Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder

3.8

1177 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

TALC,MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POLYETHYLENE, PETROLATUM, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, DIMETHICONE, POLYBUTENE, ISOSTEARYL NEOPENTANOATE, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, METHYLPARABEN, COCOS NUCIFERA, PARAFFINUM LIQUIDUM, PROPYLPARABEN, PARFUM, ALOE BARBADENSIS, BHT, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, BENZYL SALICYLATE, CITRONELLOL, HEXYL CINNAMAL, HYDROXYISOHEXYL 3-CYCLOHEXENE CARBOXALDEHYDE, LINALOOL, BUTYLPARABEN. [ /- MICA, CI 77891, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77007].


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I love everything about this but the crap packaging. I am not super oily so YMMV. It just evens everything out. Cheap and works nicely with the Goss method



on 4/30/2015 8:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

so this is basically my cheap/"lazy" powder. as the other reviews have said it is very inexpensive. i generally prefer to use a full coverage foundation, then set with translucent powder. this pressed powder i only use after i've applied bb cream but still need a bit more coverage (which translucent powder cant really provide). it works great for that purpose. i have oily skin and this powder does help to keep my face matte for longer. for me, this is what i use when i don't feel like wearing a lot of makeup but my face is too broken out to use a more sheer powder.


on 4/26/2015 2:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this product for years now, and I do not have any complaints for the price. The one down side is the packaging. I don't think I have gotten a full use out of the product before the top shattered. I recommend buying the translucent powder, and applying on top of your liquid foundation and blush.


on 4/24/2015 8:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok.. by far the worst compact i have ever tried. This probably stays matte on my skin for about 15 mins, if that. My face actually ends up being shinier than before... never buy this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2015 3:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have very oily/combination/acne-prone skin.

PROS:
-Very affordable
-Stays matte for maybe 2 hours (on my skin)
-Translucent (the transparent one)

Cons:
-Skin didn't stay matte for very long
-Clogged my pores/broke me out
-Cheap packaging, plastic lid does not stay on very well and breaks rather easily
-The packaging eventually broke in my bag and got all over my things
-Smelled strongly of talc

I bought this because the beauty concierge at Target recommended it, but it did not work for me very well.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2015 9:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love it beats all high end powders buy it you will see for yourself. Amazing Product I hope they never stop making it.


on 4/22/2015 3:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This product is actually pretty good, and I highly recommend it for people with oily skin. I used this product a lot when I was younger and struggling to keep my makeup on for longer than a few hours, and this powder did the trick. Now that I'm older and have combination skin that isn't as oily, it looks too cakey and unnaturally matte on me. The reason why I won't be repurchasing is because of the change of the oiliness of my skin, not the quality of the product.

The powder is a really good price, especially for the quality of the powder. It truly does what it says it does. It keeps your skin matte, for a really long time. I didn't use the powder for setting my foundation all over my face, but usually used it in my T-zone to keep my oily areas in check. Even with oily skin, I like to use dewy foundation sometimes, and this powder still worked great and helped my makeup's longevity. Due to that, I really recommend it for oily skin because I think it's the best powder I've tried for oily skin. I can't comment on how it would fare on dry skin, because I don't have it, and none of my friends with dry skin use it.

I have to say, I don't like the packaging. The plastic cover just pushes down onto the pan of the powder and with more usage, the plastic cover eventually became less tight and slipped off the pan a few times. I think the packaging could improve, especially because oily-skinned people may want to bring it out with them. A mirror and included in the packaging would be helpful.

Though I don't use this powder anymore, it's the best one I've tried in the drugstore and it is much more cheap than expensive products that don't actually keep oily skin matte. This powder doesn't give me a glow, nor does it give me any extra dimension on my face. It's a powder I used to keep my skin more matte rather than oily, which is exactly what it promises.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got it in the light/ivory color and it works great, makes my skin look more even and less oily, gets ride of the shine and helps lessen my redness. Applies evenly on my brush and doesn't cake up on my face.


on 4/11/2015 8:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's quite a good setting powder and doesn't give me a cakey look when I use it on top of my Naked Skin foundation! It does its job of keeping you matte for five hours, so don't expect more! I'm giving this a good rating because of that, but I would also not repurchase it given the chance, because of that too.


on 4/9/2015 5:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

i love this powder it really stays matte I usually use mac studio and lancome matte after 3 or 4 hours my skin get oily . this is cheap and it works better then the ones Ive been using.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top