October 22, 2014 | 1577 users online

Foundations - Maybelline - Dream Creamy Foundation



image 0

rated 3.6(91 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 60% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 11/4/2011 10:27:00 PM More reviews by valenpeterns

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

It's not bad but it's not the best one. I prefer the dream mouse one over this ( i have dry sensitive skin). It's an okay foundation. I use it for work everyday... And it's fine. Dream mousse one is better tho. I prefer the finish but this one is okay. :) Oh wait, I hate the packaging. The sponge is garbage.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/6/2011 4:34:00 AM More reviews by makiyazh

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Fine Eyes: Grey

I bought the second to the lightest colour, and it turned out to be too dark. It is moisturising, but doesn't have good staying power as it seems to wear off (usually in blotches!). Makes my face oily even though my skin is naturally pretty dry. Coverage is only so-so.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/3/2011 12:42:00 PM More reviews by EmmaMo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I've always been wary of Maybelline foundations, having tried some disastrous ones in the past; however I was instantly converted when I sampled this one. I've used this foundation for over a year now and I'm still very happy with it. It's very blendable, gives a light-medium satin finish and is buildable if you want more coverage. Lasting power is pretty good for a non-longwearing foundation and I'm always surprised by how much comes off at the end of a long day. It applies excellently with fingers or a flat-top brush but I wouldn't bother with the included sponge. It feels nicely creamy on the skin (not too silicone-y) and you only need a small amount of product. Plus it's widely available and cheap. Luckily the lightest shade is a great match for me (I tend to have some trouble matching foundation) but the shade range is quite poor, especially if you have darker skin. I don't particularly like the packaging: it's very portable but I would prefer a mirror and the twist off cap can be finicky. I used to use Bourjois 10 hr sleep effect but I find this less heavily fragranced, easier to apply and it gives a slightly less shiny finish although the overall fresh-faced result is similar. Another similar product is Benefit Some Kinda Gorgeous Lite although the Benefit is much sheerer, has a lighter, more silicone-y feel and is more expensive for less product. I like foundations that give an even, slightly dewy effect but don't give a mask like finish and Dream Creamy really delivers. I've gotten many compliments on my skin (people thinking I'm not wearing any foundation) and most people mistake this for a much higher-end finish. Overall this is going to continue being my staple foundation and I highly recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/29/2011 6:51:00 AM More reviews by FRZ

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

What i like about this foundation is the consistency. It goes on very smooth and really feels like a cream. I would say the coverage is medium to full. If you have dry to normal skin i would recommend this foundation. If you have oily skin like me i wouldn't bother picking it up. After a few hours my face started to shine (even with a finishing powder). Also the colour changes after a while and it turns darker since i applied it. It's just not suitable for my skin. The lighter colours also don't have that warm olive/yellow tone in it. The packaging is horrible. I don't like the sponge and it's not very hygienic if you are used to applying foundation with your fingers. I wanted to love this product but i can't.

PROS;
- Consistency.
- Coverage.

CONS;
- Colours (dark and oxidizes)
- Not suitable for oily skin.
- Packaging is not very hygienic.
- A little too expensive for what you get.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/31/2011 11:02:00 PM More reviews by angeliqueamour

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have very fair skin, and I got the second lightest and it still ended up being too dark, so the colors are strong. But other then that it glides on really easy and is VERY moisturizing. The one thing I'd like to change is it isnt very durable and if you rub your face it comes off and will stain clothes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/29/2011 2:20:00 PM More reviews by lovexxxbeauty

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Pros: It's great for dry- normal skin as it's aimed more towards people with that skin type and you can feel it hydrating your skin when you put it on. This is good for me as I have dry skin and have a lot of trouble finding foundations that don't highlight dry patches.

It blends so easily! I like to use my MAC Duo Fiber 187 Stippling Brush to blend it, as it gives me a flawless, airbrushed finish that also looks natural and doesn't feel heavy or cakey.

You can decide how much coverage you want by the amount of product you pick up. If you want light coverage, only pick up a little bit of product as a lot goes a long way! You can build it up if you'd like a higher coverage.

It's so cheap! I got mine for £7 which I think is really good.

Cons: The color range. It didn't have a lot of colors at all. I tried one and it was a bit too light so I tried the one after and it was too dark. I eventually settled on one that was a little bit light but that's okay as it blends into my skin and looks natural.

The packaging makes it look like there's a lot of product but really you don't get a lot of product. More than half of the packaging is the sponge holder which is pointless as the sponge doesn't apply it well and you can only use it a couple of times. I think they should have forgotten the sponge and put more foundation in. But a little bit of this foundation does go a long way so it's not too much of a problem.

Overall: I love this product and will definitely be buying it again! This is the only foundation that hasn't highlighted my dry skin or dried out my skin. Love, love, love! Definitely recommend it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/18/2011 5:02:00 AM More reviews by waxlips

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Overall i think this product is quite ok. I recommend it to those girls who have no problems with dryness or reactivity of skin. Starting from the good points - i love the texture of this product. It's a bit balmy, but when you apply it, it's not heavy. The colour is quite intense though, so be aware of precise colour matching! My skin does naturally have pinky undertone, and this foundation looks weird on me when i'm not tanned. But after getting some spring sun, the pinky-ness only contributed to freshness of complexion, not making my face look too pinky or too flat.
Moving on to cons i should say that i was less aware of ingredients that can be bad for my skin when i just bought this. As my skin is extremely reactive and sensitive, sometimes i can get my rashes emphasized and my skin keep being red-dish after using this product. But it's definitely better than Clinique Supermoisture Make-up that burned my face like acid.
I will not repurchase this product because i want to try liquid mineral foundation, that is much more healthier for skin according to ingredients list. But if you're not picky, this worths a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/24/2011 12:35:00 AM More reviews by judygirl

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have very dry skin and absolutely love this product and find the sponge applies it perfectly, you can feel the moisture as it goes on. I found this product by chance as the colour sand/sable was being sold at half price at tesco 2 weeks ago, I think they have discontinued the colour and introduced sand 30 to replace it which is going to be a little difficult as I think that could be a slightly different colour. I find Maybelline foundation to be the best, and up till now have used Dream Satin in Ivory which is fab.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/22/2011 5:36:00 AM More reviews by loz700

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Overall I think this is a good foundation. It has a lot of coverage and they have some really good shades as opposed to other brands that can be very pinky. I don't really like the packaging though, it's a bit strange. I love how it makes my skin look, very natural but just like you have better skin. I will probably buy it again in the future but I'd prefer to try some other foundations first.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/14/2011 6:33:00 AM More reviews by signemarie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have dry skin and I love creme foundations. I have this one in a previously unmentioned color called 20 Cameo / Beige Eclat - the lightest available here. I'm NW15-20 and this looks fine going on, but it dries down too orange and... dirty-looking. I guess it would suit an NW20-25 better, maybe a NC would be an even better match.

It does set, but not in a pretty, dewy way. It's kind of a cream to powder, i think, and not cream to liquid like I was told. I really don't understand why anyone would make a creme foundation that dries down matte like this. It may be my dry winter skin, so I'll try it again in the summer and update.

For now, I don't like this at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No