillon JC, an Asia exclusive. Simply had to rave about how beautiful this blush is. I'm about NC-20 (in mac) and 10 Beige Claire for Chanel's foundations and this blush makes me look like a pretty pink princess. In the pan, Rose Tourbillion looks frighteningly glittery but on my cheeks, its just a very soft pink glow. Love it! I feel so luxurious wearing this. It's a pity that being an Asia exclusive, few people will get to appreciate the gorgeousness of this blush.
For reference, I own 3 other JCs: 99 Rose Petale, Reflex and Fresque. I have to say that I like 99 Rose Petale just a shade better than Rose Tourbillon, but this comes a close second.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2011 5:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have No. 64, Pink Explosion, bought in Europe for 36 Euro. Love the smellof roses, hate the brush. I thought Chanel has to have some kind of standard, well apparently not. The hair is coming out of the brush,already from the first time I used this product. Nevertheless the colour fits perfectly. I always blow the first layer off the brush, which makes it look more natural. Expensive but worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2010 2:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am not a big fan of the Chanel Joues contraste blushes. I know I am in the minority here...lol. IMO the blush seems to magnify my facial pores. It does not look as natural to me as my dior blushes do. I have bought Rose Petale, Rose Bronze, Orchid Rose, and Rose Dust, But none did it for me, so i gave up. My Favorite blushes are from Dior Chantecaille and LM (They look so natural). I also do not like a heavy blush so most of the blushes I favor do not have strong pigmentation. Hence Chantecaille, diorblush and Laura mercier 2nd skin color blushes. Not a fan of the Chanel Rose scent. The blush dome is pretty but the packaging is so so.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2010 10:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Wonderful blusher. I have "tea rose" and itt actually smells like roses! It looks so natural on my skin. The brush that comes with it is, as far as I am concerned, not soft enough - but you can always use your own :) Lovely range of colours to chose from. Definitely a must!


on 1/11/2010 11:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I know some people hate them and think the hype is all about the name alone, but I truly ♥ them. Here's why:


The texture: It’s so finely milled (finest powder blushes I’ve ever come across) it’s creamy smooth and melts on your skin. The texture is so fine the blush will never look chalky on the skin.


The shades: While I can’t say that they are universally flattering or highly pigmented like NARS (or MAC or Bobbi Brown) can be (they don’t show on darker skins) light to medium skins will find that they give such a natural glow. And although sparkly in the pan, these sparkles don't show on the skin; neither do they accentuate my pores or add glitter on my cheeks; if anything the sparkles only help to subtly contour the cheekbones.


The security that they won't break me out: I have used them over moisturiser alone, over foundation + primer and powder, over powder alone etc and never once has my skin reacted negatively.


The scent: I know some people dislike scented products, but this is what dots the i on the word luxurious for this blush. I like applying (and reapplying!) the blush just so I could enjoy the scent.


All that said the brush that comes with them is utterly useless, and I could do without the not-so-velvety velvet pouch, but I know others who love that the brush makes the compact very travel-friendly (it does work if you are desperate) and the pouch does help with keeping the compact scratch-free (which you do want to do, considering how much money you are parting for a pan of JC).


Bottomline: More JC's will find their way in my blush collection soon!


Oh and they last considerably long on my cheeks, which is pretty amazing seeing that it's hot and humid where I am, and nothing lasts all day without touchups.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Blush Products


Orgasm Blush
5135 Reviews
Contour Kit
90 Reviews


Back to Top