November 21, 2014 | 1836 users online

Eye Primer - LORAC - Behind the Scenes Eye Primer



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.3(167 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 2/9/2014 2:07:00 PM More reviews by thecolormargaret

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Lucky me, I received two deluxe size samples of this product this Christmas one with a an Ulta set and one with my Lorac pro palette. I have enough primer to last me months all for free. I would have never picked this up because I have a professional size UDPP and a TooFaced Candlelight Shadow Insurance, I adore both. However, the lorac is very effective as UDPP. I think the packaging is as or if not more convenient. It leaves really no trace of color, so it is not made to be a corrector. It protects against creasing just as well as it counterparts and it recieves little or no attention.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/2/2014 12:25:00 AM More reviews by Chickadee

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I thought I liked this product, but I was wrong. My eye shadows didn't crease, but the color faded throughout the day until I was left with almost nothing. One day I used Too Faced Shadow Insurance instead, and I was amazed at the difference. So I'd buy that instead.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/1/2014 9:34:00 PM More reviews by immediate

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I guess I am in the minority with this one, I'm just not all that fond of this product. It does do a decent job of keeping my eye shadow from creasing, however, it is it makes some shadows really hard to blend. It's a dry formula that really grabs onto shadows, which is great for making your makeup last but not so great for application. I wear a lot of matte eye shadows and it was a nightmare trying to get them to blend over this. Some brands were more forgiving than others: UD shadows did fine with this product, while Inglot shadows were completely unusable with this. I used up most of my tube but I won't repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/1/2014 2:08:00 AM More reviews by Stephaniejeann

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This primer is my go-to, everyday eye shadow primer. I've had problems in the past with the Urban Decay Primer Potion creasing, Nars creases on me, Too Faced is okay, most cream shadows even MUFE Aqua Creams crease on me, and anything from the drug store is a no go. I can have my eye makeup on for twelve hours plus and it won't budge. I do notice that sometimes depending on the brand, the shadow will start to fade after a while. I'm more so looking for something that will keep my shadow on though because my lids and face overall is like an oil slick. The packaging is fine and the product lasts a pretty long time because you really don't need much. As an aside, I find if I do have a little too much product on or if I apply it after I put my concealer on under my eyes it will settle into those little fine lines and look cakey and kind of gross. If that happens though I just smooth it out with a buffing brush and it's alright. I only wish that my eye shadow wouldn't fade, but I feel like that's just me being critical after a long day of wearing makeup.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2014 7:44:00 AM More reviews by jealouspony

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

So far, I've only tried the sample size of this that I got with the PRO palette, but I have to say that I'm impressed.

My usual go-to eye primer is NARS, as it's the only one that has worked on my oily lids, but LORAC worked great as well, actually.

I much prefer this tube packaging then the NARS one - it feels more sanitary and not as wasteful.

The product itself is coloured, but dries invisible rather quickly. Creates a smooth base for eyeshadow and liner and stays on all day.

My biggest trouble with eyeshadow is creasing because of my oily lids, but I feel like this really helps with that, just as the NARS one does. This is definitely becoming a staple product in my routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/19/2014 8:56:00 PM More reviews by Shambam121

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

great eye primer, a little bit goes a long way, get a lot of product for price. Not my #1 favorite, if you accidentally use to much will cake up. I also have more so dry eyelids so I tend to use diff. product

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2014 8:25:00 PM More reviews by malibu64

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a great primer, definitely underrated. Where UDPP is tacky, Lorac primer is smooth and creates a perfect blending surface. My shadows look amazing with this product. I will probably repurchase even though it's expensive.

This one is worth trying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/5/2014 2:31:00 PM More reviews by samanthaxmariee

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is the best eye primer I have ever used!

I first received a sample of this with the Pro Palette, and at the time I was using Urban Decay Primer Potion so I wasn't too quick to start using a new primer. However, I gave it a shot and it is amazing! I put this on my lids, then put a MAC paint pot over it, and then put my eyeshadow on. It is the best system I have come across yet. I have used Urban Decay, Benefit, and drugstore primers and the Lorac one is by far the best. My shadow lasts all day, and by the time I'm ready to take it off, usually 10-12 hours later, it still looks perfect and crease-free. The only time I see creasing with this product is when I wear it for about 14 to 16 hours, which is not the norm for me anyway. It goes on smoothly and is easy to apply, but it doesn't give any coverage which is why I usually top it with a cream base before I put on powder shadows.

I would recommend this to a friend, in fact I already have!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/4/2014 6:37:00 PM More reviews by Paulawaulaa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought the LORAC Little Black pallet and it came with the Behind The Scenes Eye Primer and all I can say is WOW I love this primer . My eye shadows stay on really long and its the best eye primer I tired . I like that I don't have to use a lot because a little goes a long way

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/27/2013 9:37:00 PM More reviews by Purplegal

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I received this with my unzipped palette. It's okay - nothing great, but not bad either. It keeps my shadows fresh all day and is easy to apply. I dislike the packaging a bit because the tip is slanted. This causes excess product to build up on the outside; a straight tip would prevent that.

Although I like this primer, I prefer Too Faced's primer and ELF's. Because of the price point & the fact that ELF works equally as well, I won't encourage anyone to buy this. BUT it does work as promised!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No