Kerastase Bain Volumactive Shampoo

3.3

55 reviews

43% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Laureth-5 Carboxylic Acid, Disodium Cocoamidopropionate, Glycol Distearate, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Laureth-8 Sulfate, Cocamide MIPA, Hexylene Glycol, Magnesium Laureth-8 Sulfate, Magnesium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Oleth Sulfate, Hydroxypropyl Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Sodium Methylparaben, Sodium Hydroxide, DMDM Hydantoin, Carbomer, Magnesium Oleth Sulfate, Polyquaternium-7, Methylparaben, Quaternium-87, 2-Oleamido-1,3, Octadecanediol, Fragrance (Parfum)


on 7/30/2010 4:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not really sure what to think of this product.
I bought it because it has a volumizing effect. I really need this one because I live in a tropical country and the weather always make my hair so flat due to my fine hair. So what I love most is even if it is so expensive, a little amount of shampoo can already lather my hair nicely. Plus the smell is really good. I can't really say that it volumized my hair but it solved my "flat hair" problem. So that's quite impressive. But as days go by, it made my hair look dry,frizzy and dull. Maybe because I use it everyday without any conditioner. But the problem is when I use a conditioner, it makes my hair limp again. Maybe I have to use a Kerastase conditioner too which means more money again. Plus, another thing why I like this shampoo is because it solved my dandruff problem. All my life, I've been using anti dandruff shampoo because other shampoos only make my scalp flaky.
So now, I have stopped using this shampoo for a while and I'm now using another Loreal product but my scalp itchiness came back. This Kerastase product is almost perfect for me because it solved two of my hair problems, but it's much better if it won't dry my hair out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/5/2010 12:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

OMG - I am so mad at myself for spending $30+ on not just the shampoo but the conditioner, too. I wish I read these reviews first, but it was an impulse buy . . . :) I am so glad I read the reviews, anyway, because I thought I was going crazy. This shampoo has actually made my hair worse: it has dried it out, frizzed the ends and will not hold a style. I kept wondering if it was the Kerastase, but I thought, "How could it, it is so expensive and highly recommended!!" Now I know it is the Kerastase. The conditioner isn't any good either - it leaves a sticky, thick residue in my hair, and when I use both the shampoo and conditioner together, it really won't hold a style and the ends of my hair look fried . . . and I just got my hair done recently.


on 1/13/2010 11:13:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

One word...BLECH. This shampoo dries my scalp out to the point that my scalp flakes! Luckily I got a sample first. This is really one the worst shampoo's I ever used and I've tried a ton of them. The only nice thing I can say about this poo is that it smells good, that's it.


on 1/5/2010 10:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I don't see what the big deal is with Kerastase products here on this site. It even says L'Oreal on the bottle, how GOOD can it be? It was just mediocre shampoo. It cleaned my hair and didn't smell bad. I have no clue why this brand is so expensive.
I was about to go into a high end salon on the UES for cut and color. I saw they used Kerastase and chose to go elsewhere. Typical shampoo that should be 1/4 the price and sold at drugstores, IMHO.


on 1/3/2010 10:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great shampoo! I have thin but a lot hair! The shampoo works for me. I always shower in the morning and the next morning my hair is still poofy. It smells great.


on 9/30/2009 7:18:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I had high expectations for this product, as I tend to favor Kerastase for all of my hair care. I was very disappointed. Like the other reviews, it offered nothing in the way of volume. Further, it made my hair rather static-y and made styling much more difficult. I would even go so far as to suggest that my hair had less body than it generally does without any product. I have fine hair, but lots of it, so generating volume is not a totally difficult task. I also have color-treated blonde hair. I usually use the Green or Pink Kerastase line for shampoo and something yellow for conditioner. I will stick with those, since this was not impressive at all.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

...and I have 2 full bottles of it!!
Yep, I am a fan of the Green Kerastase line, I mean I swear by Bain the Force and Age-Recharge deep conditioning mask; I also have fine, chemically treated hair (highlights) and I surely need volume. So I tried Volumactive, and I also got one bottle for free as a prize. Now I am on my first bottle and I am not satisified.
I find that it dries up my hair, making it frizzle, electric and unmanageable (I have weavy hair that I flat iron in winter, and leave it "as is" in summer); however, I ned volume in my roots and some help wiht the waves when I want a natural style. Volumactive shampoo gave me no volume, no decent curls (I had to pour on tons of Potion 9 to hydrate and get some softness in my hair when blowdrying).
I expected great things and I regret my Bain de Force (that is outstanding).
And I have two full bottles to use up....


on 4/19/2009 10:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i have really thin hair so i bought this shampoo as the customer service lady said it was the best shampoo in their shop!! ive been using it for a while now and I wouldnt say that it gives volume but it makes your hair feel clean. i wouldnt reccomend it for people that want big hair. the price is pretty expensive and its not much content.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2009 3:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have straight fine hair, normal at top, dry at the ends.

As I've just started blowdrying it I wanted to splurge on a decent shampoo and conditioner and got both the Volumactive Shampoo and conditioner.

Used for 2 weeks (washing my hair every 2-3 days) and Sooooo disappointed.

My hair is even drier after use (I towel dry before using the conditioner and leave on for a full 5 mins). I don't really notice any volumising benefit either.

Can't throw away of course ...way too expensive. Let's hope I go through a hormonal oily period in the next few months....


on 2/28/2009 9:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this shampoo smells amazing and the lather is nice. When you first wash it, it looks good, but a couple of hours later it's silky greasy. Maybe it would work on thicker hair, but mine is very fine and it seems a bit too moisturizing for me.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
Shampoo
416 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
Shimmer Lights
335 Reviews
Luxury.Wash
Luxury.Wash
10 Reviews


Top Rated Kerastase Products

image

Ciment Thermique

273 reviews
image

Nectar Thermique

132 reviews
image

Oleo-Relax Serum

317 reviews
Back to Top