Dove Sensitive Essentials Day Lotion

4.1

124 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Pentylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Cholesterol, Bisabolol, Sodium PCA, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E Acetate), Dimethicone, Linoleic Acid, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Isohexadecane, Saccharide Isomerate, Coriandrum Sativum Seed Oil (Coriander), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Avena Sativa Kernel Extract (Oat), Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate, Linoleamidopropyl BG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Citrate, Citric Acid, PEG-4 Laurate, Disodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I think this product has been discontinued. If it has, I'll cry inside. Anyway, I like this moisturizer. It's simple. No fragrance, no sunscreen (I like mine separate), and it works well to boot. It's a fairly light lotion, so those with very dry skin probably won't benefit too much from this product, but my combination/dryish in the winter skin loves it. However if you put on too much it does make your face feel waxy. To prevent this I put about a pea sized amount on my fingers and rub it around in my hands before applying on my face. This seems to prevent any areas from having too much. If I need to I spot apply after.
I haven't broken out from this product and I don't THINK it makes my t-zone oilier than normal. I switched to this from Aveeno Positively Radiant...which did make me a touch oilier (sunscreen, I suspect). Also something to note: this has oil in it, as well as shea butter. Neither seem to bother my sensitive (and blackhead prone) skin and I don't get dry patches anymore. So I'm happy. But if you're sensitive to these, heads up.
Oh, it's also pretty inexpensive -- $7.



on 7/22/2008 10:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product was not right for my skin. I've used two moisturizers for my skin meant for sensitive skin, Dove is one of them. It dried my dry parts out, and it made the normal parts of my skin feel oily. I tend to break out in the spots on my skin that aren't hydrated enough, so I now have some blemishes around my mouth to look forward to. Plus, it made my face feel itchy 20 minutes after I applied. Initially I thought it was the new cleanser, but I decided to use my old moisturizer (which wasn't for sensitive skin, by the way), and no itchy skin. I give it two lippies because it is fragrance-free (without an odor), dye-free, and the packaging is cute.


on 7/18/2008 11:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this lotion. I sometimes get dry skin around my lips, but the skin is very sensitive and a lot of lotions flare up my rosacea-like symptoms. I don't get flare-ups with this stuff and I love that it's not scented. I use it as an all-over night cream sometimes too.


on 6/22/2008 10:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

LOVE:) No scent, light and non-greasy. My acne prone skin doesn't need heavy moisturizing. Good for nighttime when I don't need SPF. Great price and I like the packaging. Will definitely repurchase! A nice, simple product - exactly what I want.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2008 12:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Super awesome HG product. Barely costs anything, generous amount. Non irritating, non stinky. It's a soft fluid that sinks right in and moisturizes without any oiliness or residue. No problem applying makeup over it. I've been through 3 bottles of this and will keep right on buying! It would be cool if they would add a pump to the bottle, but if not, that's ok. Just shake upside down then squeeze small dollop onto palm.

Seriously this is the best.


on 3/19/2008 9:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent drugstore moisturizer. It is cheap and works great! It might be heavy enough for super-dry skin, but I love it. Does leave my T-zone a tad oily, though but most moisturizers do. I love that it has some good, more advanced ingredients in it and feel that my it is helping my skin. I haven't found anything comparable at the drugstore.


on 2/16/2008 1:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I like that this product is fragrance free and makes my face really smooth. However, it makes my T-zone get quite shiny and oily after a few hours.


on 2/2/2008 7:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have repurchased this moisturizer probably 10 times. I have normal combo skin, and this is probably the only moisturizer I have ever used that has not irritated my skin or eventually caused me to break out. As this is a lotion, it doesn't give you super-heavy-duty moisturization - for this reason I also use (and love) the cream version in the jar and alternate the two when I am drier. I love love love this and will die if they discontinue it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2008 11:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I LOVE this cream. SO good for sensitive skin and it even improved the texture of my skin.
The only downfall is that it doesn't have SPF in it, so I rarely use it anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE it so far..(it's only been 2 weeks)..I have combo/sensitive acne prone skin with redness...I use a Rx retinoid so it can be very sensitive at times. I use the matching cleanser too..they came together for only $10. ***It does have an odd feeling to it though. When you first rub it in to your skin it feels very cooling/fresh but when you keep messaging it in ...it feels like you are rubbing wax on your face...so odd!!!!!!
I was concerned because I'm acne prone that this waxiness might clog my pores...but it hasn't... the wax feeling goes away quickly..and so far no breakouts...so whatever.
It absorbs quickly ...and doesn't make my face red...doesn't make my skin too oily/shiny..it's really good...and my skin has improved....I'll keep buying it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top