September 22, 2014 | 1869 users online

Shampoo - Aveda - Color Conserve

no image

rated 3.3(105 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 48% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/9/2009 12:08:00 PM More reviews by singwritenow

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have used Color Conserve on and off for years now and have to say that I really can't tell that much of a difference between this and some drug store brands. Apparently there is something about it that I like because I have continued to repurchase it, probably that Aveda is a natural product and I really like the scent. But other than that, I'm still searhing high and low for my HG shampoo.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/3/2009 12:13:00 PM More reviews by LolaBrw

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm a fan of most of Aveda products, but I have to say I don't like the Color Conserve line at all. The scent is alright, it smells like the typical Aveda herby scent, but it doesn't clean my scalp enough, makes my hair feel wirey, and doesn't really seem to conserve my hair color much either.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/10/2009 10:44:00 PM More reviews by bren81

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My mom colors her hair regularly so I bought this for her (I was happy with my shampure and scalp benefit shampoo so I was quite sure this would work for her too). Big mistake. It gave her itchy and sensitive scalp and she couldn't use it any more. It was too late to return it so I started to use it. Same results. It was so disappointing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/13/2009 4:44:00 PM More reviews by katherinealiceb

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is a tough one for me. I love using natural products and the essential oil fragrance in this shampoo is amazing. But it's very expensive! I'm not sure that it has made my color (also aveda) last any longer than my other color specific shampoos. I'll give it one more try, but I'm not sure it's worth the money

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/25/2009 1:59:00 PM More reviews by darcy123

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this shampoo after my at-home hair colour turned my hair rather dry and coarse. I have a couple of Aveda HG styling products so I figured it might be time to switch to the shampoo and conditioner. This shampoo (and the matching conditioner) did make my hair look and feel great but I'm not sure it made my colour last any longer. Although I like these products, I cannot justify the cost. The bottles are small (200 mL each), expensive (+$20 CAD each) and lasted not quite 2 months with daily hair washing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/21/2008 11:30:00 PM More reviews by dharbo

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have color treated highlighted hair and I use this when my hair feels a little too heavy from just using the cleansing conditioners. I love how its doesn't make my hair feel like straw afterwards and the herbal scent is wonderful too. A little goes a long way so it will last a long time also. It doesn't strip my hair or my natural oils nor the color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/7/2008 6:50:00 PM More reviews by pmangelo

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Pros: 7 weeks later, my honey-carmel highlights still look pretty and bright; my hair seems shiny

Cons: I only wash every other day, and sometimes I feel really greasy by the end of the second day; seems pretty pricey for what it is

I just started going to an Aveda salon and my colorist really promoted this product. He said I could use whatever conditioner I want, but that the Aveda color could get stripped if I used too harsh a shampoo. Considering the investment I'm making in my color, it seems stupid to cheap out on the shampoo. I suspect I'm just a sucker, but I have to say my highlights look great. I have a slightly-longer-than-chin-length bob, so a tiny bit is enough for a shampoo...I still have about half a bottle left, and I'm on the fence about repurchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/5/2008 12:24:00 AM More reviews by luluhalabaloo

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Nope. This dries my hair, I have to use a TON to get a lather, and it doesn't leave my hair smelling nice! And this doesn't matter which conditioner I use - my towel smells almost like my hair isn't clean! I am very disappointed - I don't think it can be cleaning that well. I have to sometimes do three lathers and even then, my hair doesn't feel clean! And my red? Almost completely washed out after three shampoos. So, another meh for Aveda - by the way, I have done my research, apparently, all the high quality shampoos and conditioners are colour safe - check with your salon to be sure though. No way would I repurchase. Can't wait to finish this stupid bottle so I can go back to something that makes my hair clean!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/9/2008 6:05:00 PM More reviews by Integra97

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I didn't find this shampoo drying at all - it seemed slightly moisturizing to me. Pros- It does seem to extend the life of my salon color. I used to get some brassy tones in my brunette hair by the time I was ready to recolor. That doesn't happen with this shampoo. And, my hair looks OK even if I skip the conditioner. Cons - need to use a lot of it to get any kind of lather (maybe it's my hard water, but I seem to have this issue with all Aveda shampoos). And I get a buildup after using it a few times in a row, have to alternate with others. Best thing I have found so far for keeping my color in shape.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 9/24/2008 1:46:00 PM More reviews by MavenMel

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Made my hair so dry that I had to load it with conditioner. Didn't really see any difference in how long my colour lasted (I have dark brown hair that I colour to hide they greys).

Is this review helpful? Yes No