April 16, 2014 | 1829 users online

Lipstick - Maybelline - Color Sensational - Born With It

rated 3.8(159 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 7/7/2012 11:16:00 PM More reviews by Tiptoemousey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

After reading that this was a dupe for MAC's Angel I had to get it first thing was when I opened it the smell it smells like plastic very strongly but I figured for the price oh well I swatched it and thought it looked alright when I put it on the taste is so bad I had to take it off with the taste and the smell I can not stand it and to top it off this lipstick is really drying over all I found it better to just pay the MAC price if you want Angel.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/17/2012 3:36:00 PM More reviews by xvivifyx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I was really excited about this color when I first bought, it looked like a nice neutral pink with very little shimmer. However, when I put it on, on my pigmented lips it barely showed up. The shimmer how ever did, I am not a big fan of glittery and boy was this glittery. It was also a bit drying, eek.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/14/2012 10:21:00 PM More reviews by AntiqueGlitter

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

People have been saying that this is a dupe for MAC Angel, so I just had to get this. I've never owned or even used Angel before, but I've seen it and it looks like an amazing color. Usually I'm more of a dramatic lippie girl, but this is one of the few neutrals that I really like.
Born With It is a soft neutral pinky nude with shimmer. I was hesitant because of the shimmer, but it's very subtle and makes your lips look shiny, not shimmery.
The pigmentation is great. I don't know why people are saying this is sheer! The pigmentation isn't as good as MAC lipsticks, but it's still pretty good.
It looks great on my NC30-35 skintone!
And I absolutely LOVE the shape of the lipstick! It's curved so that it conforms to the curve of my lips!
The packaging looks cheap and tacky, bugt that's typical drugstore packaging for you.
The wear time is alright (3-4 hours)--the same as MAC lipsticks--but I don't mind reapplying.
Would I repurchase? Yes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/6/2012 12:56:00 AM More reviews by ely617

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I hate this color! I'm not sure if I got a dud or what, but it's not that moisturizing or smooth on my lips. It's not very pigmented; you don't get much of the actual pink color, only the very extreme silver shimmer. It's not flattering at all. It looks like an overly frosty shade that a young girl would play with. It also smells like Play-Doh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/2/2012 4:13:00 AM More reviews by deadiswhatweaimfor

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This color for me is a "my lips but better". I was expecting a light pink but eh, I don't mind. It gives my lips a nice glow. Ill wear this when I'm not wearing a ton of eye makeup. Its with my naturals collection. I would repurchase this for sure. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/23/2012 8:01:00 PM More reviews by bella418

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

The color is really sheer on my naturally pigmented lips and while I liked how it looked it does wear quickly. It bled really bad even with a lipliner and the ingredients gave me really bad breakouts around my mouth. Not a repurchace

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/15/2012 10:40:00 PM More reviews by Maygenface

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm very disappointed with this lipstick. I practically have to rub it hard on my lips in order for the colour to actually show, and it doesn't even look nice on me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/10/2012 5:11:00 AM More reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This color is frickin gorgeous. It's a blue based, cool toned baby pink lipstick on me. I have a warm complexion so I usually stray away from cool toned pinks because they just look too weird with my coloring. But this color is absolutely gorgeous. It's creamy, has a slight sheen to it and it's a beautiful pinky nude color. It has shimmer in it but not too much where it looks too frosty on my lips. With the color sensational line, I feel some certain shades' formulas are a hit and miss but this shade is so creamy. Wouldn't repurchase because its not a color i would grab for all the time.

EDIT:
- color is gorgeous but I only use one layer of it. If I use couple swipes on my lips, it looks too frosty/cool toned which I like to call... Pornstar lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/27/2012 6:45:00 PM More reviews by Tygerlilee84

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

Born with it is a pretty sheer lipstick, but that makes it a very wearable pink. You have to layer it a bit to get it to show but and you get a pretty natural pink. As a redhead, it's a little hard to find pinks I can wear and make them look natural so I'm a fan. However, I do wish it was a little more pigmented though and it wears off pretty quickly. The tube casing is pink so that helps keep is sorted by color family but you can't see the actual color. So the packaging is average. For the price it's a good lipstick to have around, very easy, don't need a mirror to apply, throw it on, almost like a color lip balm because it is reasonably moisturizing for a lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/15/2012 10:18:00 PM More reviews by emilylevy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

LOVE THIS COLOR!!! it's a perfect nude for a blonde (which I am). It's got the right amount of pink in it and will really warm up your face. I did a neutral makeup one day and compared this lipstick with an orangy-red, the orange red made my face look blah and my lips pop. Born with it enhanced my neutral makeup look and also made my lips look amazing and natural. The color will completely enhance your face, you've got to try it!

Only complaint- the formula isn't super creamy so when I apply it this I have to press a little harder than with other lipsticks and I am afraid I might break it off.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No