Burt's Bees Carrot Nutritive Body Lotion [DISCONTINUED]

3.4

94 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
Burt's Bees is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 9/6/2007 4:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As others have mentioned, the smell is a huge turn-off. It has a weird plastic-y scent, like an old Barbie doll. I can't quite put my finger on it, but I was sorely disappointed since I kinda like the lightness of this as an all-over lotion. But icky smell = no repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/20/2007 2:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I like this lotion. I like the smell. And it took a little bit for me to get used to the feel, but it soaks in and doesn't leave my greasy. I had some dry spots on my nose that were peeling and this cured that. I haven't noticed any color coming off on my sheets or anything. I would buy this again!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was looking for a natural body lotion that had no chemicals. By looking on the outside of the package, it looked great. the ingredients were good. Then... I used it. It smelled so terrible that I felt nautious and wanted to throw up. I have no idea how well it works or anything because I was so disgusted by the smell!


on 4/17/2007 7:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I first got this product in a trial size and loved it. I like the carrot smell, it smells earthy and fresh. I've never liked the more fruity, floral smell so that explains a lot. The product works perfectly for me because it isn't to greasy, yet moisturizes very well. The consistancy isn't creamy like other lotions as well because as you know, Burt's Bees tries to make their lotions as natural as possible. I believe that the "creaminess" of most other lotions is only psychological, it probably is not a factor in how moistuizing a lotion is. The only exception might be Aveeno, who uses oat flour, accounting for the lotion's thickness. This lotion is a real moisturizer, it hydrates the skin, aka adding water to th skin. Other lotions usually don't hydrate the skin, they are just lipids that fill in crevices and creates a barrier on the skin to prevent moisture from escaping. The smell isn't that bad to me. It is obviously unusual. But what else are you expecting but I carrot scented lotion called "Carrot Nutritive"?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2007 3:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

this smells really great, and gives good moisture. a weird color though, and it can stain your stuff, so be careful!


on 2/25/2007 6:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lotion works fairly well, but I just can't get past the smell...yuck !!


on 2/20/2007 9:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The best thing about this product is that it absorbs so well. I have dry skin, and a lot of lotions just seem to sit on top of the skin, probably b/c of silicones, and don't really do anything to moisturize. This one sinks in and moisturizes. I think it's great for a summer lotion, especially since carrot extract is good for combating sun exposure. If any of you are familiar with Epicurian Discovery, the texture of this lotion on the skin is a lot like their body lotions. I took off one lippie because it says on the bottle that the lotion may discolor clothing. I haven't had that problem yet, but the possibility of it happening is so uncool. I took off another lippie because this is not especially hydrating.


on 1/15/2007 8:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The smell is waaaaay too strong, and is disgusting to me, like off carrot cake. It feels like I am just rubbing water over my skin. No nice moisturizing feel at all. Maybe this feeling would be good for oily skin, but for me it feels like I am doing nothing for myself, and having to smell terrible on top of it all.


on 1/10/2007 4:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an okay lotion, but the spicy carrot cake smell lingers on my skin for HOURS, and that just doesn't work for me. A lotion is going to have to be pretty spectacular if I'm going to tolerate it competing with my perfume. As far as basic moisturizing lotions go, any ol' bottle you pick out at the drugstore is going to cost less, work just as well (or better), and not leave you smelling strongly of baked goods.


on 10/16/2006 2:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

i love this lotion! wonderful, light, easily absorbed, but i admit the fragrance is one you'll either hate or love... spicy carrot-cake scent - try before you buy!


Top Rated Burt's Bees Products

image

Fig Lip Shimmer

51 reviews
Back to Top