July 29, 2014 | 2089 users online

Powder - Palladio - Wet/Dry foundation



image 0

rated 4.2(374 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 7/13/2013 12:11:00 AM More reviews by alicia14787

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've only worn this once, but WOW! Excellent coverage for a powder foundation. I only used concealer under my eyes & this powder & my skin looked flawless. It lasted a long time too. I had some oil break through after a few hours but that always happens to me. I have an olive complexion & was happy with the color selection, it didn't look grey/muddy on my skin. I will definitely repurchase!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/7/2013 3:58:00 AM More reviews by hcle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Holy beeepp. This is fantastic!!

What I wanted: Something that works on normal skin with dry areas, can hold up in sweat. NO SPF for photo times and long lasting (ain't nobody got time foh dat reapplication)

Photos : NO white face!!!!!! Yes!!!!!!!!! Beautiful
Coverage: light ( applied dry), medium-full(applied with a wet sponge)
Dry skin: does not accentuate, covers and smooths
Durability: resilient, beautiful natural matte/ luminous finish after xxxx loads of sweat
Finish: Natural, matte
Irritants: No problem for my hypersensitive skin

Colour : cypress beige ( perfect match)
Chanel : B30, Lancome miracle - beige daphne
Mac : NC30, face and body C3
Estee Lauder Double Wear: Sand/ Tawny
Bourjois: 10hr sleep -53
Dior Fusion - 31

I put this away last year because i caked on a crap load and it became blotchy and dry on my extra extra dry inflammed skin in combo with a thick gunky moisterisor. Nothing was going to look good on that anyway..

I gave it another go this year, looking for a HG powder foundation once again and unfortunately this came out on top for price and quality so round two !

My skin is still dry but just around the lips and nose ( from sniffles in dry winter aus) but because of my job in running around and I get shiny oily pretty fast.

Initially: didn't cling to dry skin (this is a big deal for me almost NO powder does this) matte pearly finish, beautiful!!!

8 hours later, after work and gym:
I am SHOCKED at how good it looks and the bare fact its still on!!! It looks more luminous than it did that the start bit still a matte finish, I look healthy natural and glowy! Secondly, there was NO creepy dry cracks around my nose and mouth making me look like a 80yo prostitute.

Hands down, best powder foundation for my dry- normal skin even in exteme sweat/heat!!!! Please do yourself and your wallet a favour by getting this!!!!

COMPARED TO
MAC face body - This left me looking like I poured olive oil all over my face after two hours. Unbelievable given the great reviews and the fact that I'm dry- normal skinned.

EL double wear- equally great staying powder but I could never look natural with this and it looked Ghastly white in photography.

Revlon CS - Swatched palladio and CS on my face and with flash the Revlon side showed up about 4 shades lighter. The palladio side was smooth and stayed true to color ! Whoop!

Boujois 10hr - greattttt for my dry skin , always natural and beautiful but goddang it will not last more than 5 hrs. It at least fades nicely and doesn't leave an oily sheen, u just know because your blemishes start showing up again. Maybe palladio is like the powder, longer lasting version of this for me

Chanel teint innocence cream - beautiful but I wore it in the sun one day and my skin had a huge reaction / blistered for days. So. Never again. Also baddddd white face in flash photography even standing far away from camera. Palladio feels comfortable on with no reaction

MAC mineral skinfinish - I don't get what is wrong with this, it settles in fine lines, makes me oily AND makes my skin look bumpy, palladio instead makes my skin look baby smooth

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/4/2013 2:53:00 PM More reviews by MaoIjaz

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

First off, this powder foundation can be worn alone or as a finishing powder. If used as a finishing powder, you'll get some extra coverage, too! So onto my experience: I've been using the shade Neroli Bronze for my medium/tannish skin. It gives a matte finish that looks natural. The coverage if light. If you have very slight discoloration, it will even it out nicely, however it will not work for people with acne or acne marks, because of the sheer coverage.
You'll have to use a concealer under it for coverage and you can set it with this powder and it'll look absolutely gorgeous! But if you like more fuller coverage foundations, this is not the one for you. It is for people with fairly good skin.
For me, I use concealer for my dark circles and spot marks and then I put this on top and my skin looks gorgeous and even.
You can use it wet if you want more coverage, but I don't like the idea of putting a damp sponge into the powder and then dipping it back in if I need more. Not too sanitary.
It doesn't last very long though, and my skin tends to feel a little bit greasy after a while, even though I do NOT have oily skin. I'd give it 6 hours till it starts looking bad. I took off a lippie for those two cons.
But, overall, it's a good powder foundation and I'd recommend it to anyone who needs a cheap powder that they don't need to wear all day long :) OH, AND DON'T FORGET TO PRIME! ^_^

Pros:
-makes skin look even
-wakes up the skin
-the coverage is good for a powder

Cons:
-doesn't last long
-skin gets greasy after a few hours of wear.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/26/2013 3:34:00 PM More reviews by itsiliii

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

PROS:
-excellent, excellent, excellent oil control. Powders are always recommended to me for my oily skin but I honestly don't see most of them working much better than liquid foundations. Now this stuff is GOOD + long lasting
-Lightweight texture, doesn't look gross and cakey/heavy
-Can use wet or dry, I use dry to set my foundations and wet to wear on own. Looks AWESOME when applied wet and you get way more coverage
-Packing is cute with separate part for the poof poof. Yes i called it a poof poof.

CONS:
-color range is not the best, doesn't really cater to golden undertones, all in all will most likely repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/1/2013 9:07:00 AM More reviews by ncc

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Works well for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/1/2013 7:58:00 AM More reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I have been using this product for the last couple of weeks, and I cant even express to you how much I love it, but I am going to try. First, the price was a tad bit more than you would spend on a product from the drug store (I got this from Sallys beauty supplies) it was around $12.00, which was comparable and nothing to complain about, especially after you try it and find out how well it works. The actual compact itself and the packaging has both pros and cons. Someone meantiomed that its a bit bulky, which is true, its square and a bit thicker than other powders. I also wished the sold a refill for the little put of product, because it seems like such a waste to have to buy a new one everytime, however- i would also want a new sponge after using all the product, so you may as well just keep re-buying the whole thing. Obviously, you can use this product wet and dry, and the sponge it comes with is another reason why i love this product so much. Its extremely soft, and way more well made than any other compact sponge that i have used. It washes very well, it doesnt fall apart and it goes back to the same soft well made sponge whether you are using it wet OR dry. Another clever and genious thing about this compact is that it splits into two different sections- one for the makeup, one for the sponge... and on the very bottom, there are holes in the compact, so when you put your wet sponge back into place, it allows it to breathe and dry, without staying damp and accruing all kinds of bactiria. I loved that, because I had never seen it before, most compacts after you wash your sponge you have to leave it sit and dry before putting it back in its place. Five stars for that. Onto the actual product, its amazing. It only comes in four or five colors so I was lucku enough to havr an exact match to one of the colors and i dont have to mess with it too much. You can use it wet or dry, so durring the summer when you sweat (which i have already done) that makeup doesnt get gross, and cakey because its made to use either way. I love that! It goes on smoothe, it looks natural, i dont have to use a ton of the product to get the coverage I want, because its a medium coverage already. Honesly, I have gotten away without putting any concealer on, and just applying this on top of my primer because it covers so well. This is my go to from now on, and I will reccomend this product to anyone who wants to use multi-purpose make up... and I will re buy as soon as I am done, and even before then so I can make sure I dont run out... yes! i love it THAT much! <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2013 7:38:00 PM More reviews by racheroonie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wanted to use this product for a little bit before I gave a review to see what it could do for me. I love it! It's officially my new powder. You can just tell its non-comedogenic and made with fine, natural products. It never breaks me out, and isn't cakey. One complaint I have is at Sally's, it's hard to test our your color. At the store, the colors all looked very similar which was odd. Finally, I settled on Cypress beige 402 and it works perfect for me and blends in my Asian skin! For around $10, you really can't beat it and I'm recommending it to all my friends.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/2/2013 1:42:00 AM More reviews by nsarova

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

HG! Beautiful medium coverage, covers acne scars well. No need for concealer. I use it dry over boots beautifully matte makeup base and it not only lasts all day but looks just as amazing as when I first put it on. That has never happened with my old HG colorstay. The finish is so natural, no one can tell I have makeup on. Cypress beige is a great match for my NC 25 face. I've always used liquid foundation and am glad I switched to this great powder, it just looks so much better and it feels like I don't have anything on my face. And my pores look so much smaller! Woo!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/28/2013 10:30:00 AM More reviews by tofusteak

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is my go-to powder! I absolutely love this, plus it is reasonably priced.


I prefer using wet/dry foundations because it saves me the hassle of using concealer because it provides good coverage. I avoid liquid foundations because they make my face look greasy after some time. Plus, I have slightly acidic Asian skin which tends to make anything I put on slightly darker after a few hours.


I used to buy Guerlain's Parure powder foundation and while that product is excellent, it is quite expensive. This product costs less than half and yet delivers pretty well. Coverage is pretty good. I touch up after lunch and it looks well until the evening. It also complements my skin tone well. I have this in the Cypress Beige shade.


My only gripe is that there are no refills!! I have had to purchase 3 compacts over time and think that I could save $$$ if they only had refills.


4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/3/2013 7:01:00 PM More reviews by momoro

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This was my first powder foundation, and how I wish I had a color match!! The finish was so incredibly lovely, it makes me wonder why I had never tried out a powder foundation earlier!

My skin is very sensitive, acne-prone, and easily irritated. This did not aggravate my skin at all, nor did it cause any new acne to form. It absorbs oil very well (blotted maybe ONCE the entire day I had it on) and seems fairly transfer resistant - have not tried to see if it transfers onto clothes, but it definitely did not leave much on my cell phone.

I'd say the coverage is medium to full and it lasted all day on me without separating or sliding off, and this was without finishing powder or setting spray.

Basically, the PROS are:

#1 Great lasting power from 8:00am - 7:00pm (my usual work hours)

#2 Did not transfer onto my cell phone like most liquid foundations

#3 Great oil absorption (rice powder for sure!). I only really needed to blot ONCE throughout my whole work day.

#4 Smooth finish, did not accentuate any dry flakies, was very matte. It also did not seem too dry

#5 Did not aggravate my hormonally sensitive, acne-prone, skin - THIS is hard to do when it comes to foundations, so I give it a BIG thumbs up for this! My skin usually feels really "hot" and irritated after wearing most foundations for a whole day, as if it'd been suffocating the entire time.

And now onto the CONS.

#1 This oxidized on me horribly!! The lightest shade was already too dark on me, but I was able to get by adding some bronzer onto my neck. By the end of the day, I looked as if I had powdered my face with dirt :/

#2 There is a very short range of shades available :( And they all seemed to have pink undertones

#3 Packaging is a little bulky, and could be better.

I don't seem to have too many cons about this product, but because the shade is so horribly off on me, I will not and cannot repurchase :( I'd recommend this for sensitive, oily, and acne-prone girls like me...if you can find a match. It is a lovely product, and has spawned my interest in looking for other powder foundations that will match me and have the same finish, last, and oil absorption as this one.




5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No