September 22, 2014 | 2209 users online

Eye Shadow - Almay - Intense i-Color Trio for Blues



image 0

rated 3.3(59 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 50% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 9/9/2008 11:45:00 PM More reviews by FadetoSparkle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I was hesitant to try this but figured it was worth a shot. I have pale skin with blue undertones and medium blue eyes and this just looked silly on me. The colors just looked too harsh on me, especially the brown. I figured it was in my head so I tried to line my eyes with the light blue shade but again, it just didn't work. I looked like a bad disco barbie doll. I'm glad it worked for others but It just didn't look right for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/30/2008 3:37:00 PM More reviews by musicxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Other

Not my favorite.

The light blue and brown are not pigmented at all, and the middle darker blue is pigmented, but a bit hard to tell.

The only reason I'm rating it 3 stars is because I like to use the brown as a crease shade when I'm doing neutral looks. The other colors are not for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/16/2008 1:41:00 AM More reviews by anoceanbetween2

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

After attending a class on Revlon and Almay products through my work, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that Almay's products are both gentle and good for the skin. I decided the first product I had to try was their eyeshadow trio for my eye color.These 3 beautifully coordinated shades go on smoothly and blend easily to create the exact look pictured on the packaging. It is not a look I would use every day, but for a special night out, I now know what to reach for :).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/22/2008 12:53:00 PM More reviews by snyder

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I had been eyeing this for awhile, but I was worried about putting blue eyeshadow on my blue eyes. I thought it would look dated and too much of a color match to bring out my blue eyes. I was WRONG!! I bought it because Walgreens had a BOGOF sale and I wanted the Play it Up trio for blue eyes (that one has a shimmery copper, dark brown and a shimmery sand color). This one has a shimmery brown (which is such a pretty brown--btw), a navy blue and light shimmery blue. I read the directions on the back of the package and followed them. I put the brown on the lid with the navy in the crease. Then you were supposed to put the light blue under the brow bone, which I didn't do because that never looks right on me. I also used my Almay Brown Topaz liquid liner, which I LOVE and wear daily. Looks really nice! It turned out a bit more smoky than I thought it would, so it would make a good evening/going out look. But I'm happy I finally decided to give it a try.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/20/2008 8:48:00 PM More reviews by xcakexfacex

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Others seem not to like this product but I think that it makes my eyes look so much better than any other shadow that I've tried. I followed the instructions on the package and I looked like a clown! Then I blended the colors together a little to make them less intense and viola! It was the best shadow that I've used. For me, I get a crease (but barely at all) and I don't reapply throughout theday which is nice. I think that some may not like it either because the colors don't look good with their skin tone, hair color, etc. or that they did not smooth out the colors like I did. I would tell people to try it, but if you're not sure, wait for a sale or something so if you don't like it, then you won't be out of more money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/23/2008 3:10:00 PM More reviews by blondie7110

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

At first I couldn't figure out where to put what but soon found that using the brownish color on lid, light blue in the crease, and the dark blue on the outer corner of eyes and swept under eye is what worked for me. I like a smokey eye and this gives me a fairly in my opinion natural not so harsh smokey eye. I use L'oreal Restless as a highlighter on the brow bone with this. I would never think of using the blues that are in this kit but it does work on blue eyes. If you change where you actually apply the colors for example if you put the light blue on the lid, it doesn't make your eyes appear as blue. The brown on the lid is what works!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/22/2008 9:39:00 PM More reviews by dawnsgleam

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This looks so pretty and I love how it brings out the blue in my hazel eyes, when applied with navy kohl liner and the Blue Sapphire Intense i-Color mascara. I appreciate the recommendation the reviewer who said to apply the lighter blue shade only on the lower brow bone-- very helpful advice because it prevents a really dated look. The coppery brown shade has a slight metallic glow and is very pretty. And the coppery brown shade needs to be applied sparingly and blended well, especially for people with heavier eyelids. This Intense i-Color set provides rich color and I think it's gorgeous!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/21/2008 11:22:00 AM More reviews by aastew

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I think this is an ok DS eyeshadow. It doesn't compare to MAC shadows but if you are on a budget it does ok..it just doesn't stay long on your eyes. I have blue eyes and I like the dark blue shade in my crease and then I use MAC ricepaper for my lids and below my brow. It works ok when I am low on money and need a cheap blue or brown shadow for my eyes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/11/2008 8:35:00 PM More reviews by vizza4shizza

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I finally figured out how to wear this. I bought it because I thought it would work with my blue eyes, but it looked very 80's. I hardly ever pulled it out, and then recently I was inspired... I put the brown all over the lid, the dark blue along the top lashes with an eyeliner brush (dry, but it would probably work wet too) and then the super light blue along the bottom lashes. The super light blue on the bottom lashes kind of opens the look of your eyes (like a white pencil does). The top lid has brown for the majority color- which is not as 80's, and then just a hint of blue for the eyeliner/lash line. Considering all of this, it looks pretty good now, and it compliments my blue/gray eyes. If only I figured this out 2 years ago when I bought it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/22/2008 10:11:00 PM More reviews by sskatygirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I might have bought this again just for the brown shade, which does really make my blue eyes pop, but I found a very similar color for much less.
However, with the blue shades, its simply _too_ much eye makeup....even for a night look! It makes me feel like I'm in the seventies....

Is this review helpful? Yes No