September 18, 2014 | 1684 users online

Polishes - Rimmel - 60 Seconds Nail Polish

rated 4.0(287 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 8/26/2013 5:09:00 PM More reviews by vprometaphase

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have to say that I'm pretty disappointed by this polish. Usually I don't expect much from drugstore polish, but I was intrigued by the "60 second" drying time and decided to give it a go.
I HATED the brush. I don't know if I just got a crappy one, but the bristles were really uneven. The brush was thick, which usually I like, but there was a clump of bristles in the middle that were longer than all the others, making the application quite messy and frustrating. This polish is supposed to be a one-coat deal, but I found that one coat of Stand To Attention (a deep, shiny red which I actually really liked) was slightly streaky and not flawless by any measure. I didn't want to put on a thicker coat, though, for fear of screwing up with the brush.
It dried in about the same time as after you apply a quick-dry top coat, but when I went to add another coat to even the colour out, that's when everything went wrong. It literally did not dry solid. In the hours that followed they smudged, dented and chipped like crazy. After about five hours, a quarter of it was chipped off completely. 24 hours later, I was still denting it by accident. I wasn't doing anything laborious, but I have never had polish wear so quickly and so terribly.
My guess is that the formula is just not meant to dry properly with more than one coat, so if you can pull off one coat of this polish, it might work much better. I didn't use a top coat, either, so that might help. As for me, though, I don't think this polish is worth it. I'd much rather go for a nice OPI red and load on the fast-dry top coat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/13/2013 10:40:00 AM More reviews by prettyLady11

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I don't typically buy Rimmel products because my experiences with their mascaras have not been pleasant ones. I bought one of these 60 second nail polishes and I liked it plenty, I got one at walmart for $1.50! :)
I liked these very much, that I've purchased at least 9 different colors! ♥

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/6/2013 11:50:00 PM More reviews by HotPozzum

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Love this nail polish! Yes two coats dried in less than 5 mins AND no smudges or ripples later on. I always paint my nails at night (only time I get!) and frequently wake up with "sheet patterns" the next morning. Not this time baby! I used Double Decker Bus red which is (to me) the perfect blue-red, maybe a touch darker than Revlon Red which I like. The brush is perfect - can really paint a whole nail in one swipe. Also no bubbles when it dries either. I usually add a clear hardner topcoat as I'm quite hard on my nails so cannot really vouch for durability. Mine usually last a week with no chips. Would definitely recommend it to impatient people like me! LOL

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/27/2013 11:04:00 PM More reviews by cassiehunt

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Although the price is fantastic - Nail polish is really a great example of the cost of a cosmetic item really reflecting the quality of the product. The cheaper it is, usually the longer it takes to dry, the more it chips and the thinner it looks.

Nothing beats a nail polish that has a perfect finish after only one layer and with this product, it would have been...decent...with only one layer, but it really didn't have that salon-quality finish that i enjoy. So, being the perfectionist that I am - I waited during the "60 second" drying time to apply another layer. 60 hand-flapping and blow drying seconds later, i applied another layer (I wasn't taking the 60 seconds too literally - the product did ACTUALLY appear reasonably dry). The second layer definitely gave it the extra salon quality thickness i initially desired after the first layer. Unfortunately, "60 seconds" later and the product is not dry. I'd say the actual drying time after two layers was closer to 15-20 minutes for complete dig-your-nail-in-and-there-isn't-a-dent dryness. And although as previously mentioned - I'm a perfectionist...It looks perfect...I just wish I had the patience to enjoy the wait. Afterall, 60 seconds was the promise. But was it a guarantee? Apparently not.

Anyway - a work day down, a full nights sleep, 2 showers and makeup and hair styling etc complete...My nails are oookkkayish - If i hold my hands far away from my face and i maybe squint a little. Slightly chipped and uneven from the awkward length of drying time. Apparently a product that can't handle an additional layer.. weak.

The colour i chose was "caramel cupcake" which is actually a really nice colour (in the bottle). So kudos for that...i think?

On the back of the bottle, it does say it is a "one coat" nail polish. But i'm sorry Rimmel, one coat was just too transparent.

But all in all - 60 seconds - One coat ... It does just that. Dries in 60 seconds.

BUT HEAR MY WARNING MY FELLOW MAKEUPALLYERS apply another coat and don't say i didn't tell you so.

But, hey. if you're into the whole transparent color on nail game, be my guest. Not for me.

xxx Cassie Hunt.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/26/2013 11:51:00 AM More reviews by teatimeismetime

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have bought so many of these! I absolutely love them, they're by far the best nail polish I've ever tried (Gosh, NYC, L'oreal, Boots 7, Barry M to name a few I can think of).

The range of colours is amazing, they dry so quickly and don't gloop or get sticky as they're drying. They're definitely the most chip resistant nail polish I've come across. I'm hard on my hands so at most I get three days but at lot of others I barely get one!

For the price, they are well worth it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/25/2013 5:23:00 AM More reviews by awkkimmivy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love the brush, that most shades are opaque in one coat, and the dry time, but I don't like the finish this polish gives me. if I didn't have to use my seche I would give it five lippies, but overall a good polish.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/22/2013 2:12:00 AM More reviews by LIPGLOSSADDICT1025

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Wow Rimmel, fantastic job! I got this in Vinyl Stars Movie Star, and it\s a bright red somthered in small shimmery sparkles. Gorgeous! I do have another shade, Torrid, I think but I haven\t tried it yet. I love how fast Movie Star dries, but it doesn't take 60 seconds if you use a second coat, although one coat looks beautiful by itself. It was rather goopy unfortunately and sometimes I messed up because of the thickness. But i got through it and it has been about 12 hours since I put it on with no signs of chipping (THANK GOD) makes me look really feminine. It takes a bit of remover to get rid of it but that\s okay, I have plenty of remover. I suggest putting a drop of polish thinner before you use it to avoid this kind of mess later XD.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/11/2013 8:01:00 PM More reviews by PurpleMongoose12

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I really like this nail polish! Even though it does chip pretty fast its ok. It also doesnt dry in 60 seconds, but it does dry pretty fast. Its $1.50 at Walmart, so I will buy this nail polish again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/29/2013 7:49:00 AM More reviews by klandon61

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Love the brush! It is short and fairly stiff. Can do my nails in just a few minutes with not a single mistake. Why don't more polishes come with this type of brush? Top with Out the Door and i am good to go for several days.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 5/22/2013 3:10:00 AM More reviews by Sjess

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

What..?! An average of 4 lippies?! How can this be?! This nailpolish is meh, as far as I'm concerned. I have it in 405 Rose Libertine, which is a pretty, summery, bright pink. One layer isn't opaque (it's very unevenly and see-through), and doesn't dry in 60 seconds. And as the packaging says one-coat nail polish, dries in less than 60 seconds, it's a huge fail. Also, it chips like crazy, it doesn't even hold up for one night! The lovely color saves it from getting just one lippie.

Is this review helpful? Yes No