CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion

4.0

543 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water Purified, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Behentrimonium Methosulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth 20 and Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Dimethicone, Polysorbate 20, Polyglyceryl 3 Diisostearate, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum


on 2/23/2015 8:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I feel that this lotion is very overrated. It gets a lot of good reviews and the ceramides are supposed to be good for you, so I decided to try it. Well, it's one of the most useless lotions I've ever tried. It simply doesn't moisturize well at all. We are having a very cold winter here in the NYC area and skin needs all the help it can get. I put this on, and 10 minutes later my skin feels dry like I never used moisturizer. I really don't know what good it's supposed to be doing for my skin but when I have to use several coats of it to make my skin feel moisturized, I know I picked the wrong darned product. Waste of money!



on 2/20/2015 11:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I love this moisturizer. I have extremely dry, sensitive skin due to chronic medical conditions and am always looking for ways to hydrate my skin without irritating. This is the only moisturizer I've come across that brings absolutely no irritation to my skin. I've tried lots specifically formulated for sensitive skin including brands like First Aid Beauty and Simple, but even those burned. But I'm not just saying this is amazing because it's non-irritating, it is nicely moisturizing too. It definitely helps with any dryness on the face. I use it mostly in the summer, as I don't find this moisturizing enough for the winter and it is great. All in all, I think this would be great for all skin types and I would definitely recommend it.


on 1/25/2015 3:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for a couple off weeks now, and so far I love it! My boyfriend loves it as much as I do since its not greasy at all and absorbs in the skin quickly. It's light formulation and you get a big bottle. I actually had no idea this is for body, but I've been using it on my face and it works well. It's an underrated brand and you get a lot for what you pay for.


on 1/23/2015 3:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm confused as to why this has four stars. Maybe it works for people that aren't prone to breakouts, but for my dry skin it just left a shiny film. It also caused irritated skin and clogged up pores. This and the neutrogena have been pretty poor moisturizers. (Probably from similar ingredients). If your acne prone I would advise to stay away from both :/


on 1/12/2015 11:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a fantastic moisturizer

I have tried several others (cetaphil cream, lotion, SPF, aveeno, neutrogena, clinique, lancome, all kinds of others) and this one is

-non-irritating
-soothing
-moisturizing

I feel a bit concerned to read people find this breaks them out

I agree that certain products do break people out, but when I had acne for many years, I broke out anyways. The only thing that stopped breakouts was 2 courses of accutane. What I am trying to say is that its important to identify the underlying cause of breakouts rather than attribute them to a single product, especially one like this. I feel that this lower than deserved rating has a lot to do with ratings due to perceived breakouts. This seems unfair.

In any case, this is an HG moisturizer for me and I have no intention of changing soon

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2015 12:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have honestly never found a product to be more unappealing. I bought this, CeraVe Daily Moisturizer with SPF 30 on a Wednesday and by Friday I had a serious breakout from my forehead to my chin. The bumps were red and itchy and my face was incredibly dry from using it. I stopped using the product on Saturday and by Monday the breakout had gone away. I called the company and requested a refund because it cost me over 13 dollars. The company was happy to send me back my money. Don't buy it, your better off using something with fragrance.


on 1/3/2015 12:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for over 7 years now. It is my HG facial moisturizer, and no other product has given me consistently positive results over such a long period of time. My daily routine is as follows: I wash my face with Neutrogena Naturals face wash and apply Keihl's Midnight Recovery Concentrate to my wet skin. Once that sets in I add the Cerave lotion and finish with Elta MD sunscreen. The Cerave lotion absorbs quickly and keeps my skin hydrated all day. It's light enough that my skin doesn't get shiny as the day goes on. As I've gotten older my skin has changed from combo to normal, and this lotion worked with both types. This is a very high quality product, and you get a lot for your money!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2015 2:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I finally got the chance to try this lotion. I chose the lotion instead of the cream because I have combination, acne prone skin but it is very dry and sensitive in the winter so I thought this could be a solution. It only made my skin greasy, oily, clogged my pores and gave me pimples. Used it just for few days and now I use it for my body. Dissapointed. It happened the same with Cetaphil Lotion.


on 1/2/2015 2:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Really like this product....not too greasy and makes your face very smooth. Great price too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2014 8:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have been searching for a moisturizing cream that contains ceramides. I'm surprised that there are not more options for purchase in this category, given the apparently incredible effect they have on skin healing and beauty. I couldn't find a budget-friendly ceramides complex cream that was affordable other than the Cerave brand.

The problem with this brand is that it contains parabens, and I'm allergic to them. I had a terrible rash years ago around my eyes using a product that contained parabens, and my dermatologist told me to avoid them in all facial products.

So, I was delighted when I discovered that the Cerave BABY Lotion does not contain parabens. The only negative ingredient in the baby lotion is 1 percent dimethicone, but it's a very small amount and supposedly safe in cosmetic ingredients. My main concern was the parabens, so I'm giving this a try. Also, this formula contains niacinamide, an ingredient I've also been wanting in a skin cream, as well as hyaluronic acid. I will use this as a night cream with the goal of getting the much-vaunted ceramides effect.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top