April 17, 2014 | 1296 users online

Top/Base Coats - OPI - Ridge Filler

no image

rated 3.9(58 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 77% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/9/2010 9:49:00 PM More reviews by diamondclusterz

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

did what it said it would, very impressed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/1/2010 11:54:00 AM More reviews by Mathilda91

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I love OPI. Using more expensive base and top coats makes it possible to get away with very cheap polishes;). This is even better than the base coat! This ridge filler dries instantly and my polish stays on forever. Just make sure you use a good top coat, and the polish stays on a week, with hardly no chipping. Will definetly repurchase.
Edit: This seems to make my polish very thick, with an edge at the cuticle, where things fasten and lifts the polish. Will try an Essie basecoat next time.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/19/2010 10:50:00 PM More reviews by loriyu

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love the Seche Vite top coat, but hate the ridge filler.
I hate the OPI top coat, but love the ridge filler.

Granted, SV and OPI are the only ridge fillers I've tried and between the two, OPI is the one that actually fills my ridges. Using this as a base coat does tend to make the polish slide off a tad bit, but not nearly as much as the SV ridge filler. It works for me so I like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 8/12/2009 8:03:00 PM More reviews by RtiQlitQT

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I don't care for the consistency or performance of this product. I find it difficult to apply evenly. It takes too long to dry, too. I so very much prefer Nailtek Foundation II ridge-filling base coat to this as well as to OPI's Nail Envy products. However, OPI is my favorite nail color brand. I won't repurchase this Ridge Filler.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/11/2009 2:59:00 PM More reviews by BayRidge

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I've always suffered from bad ridges on my thumb nails so wearing pale nail varnishes was always a hassle because they would end up looking super uneven. This isn't a miracle product but have noticed that if I buff my nails down it does the rest of the work. Plus it makes nail varnish last for ages - on my toes (in the summer time!!) I'm 2 weeks into a pedicure using this plus 2 coats of Sephora by Opi Call Your Mother with no chips, cracks or buts.... I like the fact that it gives a white-ish coating and haven't had the troubles with taking a long time to dry - in fact, by the time I finish both hands or feet, the first one is good to go. All in all, a great purchase if only for the longevity it gives my home spun nail extravaganzas....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/15/2009 4:18:00 PM More reviews by Lemonz

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

At first, like many I was on the fence with this product. I wasn't exactly sure if I liked it, and found that it didn't cover up all my ridges.

No it still doesn't cover up ALL of my ridges, but it covers up most it keeps my nails looking somewhat smooth. And if it doesn't cover all the ridges, the next 2 coats of polish will.

I like that it's matte though, unlike some other base coats such as seche base which drys to a pearl/shimmer finish. Which doesn't look to will if you're using it under a fairly sheer nail polish.

It also drys incredibly fast, in under a minute! Making it very easy to quickly paint your nails.

I just wish that this came in possibly a nude color, or that it would dry clear. It's white, and drys to a semi white/translucent finish. Making it hard to wear if you are going to give yourself a french manicure.

Overall, I love this product and will continue to use it as my base coat. It does not protect that well against yellowing, so I suggest applying a very thin fast drying clear coat underneath it if you wish. It protects somewhat, but it could be better.

EDIT:
I'm surprised some people think it takes a long time to dry. maybe you guys are applying too thick of a coat? I apply a very THIN coat of it, if you apply too much it will turn gloppy and will take a long time. Try applying a thinner coat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/7/2009 4:48:00 PM More reviews by Ainnir

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I didn't like this at first, it made it difficult to apply polishes (they would drag), and it appeared uneven. After experimenting I discovered less is more, and it actually works a lot better if you just apply a very thin layer.

It fills ridges in nicely, but it won't cover dents or scratches, but I use a nail buffer for those anyway.

I like how it evens the nail out a bit more, it makes colors look more opaque because of the whiteness.

I'll be using this until I find something better.

EDIT: after using this for a few weeks, I noticed this turns my nails yellow! :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/13/2009 11:21:00 AM More reviews by xxxHELENxxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm on the fence with this one. I have psoriasis so get prone to small ridges on my nails so I thought I'd give it a go.

Currently am wearing this under OPI's Glamour Game and I'm convinced that it led to the polish taking longer to dry.

Ridge Filler took about 15 minutes to get to touch-dry alone and that was only with one coat. It was sticky and wet for ages and I lost patience I am afraid. Hats off to all those that got it dry fast but it just wasn't working for me. One little test to see if it was dry left a mark and I had to take it off that nail and start again as I didn't want the mark to appear through my polish.
Hmm - frustrating.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/22/2009 6:15:00 AM More reviews by mudpie1964

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

OPI's Ridge Filler is definitely, IMO, their worst product. It does nothing that one would expect a ridge filler to do - fill in the ridges or make the nail opaque. I have a tiny dent in one thumbnail that won't go away (buffing takes off too much of the nail) so I bought this ridge filler thinking that would help. I also thought, since it's white in the bottle, that it would make the nail opaque so that sheer polishes are not so see-through. The product provided neither result. After one coat the ridge was still visible and the only thing it did for the nail was make it dull and matte - you could still see through it. I used this without another base coat on top (one would think you might be able to use this as a base coat as well as a ridge filler) but that was just a disaste when it came to adding colored polish. The polish (OPI) went on in a streaky mess (which did not happen when I used the same polish over my HG base coat Sally Hansen Nail Quencher). As a result, I won't be buying this OPI product again. Thumbs way down on this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/20/2008 7:42:00 PM More reviews by floofinator

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I wanted to love this product, I really did. I have noticeable ridges on all of my nails and turned to this product for my manicures. I first apply a clear quick dry nail hardener, then a coat of this, then Stickey, then two coats of colour and then Super Shiney top coat. While I can't comment on whether this helps prolong the life of my manicures, it did an okay job of preventing my ridges from showing on my manicures.

Here's the problem: this product applies super streaky, and is super thick. I can't even go over it again with the brush while it's wet...it drags like CRAZY. Yeah, it clears up my ridges but there are now drag marks on my nails. Great. After it dries, the dragging isn't as obvious, but still, I want a product that applies smoothly and does not streak. Under sheer nail polish, which I don't wear, the streaking would be so obvious. I've tried thinning the product out, but it goes back to the goopy, thick mess that it is almost immediately.

I recently ordered NailTek Foundation II ridge filler and hopefully that will work better for me. Like I said, I really wanted to like this, since I love OPI polishes, but I won't buy this ever again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No