April 19, 2014 | 1726 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Captive



image 0image 1

rated 4.0(59 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/14/2010 4:29:00 AM More reviews by colfaxt

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Nice red berry color, darker than plumful and more classy than craving. Very heavy looking and reminds me of a goth look, perfect for club night life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/11/2010 3:52:00 PM More reviews by somuchloove

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I looove this color!

it is pigmented, and pretty. i'm only 14 and I wear this often, so don't be afraid of ''dark'' berry colors like this. I think it's really flattering espacially in the winter months, because it'll stand out, when you are 'pale'.. I think it would look great on all skin colors.

have a great day ya'll ;D <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/13/2010 2:49:00 PM More reviews by JoSummers

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This is a lovely reddish pink plum color. It's not as vibrant as a straight up red, and not as daring. It is a little drying, though. Pigmentation is excellent, and it wears for a long time.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/9/2010 5:37:00 PM More reviews by Graceful26

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Well, of all lipsticks, plums are my favourite. I have "Plumful", too, so that's what I'm comparing this with.

I found "Captive" to be quite drying - if you want a perfectly matte plum, this is a better choice for you than lustre. But if matte is what you're going for, this can look quite pretty. Otherwise, you really need to wear it with a lip balm or gloss.

The colour itself is lovely: a rich berry with more burgandy undertones than rosey ones. It seems to me that this is a good choice if you are going for that autumnnal matte look and want to sport a slightly less daring version of a red or deep burgandy.

Overall, with other plummy choices out there, I don't know that I'd reach for this one again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/5/2010 7:50:00 AM More reviews by downtownbebebrown

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I was looking for a red. However i could not go all the way. I did not want something that was wearing me. Captive was a perfect blend of creamy red and plum for my complection.
Its the only "red" in my collection. For touch up and moisture i apply a red lipgloss cream from L'Oreal on top.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/11/2010 1:19:00 AM More reviews by blackrosethorn

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i was a bit dissapointed with this.. too dark, but that is my personal opinion, however it is really pretty if you just apply a little bit like a tint and blend over lips. i would use this method very often if it didnt make my lips so dry and cracked :( but pretty colour!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/24/2010 6:11:00 PM More reviews by Herbssss

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this on a whim for my back 2 mac containers, and wish I hadn't. It's not very flattering and reminds me of something an old lady would wear. MAC has many many way more exciting colors!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/9/2010 11:41:00 PM More reviews by claragonz

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This color is on the plum/ burgundy side. I actually tried this at a MAC counter after choosing three other neutral shades. I was looking for a darker shade that didn't scream bright red. Yes it is slightly dark, but the color on the lips is rich and alluring. A very nice alternative to the reds. Keep eyerything else neutral. I'd wear this with a matte brown eyeshadow and natural peachy blush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/6/2010 8:55:00 PM More reviews by hodgam8

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

As everyone else has said this is a (gorgeous) berry color. Great for fall and winter. I was afraid it would be too dark on my NC20 skin, but its an amazing color. And contrary to what others have said I don't think its outdated at all. After getting it, to my surprise, my boyfriend liked it on me and he usually hates bright/dark/not natural looking lipsticks. Its a great color and worth trying out

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/19/2009 10:30:00 AM More reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

Captive is a very beautiful plummy/ berry like color. It is like a soft red on my lips. It's a satin, so it is very moisturizing and very pigmented on my darkly pigmented lips. This color makes my whole face glow and imo says "look at my lips". It's not subtle at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No