Maybelline pure stay long wearing pressed powder

3.9

39 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Octylmethoxycinnamate (4%) Inactive Ingredients: Talc, Silica, Dimethicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Zinc Oxide, Capric/Caprylic Triglycerides, Aluminum Hydroxide, Glyceryl Ethylhexanoate/Stearate/Adipate, Alumina, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Boron Nitride, C9 15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphates, Methicone, PTFE, Polyethylene, Methylparaben, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Cerium Oxide, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lauroyl Lysine, Retinyl Palmitate, Propylparaben, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil (sunflower), Mineral Oil (paraffinum liquidum), May Contain ( /-):, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Cl 77891), Iron Oxides (Cl 77492, Cl 77499, Cl 779491), Ultramarines (Cl 77007)


on 9/28/2009 1:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

A good silky powder that covers well, and stays on pretty well. I deducted points for the crappy container with the miniscule mirror, and because the lightest shade is too peachy for my pale ivory skin.



on 9/28/2009 1:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This overtook my DiorSkin powder foundation & has been my HG for a long time now! Regular liquid foundation always clogs my pores & I end up breaking out so I do not do liquid ever! SO I wanted to find a powder foundation that was more than just a simple powder. I wanted to find something that did not settle in my creases (argghhh darn wrinkles!), had good color matches for my change of summer/winter skin & something that evened out my tone & looked natural. This is it for me!! Does not break me out & makes my skin look like it has no pores...yes I said it! Why pay $$$ for a lessor powder when you can find this at the drugstore yeah pocket book!!! ~forgot the one minus is the packaging, not much product, but still cheap enough


on 7/10/2009 1:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used this stuff for years and I love it!! I had a hard time when I was over in England because I couldn't find it.

It does a great job of evening out my skin tone, calming down the reds and covering my freckles and it doesn't leave me looking shiny either. I do find that you have to re-apply it in the evening, if you put it on 1st thing in the am.

It doesn't make me break out either. And the price is GREAT for what it does. I won't use anything else...unless I have NO choice.


on 6/28/2009 10:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this product. but unfortuntely it did not work out. I liked the amount of coverage but the shade just did not match. I'm an NC30 and one looked ashy and one looked orange. I splurged and bought mac studiofix just because I got a shade match. I'm giving it one lippie as its worth a try if you are leaning towards the studiofix anyway as it could save you some money.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ashy, ashy ashy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not worth it. I'm something between nc30 and nc35, and i looked like a washed out ghost. Did not blend well into my skin at all.


on 5/6/2009 1:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this powder based on all the good reviews here! I was also pleased that it was dirt cheap ($8 only), had SPF and was available in the drugstore. I went to CVS and picked this up in Ivory.

Ivory is a bit light for me. No matter how I apply it, it always seems to make me look like a ghost. And I'm already pale so I don't need any help in that department. ;)

It comes with a sponge for application. I tried it once but I much prefer a powder brush or kabuki. Tried all three methods for applying and I didn't like it. It seemed kind of drying and never seemed to settle in my skin. Also, didn't seem to give me any coverage for a foundation. I get better coverage from my Physician's Formula Mineral Wear powder!

Overall, I was not exactly impressed. The only reason I'm not going to return it is because I dab a wee bit onto the sponge and use it over my liquid concealer to set it. Totally gets rid of undereye circles!

At least I didn't waste money and I'll be able to use up the product. But I wouldn't buy it again. There are better powder foundations out there.


on 3/29/2009 2:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OMG! I haven't seen this powder in forever! lol the last time I had this was about 4 years ago, when I didn't have any major skin problems (*sigh*). since I didn't have much to cover up, I just used it to tone down my oiliness, even out my skin tone, and to hide dark circles. It was a little bit drying at first from what I remembered, and I think I got it in a few shades too light, but it was ok, cause I just evened it out with bronzer and stuff hehe, and the dryness went away once it settled (which is a good thing hehe). I can't use this stuff alone now though, because I have lots of acne scarring that powders can't really conceal, and this one is really sheer. I guess I'll hold off on picking this up again, but it might make a good setting powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2008 4:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love love love it! It helps even out my skin tone and set makeup. I don't find it cakey at all, I apply with a powder or kabuki brush and it's just great. I used the puff it came with for under my eyes a couple times, didn't appear too heavy but I'm not a big fan of puffs, they feel too dirty to me. The compact isn't that attractive, but I don't care because the powder works great. Fortunately the ivory shade works well for me, I wish it would come in more colors though, just for the sake of pleasing more customers.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Very basic powder foundation. Feels nice on the skin, lasts for about 6 hours, and doesn't break me out. I did feel that it didn't blend very well, and kinda just sat there. Wouldn't recommend, wouldn't buy again. There are better powders out there.
Price: $6.99


on 7/29/2007 4:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

this is a great finishing powder over my mineral makeup or on it's own over my sunscreen moisturizer. I dislike the sponge and I use a separate powder brush. I got mine in Light and paid under $10.00 cdn. I will repurchase. Actually I am considering buying a back up compact. I do wish these type of companies would put more thought into packaging. I would prefer a round compact. Overall very happy with this for my oily skin in this summer humidity.


Back to Top