NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

4.3

66 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

c12 13 Alkyl Ethylhexanoate, Candelilla Cera (Euphorbia Cerifera Wax), Polyethylene, Cyclomethicone, Phenyltrimethicone, Silica, Dimethicone, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyate, Hydrogenated Coco Glycerides, Di Calcium Phosphate, Quaternium 18 Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Aroma (Flavor), Lecithin, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Citric Acid, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Red 30 (CI 73360), Yellow 10 Lake (CI 47005), Red 6, Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 22 Lake (CI 45380), Carmine (CI 75470), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163)


on 10/31/2013 3:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've had Cruella for a long time but rediscovered it today. I received so many compliments on this lip color. I forgot how much I love it. I'd say Cruella is a perfect neutral red on me. The matte finish along with the beautiful rich color, it's stunning. Without looking overdone/garish. I have a lot of reds but if I had to go down to one I'd be okay with only Cruella.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

NARS Cruella - where the frick have you been all my life?!

I wasn't really a lipstick girl. I was more into black eyeliner and foundation, and that was it. I liked the look of red lips but I wasn't sure then that I had the right attitude for it, yet I had a very brief stint with trying to find the perfect red for me without looking like I ate some bloody animal carcass. And so I forgot all about red lipstick and slowly added more cosmetics to my daily makeup.

Then at 21, I got fixated again on red lipstick. And I found NARS Cruella. Or rather, Cruella found me, and I was a goner.

I do color outside the lip line when I use NARS velvet matte pencils, and just shape it when I'm finished using YSL Touche Eclat. I thought it might look a bit much for daytime, but when I thought, "Who cares? I'm going to rock it." I knew that I was ready to take on red lipstick.

Oh, NARS Cruella you life-changer you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2013 10:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This one is no good. I─▒ is extremely drying. I love the retro matte finish and I know that it is not the most comfortable lipstick formula out there but Cruella is just too challenging. I have other Velvet matte pencils and it surprised me that it doesn't live up to my expectations as the other ones did. Color is very beautiful,and it's packed with pigment.It doesn't stay on my lips for too long because it feels beyond uncomfortable and immediately settles into lip lines and gives a horrible cracked look. Two lippies for the color and softness during application.I can only wear this with a heavy balm underneath which destroys the point of wearing matte lipstick. Guerlain Rouge Automatique in shade Liu a very close color with a glossy finish. I will stick with that one when my desired result is a more glossy lip.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/18/2013 11:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

Damn, baby.

I would describe this color as halfway between red and bordeaux. Maroon but not as intense. Neutral.

I wish I could pull off red lips and to be honest I kind of can. But for years I worried I wasn't the type of person who could wear it with total, scary confidence. Because there is something about a girl who can pull off red lipstick. She needs to be confident because the color is so polarizing. She needs to be effortless and shrewd enough to wear the lipstick and not have the lipstick wear her. She isn't a girl. She's a woman. And if you don't like red lipstick you can go fuck yourself because she's not wearing it for you. Cruella, for me, is just that. It's the first non-drugstore red I bought and it looks mean, sexy, dangerous and bloody. It's the first time I wore a red lipstick and didn't think about wearing it if you know what I mean. It's so sexy. It's almost XXX. It's like fishnet stockings on your mouth. However, it holds such timeless elegance. It evokes the flapper with her cropped hair and the dip in the back of her dress. Sitting at the table, a glass in her hand, her boyfriend trailing her spine with his knuckle, all while smoke curls around her head like a halo. Lawd have mercy.

The formulation is really great. I usually buy matte lipsticks but always blot them down and put a balm on them so that they look like the natural color of my lips. I really can't blot this down because it's so pigmented and light. There isn't anything to take off. And why would I want to? It's non drying and on days when I feel my lips beginning to parch I just treat them with coconut oil at night (see my review on Jack Black balm for instructions on the perfect lip balm combo.) I apply and done. I don't use a lip brush but that's only because I don't have one. I would recommend using it for perfection. I've worn this for three hours tops and it's stayed. I don't know if reapplication is necessary after that. I only wish it were a teeeeeny bit more moisturizing. It's already such fabulous products but I'm greedy and makeup is crazy competitive so they can make it work. The packaging is beautiful but I wish this came in a tube because I reallyreallyhellahate sharpening pencils of any kind, especially lip pencils.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2013 8:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I absolutely live this shade if red. It last for hours and does not feather. I have girls who will stop me and ask What lipstick am I wearing and they live how it makes my lips look. I can wear it yo wirk for meetings and nor feel like its an inappropriate shade. I feel like I've searched for the perfect red and I have finally found it!! I want to buy more as I'm worried it'll either be too popular and hard to find or it will be discontinued like the Fire Down Below shade I believe made famous by Celebrities like Selena who was Mexican like me.


on 4/15/2013 10:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The truest of true blood reds. Doesn't pull too cool or too warm, and it will not turn fuchsia on cool toned ladies. For such an intense color, application is a breeze and the color stays true and stays put. Unlike virtually every MAC red, Cruella does not require a lipliner underneath. It remains my favorite color to pair with a high bun, flawless dewy skin, simple eyes, and sunglasses for easy weekend glamor. I am so grateful to Franšois Nars for creating this masterpiece.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2013 9:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very little confidence wearing red lipstick - I think it looks fabulous on other people and have always felt a little envious of their confidence to carry off such a vibrant colour. But I'm also a closet red lipstick/gloss junkie and have bought so many variations from so many places including YSL, Tom Ford, Bobbi Brown's Red Carpet, MAC's Ruby Woo and Lady Bug, and goodness knows how many lip glosses from Mary Kay, Armani, Laura Mercier, Dior and Chanel. When I'm experimenting with looks before a night out or upcoming events, I quite often settle on a red lipstick look the night before and chicken out minutes before stepping out. I thought I'd found the solution when I discovered the Clinique Chubby Sticks - both the original and intense variety - and although great, are very much like coloured lip balm with the texture and finish that goes with it.

My main problem has been applying it neatly to the corners of my lips and v bit of my upper lip - on me, red lipsticks leave no room for error otherwise it spoils the entire look. I've tried lip liners (including a clear one), applying them with lip brushes of various types, finishing by going round the outsides of my lips with concealer, etc,etc,etc but I can't get a neat outline without several attempts. My other worry is the amount of transfer from red lipsticks and the unsightly red smudges it can leave if I accidentally brush my mouth with my hand and also the dreaded worry of getting it on my teeth. I've seen it happen on other people and it makes me apprehensive.

Cruella solves a multitude of problems. It has a more solid consistency on application - like the ideal balance between lipstick and lip liner giving more control over how it's applied. It's soft enough that it doesn't drag over lips like lip liners do though. The chunky pencil makes for easier handling. I though it would be tricky in the corners because the tip was too thick but it's absolutely fine. I find it easier to 'draw' rather than apply with a lip brush or straight out the tube (because once the tip of a new lipstick has worn down, it gets trickier to apply with a shapeless end without a brush).

The colour is phenomenal and so flattering. I bought it because the MUA was wearing it and she was ivory fair with bright blue eyes and dark hair but convinced me it would suit me with my asian skin tones, black hair and brown eyes. I have a darker natural hue to my lips so on me it comes out a deep scarlet and the extremely matte tone gives it a professional and sexy edgy. There is very little transfer after applying - there were no deeply coloured lip marks left on glasses. The staying power is something that needs to be tried to be believed - I went for a meal after work having touched it up once after lunch whilst there, and during dinner I dabbed my lips a few times and saw colour on the napkin - when I went to the bathroom, I expected the colour to be gone but it wasn't!. Perhaps slightly faded but still completely even.

Teamed with black liquid or gel eyeliner and retro flicks, this gives an instant glamorous look that is definitely good enough for a night out and I'm even brave enough to start wearing to work. I've had lots of compliments on it and it's made me so much braver to try out other red colours. Now the other ladies at work have started asking about 'that matte lipstick' and I've been spreading the word.

I appreciate the gripe about sharpening the pencil and losing product but I personally find having a point easier to work with in terms of application so I'll run with it. The lid definitely becomes a little loose over time and I wish the had a cap that clicks on like Dior eyeliners do. The one other thing I noticed and it goes for all the matte lip pencils by NARS - they can be a little drying and after removing it along with the rest of my makeup, I find that my lips are a little tingly - nothing that smudge of lip balm doesn't fix.

I am so glad I found this product and it will remain a staple in my makeup collection for a good while. At the moment, I don't think many other lip colours can rival its shade, texture, finish and staying power.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2013 6:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

Love this red. Blue-based, creamy, doesn't require a lipliner, and has good staying power. I love the pencil consistency because it's more like a moisturizing lipstick rather than a drying pencil. Looks great when I'm anywhere between NC25-NC35.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2012 9:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I probably would repurchase this because a. it's a gorgeous color, b. it's a great matte red shade, and c. it doesn't feather, bleed, or fade in any bizarre way.
The packaging leaves a lot to be desired. In a world where those dreadful Tarte Lipsurgence crayons can have a twist-up design, one might imagine that another lip crayon at the same price point with far superior quality would follow suit. I can deal with having to sharpen a less expensive product, but when I drop $25 on any product, I don't any of it to be wasted. At all. This would be my only road block in terms of repurchasing this lip color.
The color itself is so wonderfully glamorous and chic. I love the true matte finish (not like the Bite pencils which are more of a satin finish than matte) and it works so well against my skin tone. I feel like a classic film star when I'm wearing this.
The staying power is superb. I didn't think it would be because the Train Blue (or however it's spelled) color faded and bled horribly within a couple hours of trying it on. This one doesn't do that at all. It stays beautifully within my lip line, leaving a gorgeous sharp border and perfect definition. I don't need liner or lip primer underneath. I just swipe this beauty on and I'm good to go.
It can be a tad drying, but I always prep my lips with plenty of moisture before applying. I rub in coconut oil until it absorbs, then a lot of lip balm, let it seep in, then blot the balm off and apply the color. Perfect!
All in all, I'd say the product itself is fantastic. I just hope they give the packaging a makeover so less product is wasted.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2012 9:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have been admiring "Cruella" on a friend of mine and, put off by the price tag, I went in search of a drug store dupe that was cheaper. However, I failed to find one that had the staying power of NARS. This stuff STAYS PUT on my lips, which is a huge deal, because I am not exceptionally careful when wearing lipstick and I am always smudging it. This stuff is magnificent. Great color, great application, even the fact that it is matte and therefore "dry" doesn't bother my prone-to-chapping-lips.

I will probably buy this again, but will need to start saving up... At twenty-four bucks a pop, these are not cheap!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Sephora VIB ROUGE/Beauty Insider Birthday Gift 2015 by Orange mint Pop



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top